Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anxiety and/or depression discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭mocha please!

Thinking of Mocha too, hoping she's doing ok..

Thanks. Well yesterday was horrible. Lots of crying! The staff are lovely though. I'm on a shared ward at the moment, which I hate! They consider me high risk (I'm not) and it also means I can't leave the ward at all. Anyways today was much better (the drugs are working!) but I have to admit I hate the constant supervision, bags being searched when I arrived, being watched when I'm eating and nurses checking on me in my sleep etc. At least I'm allowed my phone and Kindle etc. Anyways I'm sure it'll all be for the best in the end. And I'm meeting my consultant in the morning to work out an "individualised care plan", seems like I'll be here at least four weeks though. :( Weekend visits home may be allowed though, although probably not this weekend. Hope everyone else is doing ok!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Glad to hear from you Mocha, thank feck you're allowed to communicate with family, once the care plan is sorted out things will feel a bit better, you'll have a strategy.. Mind yourself, and i'm online for the night from here if you want to chat here or pm..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Mind yourself there MP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

This is my depression recovery anthem.

I have heard people describe how living with a mental illness is like living behind prison walls. Thats how it feels to me a lot of the time cos my life is very restricted but most of all my mind is restricted. So heres hoping someday we will all get released from this prison.

mg1982 wrote: »
    I have heard people describe how living with a mental illness is like living behind prison walls. Thats how it feels to me a lot of the time cos my life is very restricted but most of all my mind is restricted. So heres hoping someday we will all get released from this prison.

Fingers crossed yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭greenfrogs

Feel a small bit of a come down today. As a person my mom can be very overpowering. Just takes over everything. I suppose it just reminds me that I need to get my own place soon. Which is a good thing I guess.

Feeling upset again about people leaving my life. Just got another confirmation that this in the last few days.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Frogs, concentrate on now. Future and past can't be touched right now. I know it's really hard but i'm practicing my ass off over here, stay with it even if it is early days..

Well said Grem. :)

greenfrogs wrote: »
    Feel a small bit of a come down today. As a person my mom can be very overpowering. Just takes over everything. I suppose it just reminds me that I need to get my own place soon. Which is a good thing I guess.

Feeling upset again about people leaving my life. Just got another confirmation that this in the last few days.

Your not the only one with an overbearing mother GF and there hard to deal with at the best of times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

e7414b27ac2a44d5e9a7bf8c5568c8c4.jpg

Your not the only one with an overbearing mother GF and there hard to deal with at the best of times.

I'm not sure if it is actually my mom or I'm just down and blaming my mom for nothing. However moms can be pushy. For years I was quiet and my mom kinda overpowered me. I found it impossible to speak about my issues with her. She finds it so easy to criticise me. I would be quite sensitive about the way I look yet she criticises what I wear, the size of what I wear, what I eat, my hair, my make up. She doesn't do it to be nasty but I just block her out now. To be fair she has backed off in recent times of telling me how to run my life. Thank god.

Grem good point. I shouldn't think of the past or the future. Just on the present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭heyday30

I'm in weird form today. Just thinking another weekend gone by wasted. Need to change. Just need the energy and will to do so.

heyday30 wrote: »
    I'm in weird form today. Just thinking another weekend gone by wasted. Need to change. Just need the energy and will to do so.

*hugs*

I hear ya H. You will muster the courage and energy to change. It might take some time and practice but it will happen.

Sunday night blues is strong here. :-/

*hugs*

I hear ya H. You will muster the courage and energy to change. It might take some time and practice but it will happen.

Sunday night blues is strong here. :-/

Sometimes I wonder though. Is it even possible to change. Keep trying I suppose.

Sunday blues r horrible :( *hugs back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭scrimshanker

I'm upset at myself, I woke up feeling fine. Have been getting on top of the sleep issue with as strict a sleep hygiene regime as I can manage... And it was starting to work. I've slept through the last couple of nights. Then today I went back to bed just for an hour and woke up 4 hours later :( Doubt I'll sleep tonight. Woke up after my "nap" (almost a night's sleep in duration!!!) feeling unmotivated and like everything was too much hassle. Really I was the better of the sleep hygiene. Time to get strict on this sh!t again!

Dont look at it as wasted H. Your doing your best like all of us. Sometimes just getting the basics done is an achievment in itself for me anyway.

