Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourite ridiculous moment on Irish Television?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭WildWater

I don't think it gets more ridiculous than this Oct 2008 classic:

“Irish banks are so well capitalised compared to any bank anywhere across Europe that I am confident they can absorb any loan or any impairment that emerges in the ordinary course of business over the foreseeable future.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Soupy Norman was feckin brilliant. Bizarre but hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Those saps from Boyzone dancing on the Late Late Show. Always gets me thinking "How did ye ejits get famous?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Shows up the whole ridiculousness of the LLS.

RTE should pay O Briain big money to come back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

e_e wrote: »

I couldn't stop laughing when someone re-uploaded that to Youtube called something like 'Eamon Dunphy confronts Pat Kenny over unfair RTE 5-a-side indoor soccer teams'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

When the FF bagman Gallagher got done by the SF tweet live on the Presidential debate...

I had €500 on Higgins at the time so I was very pleased.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Has anyone mentioned The Angelus? Always used to crack me up, the solemn up its bum piety of it. People over here thinking I'm on a wind up when I tell them we used to have a call to prayer on the national station every day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dramatik

One of my all time favorites!

Dramatik wrote: »

One of my all time favorites!

Ugh. An all time low, more for Irish political etiquette than telly...

old hippy wrote: »
    Has anyone mentioned The Angelus? Always used to crack me up, the solemn up its bum piety of it. People over here thinking I'm on a wind up when I tell them we used to have a call to prayer on the national station every day :D

We still have it. Joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

We still have it. Joke.

I was convinced it had gone. I'm sure there were threads on it not so long ago. My mind is failing me. But seriously, wtf????

Blame it on the Stockholm Syndrome between the Roman church 'captors' and subservient Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

Three words;

Rap. against. Rape.

If you know...you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I always found the ads for cattle-disease products to be very surreal.

Here's a classic example from 1984. I love the way Systemex voiceover man suddenly switches from dark Shakespearean thespian into full-on X-Factor mode.

1.01 - 1.32

This guy is ridiculously cool. He deserves many, many medals. He gets it.

And obligatory remix... which just cranks the cool up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Meangadh wrote: »
    Anyone mention Aengus Mac Grianna's "WHAT?!" yet?

So bloody funny.

Me thinks examples are needed:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

This thread has me in stitches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭obi604

kneemos wrote: »
    That was fcuking hilarious.

agreed, I couldn't stop laughing, very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I always found the ads for cattle-disease products to be very surreal.

Here's a classic example from 1984. I love the way Systemex voiceover man suddenly switches from dark Shakespearean thespian into full-on X-Factor mode.

1.01 - 1.32

That orange box looks just like the cattle vaccine that was given to the babies in the mother and baby homes "by accident". I believe it was the same company - Wellcome = GSK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Posting in here just so I can find this thread again. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭obi604

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Posting in here just so I can find this thread again. Brilliant.

Sure you could just "follow" the thread :)

anything involving ryan tubridy trying to sound genuinely concerned while asking recently bereaved parents about suicidal/dead teenager!! why do they go on sooooo soon, I dont get it! if at all.

also anything with ray darcy looking up at a tralee rose like some kid on his birthday being granted one minute to play johnny stinkfinger!"!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Toss up between this: (skip to one minute in)

Or this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

The Calor Kosengas house wife of the year awards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Red Pepper wrote: »
    That orange box looks just like the cattle vaccine that was given to the babies in the mother and baby homes "by accident". I believe it was the same company - Wellcome = GSK?

Indeed it was - Wellcome and Glaxo merged, and then that company merged with SmithKline Beecham to become GSK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Two classics for the ages. I know the second one is a 'remix' but the first 30 seconds are untouched, can't find the original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

The Saturday Night Show is definitely the most cringeworthy, boring, ridiculous and awkward chat shows I've seen.

Remember when the multi-talented P*ssy Riot were on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

This has to be up there, if only the hubby could grow a penis! :)

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=uswOGpz5aKA&feature=kp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Condoms were still illegal to buy here in 1991? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What's Snots video

such cringe

I honestly think that is brilliant.

Those lads handled it really well and it cracked me up.

It's not cringeworthy at all.

That stupid f*cking kid is cringeworthy but the presenters are deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That one is classic!

I love how obvious it is that that dweeby f*cker is sh*te in bed and has convinced his wife (for religious reasons) how it's not important that she's never had an orgasm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Degag wrote: »
    Gaybo putting condoms onto bananas would have to be pretty high up there....

With his mouth.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

*snip*

Love that at about 1:42 in, Bernadette Bonar(oh the irony...) of The Responsible Group(oh the irony...) is denouncing the use of condoms(oh the irony...) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There was the time that Bertie Ahern managed to painfully squeeze out a tear in interview with Brian Dobson where he explained the "dig out". The big puppy dog eyes on him spilling with tears as he recounted (the fictional tale) of a minister for finance who didn't have a bank account himself and was so financially hard up that Paddy the plasterer and his buddies took it upon themselves to have a whip around for him.

And we fell for it.

How is there no youtube of that stellar moment of Irish amatuer dramatics I wonder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,649 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Excellent thread, especially the first page! I have to say I honestly love the Irish sense of humour, I think a lot of these would be wasted in other countries.

I know this is an act but I think it sums up Irish humour pretty well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Possibly the worlds least graceful proposal courtesy of RTE Today Show.Add to this bucket of cringe the fact that after this fiasco they were offered a free night in a five star hotel and dinner there after the show. She was delighted.
    He responded with "We can't, my mother's having an engagement party in the house, we have to be there at 6".

Hopefully they're blissfully happy now.

Their social media people put up an announcement on Facebook two hours before the show to say that the makeover candidate was going to be surprised with a proposal from her boyfriend. I don't think they really thought it through though:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dramatik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

My head has imploded from all the cringing induced by this thread. Damn you Pat Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,825 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I thought that was an Apres Match skit!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

This:

90lr.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Sorry if posted already. Pat's trophy house. :)

Frank McCourt V Gerry Hannan on Late Late Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

A dad from middle Ireland speaks out against those damned modern types.

"Is that Dermot Morgan?"

"No I'm just a normal Irish father and they are a bloody disgrace"

This was both funny and so ****ing annoying - typical "Me Me Me Miriam", this guy has been waiting years, years to bring in digital tele and then he gets the elbow at the crucial moment (ignore the nonsense at the end)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

a buddy of mine who is English , but has lived in Germany for most his life , came to stay in Ireland with me , at a shared house , 5 of us in it , told the house mates that when the Angelus came on , we should all stand to attention ,and put our left hand , over our hearts , come 6 , the bongs go off ,and we all shoot up to attention , leaving my mate sitting on the couch thinking he has made a serious cultural boo boo , he clambers up and assumes the position.

we said nothing and acted like it was perfectly normal , he looked sheepish and never spoke of it again , i know this guy 20 years later , and still have never put him wide :D