I'm upset at myself, I woke up feeling fine. Have been getting on top of the sleep issue with as strict a sleep hygiene regime as I can manage... And it was starting to work. I've slept through the last couple of nights. Then today I went back to bed just for an hour and woke up 4 hours later :( Doubt I'll sleep tonight. Woke up after my "nap" (almost a night's sleep in duration!!!) feeling unmotivated and like everything was too much hassle. Really I was the better of the sleep hygiene. Time to get strict on this sh!t again!

We all stumble like that Scrim. The important thing is that you've recognised it early on and are now determined to get back on track. You can do it!

I'm not sure if it is actually my mom or I'm just down and blaming my mom for nothing. However moms can be pushy. For years I was quiet and my mom kinda overpowered me. I found it impossible to speak about my issues with her. She finds it so easy to criticise me. I would be quite sensitive about the way I look yet she criticises what I wear, the size of what I wear, what I eat, my hair, my make up. She doesn't do it to be nasty but I just block her out now. To be fair she has backed off in recent times of telling me how to run my life. Thank god.

Grem good point. I shouldn't think of the past or the future. Just on the present.

Mind me asking what age you are GF. Its just sometimes with mothers even though im in my early thirties im still treated like a kid. I guess thats the problem of still being at home at my age.

My therapist gave me a few sheets of info on sleep hygiene last week. I have yet to implement it. It's so hard. I really think it is why I felt down earlier. To know at 6pm that I will still be awake at least for the next ten hours. I wish there were less hours in the day.

You might still be able to stay with the regime you have if you make sure to get up at a normal hour tomorrow and don't have any naps. Easier said than done though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭scrimshanker

My therapist gave me a few sheets of info on sleep hygiene last week. I have yet to implement it. It's so hard. I really think it is why I felt down earlier. To know at 6pm that I will still be awake at least for the next ten hours. I wish there were less hours in the day.

You might still be able to stay with the regime you have if you make sure to get up at a normal hour tomorrow and don't have any naps. Easier said than done though.

Yeah that's the hope, going to try arrange to meet a friend for a coffee in the afternoon so will have to get everything I need to do done before that. It is very hard to implement. I'm actually only managing because both my parents are on top of me about it giving out stink to me if I'm not following it. Annoying but I guess it's what I need!

Mind me asking what age you are GF. Its just sometimes with mothers even though im in my early thirties im still treated like a kid. I guess thats the problem of still being at home at my age.

Late twenties. I find that I am still treated like a kid in some ways. To be fair its their house not mine but it's frustrating at times. However it's important that you show you are an adult. Do your own cooking, cleaning, washing, shopping etc. Don't let yourself be mothered.

Dont look at it as wasted H. Your doing your best like all of us. Sometimes just getting the basics done is an achievment in itself for me anyway.

True mg. I miss social contact though. Gonna try set a goal for the next few weeks to get out a bit more.

I can barely remember social contact anymore.

Set little goals at first Hash. Then expand on them when you get better at it. You can do this. Nothing can hold you back.

Social contact is good for us. Trouble is im Sh1te at socialising so i have to keep it limited. But its good to have that goal.

Late twenties. I find that I am still treated like a kid in some ways. To be fair its their house not mine but it's frustrating at times. However it's important that you show you are an adult. Do your own cooking, cleaning, washing, shopping etc. Don't let yourself be mothered.

My mums health is poor enough now as she is old, so i do most of the housework. I dont mind that as it keeps me occupied and my mind off things. But ya when you live at home its important to do your bit.

But ya when you live at home its important to do your bit.

I'm terrible for doing my bit I must admit. Am a total manchild! :o

My mums health is poor enough now as she is old, so i do most of the housework. I dont mind that as it keeps me occupied and my mind off things. But ya when you live at home its important to do your bit.

It's how I started to spend my time when I lost my job. It helped occupy me and cleaning is meant to be good therapy. It uses up energy and at the end of the day at least you have achieved something. Even if it's small.

I moved out Of home at 19. I call to my folks 4/5times a week. I miss living at home sometimes.

Fair play. At least you can visit your parents often. It makes a difference having family close by.

It's how I started to spend my time when I lost my job. It helped occupy me and cleaning is meant to be good therapy. It uses up energy and at the end of the day at least you have achieved something. Even if it's small.

I know it might ruin my masculinity but i find cleaning very therapeutic and it you do feel a sense of achievment afterwards. :o

Hugo i spent many years never lifting a finger at home. Its just in recent years i had too cos of my mums health.