Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

PTH2009 wrote: »
    my candy arrived

€55 for that ???

Christ

Are you on reddit at all? There's a snack exchange sub on there, could be useful for you.

American's on there the whole time looking for Irish stuff. Get yourself down to Dealz and get about 20 euros worth of stuff. Send it off in exchange for the American stuff you want. Sound job!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

my candy arrived

€55 for that ???

Christ

Importing American food into Ireland is expensive, and not something they can do easily via wholesalers. The shipping costs from America as well are large. So that difficulty in importing it is then sadly passed on to the consumer. Its something I've looked at before myself (as a business idea) and passed on because of.

The Tesco in Drogheda has some American foods now; Lucky Charms, Herseys chocolate, pop tarts, and that sort of stuff. And it is insanely expensive to buy. Like €8 for a box of Lucky Charms, that's about €2 over in America. But because they have to import it from so far, the price gets jacked up.

I'd imagine Twizzlers.ie has the same issue (maybe even on a harder scale cause Tesco as a big brand can have more stock and move it more efficently). I'd imagine a food company like that would have a large turnover in food that expires, so they have to charge more per item to cover the amount of stock they just bin.

(On a funny side note, when I clicked on their site, my mind got frazzled momentarily, cause I share a name with one of the site's founders, and I was confused why they had my name on the front page :P)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

my candy arrived

€55 for that ???

Christ

Should've done what I done and bought a Sega Megadrive for a few quid more with 81 games built in. Proper order.

"Hello work, yeah I'm sick and can't come in."

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Omackeral wrote: »
    Should've done what I done and bought a Sega Megadrive for a few quid more with 81 games built in. Proper order.

"Hello work, yeah I'm sick and can't come in."

What mod console did you pick up?

Always meaning to pick up some nostagia console..... some cracking games

beakerjoe wrote: »
    What mod console did you pick up?

Always meaning to pick up some nostagia console..... some cracking games

Got this fella here.

7286401_R_Z001A?$Web$&$DefaultPDP570$

Argos have them over here. It includes Sonic The Hedgehog, Sonic 2, Sonic & Knuckles, Mortal Kombat I II and III, Golden Axe I II and III, Shinobi, Alien Storm and a few admittedly sh*te ones. The RAGE on Fade St, Dublin 2 have a vast array of games for the Megadrive in stock. They have Super Nintendo games too and everything else.

Got this fella here.

Argos have them over here. It includes Sonic The Hedgehog, Sonic 2, Sonic & Knuckles, Mortal Kombat I II and III, Golden Axe I II and III, Shinobi, Alien Storm and a few admittedly sh*te ones. The RAGE on Fade St, Dublin 2 have a vast array of games for the Megadrive in stock. They have Super Nintendo games too and everything else.

I always walk by the RAGE but never go in, I feel too old at 33 to be hip enough.

I havent touched by my console much bar the odd game of FIFA since the wee girl was born, havent the time for RPGs or big games.

A mega drive console with some quick games to paly might be up my alley though. I wouldnt mind a game of Streets of Rage 2

I always walk by the RAGE but never go in, I feel too old at 33 to be hip enough.

I havent touched by my console much bar the odd game of FIFA since the wee girl was born, havent the time for RPGs or big games.

A mega drive console with some quick games to paly might be up my alley though. I wouldnt mind a game of Streets of Rage 2

Lads have any of ye heard of, or have tinkered with the Rasberry Pi?

I have one, it runs all the old games. I've something like 1200 SNES games on it, and another 1500 Mega Drive games. Very easy to set up.

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Lads have any of ye heard of, or have tinkered with the Rasberry Pi?

I have one, it runs all the old games. I've something like 1200 SNES games on it, and another 1500 Mega Drive games. Very easy to set up.

Never heard of it but id love to know more

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Got this fella here.

giphy.gif

If I wasn't at work there'd be a Necro sized cloud of dust as I headed for Argos.

Off for 5 days next week I know what I'll be doing :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 29,137 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

How is that megadrive? I heard mixed things about it since they rereleased it when the SNES mini came out

CastorTroy wrote: »
    How is that megadrive? I heard mixed things about it since they rereleased it when the SNES mini came out

It's the same as I remember it really. A, B, C buttons and the D Pad. All simplistic enough but still fun plus it's great introducing the kids to it so;

a) they see what you played when you were their age.
    b) you can mercilessly destroy them.

Never heard of it but id love to know more

This is them here Joey.

https://www.maplin.ie/p/raspberry-pi-3-model-b-64-bit-quad-core-1gb-mainboard-n45ee

All you need really is to download a program called Retropie, onto the SD card that usually comes bundled with the Raspberry Pi. Once that's done, put a USB key into the pi, until the lights stop flashing.

Retropie will fill the USB Key with empty folders for each system & console it supports. All you need to do then is find ROMS for each system (google, but ahem, legal grey area), and drop them into the right folders. So Sonic The Hedgehog goes in Mega Drive.

You can get USB joypads for next to nothing. I got 2 SNES pads for like €9 on eBay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Johnny, I'm going to bite the bullet. As soon as Paddy Power put the odds for the FAI Junior Cup back up I'll back Newmarket Celtic. Thoughts on Usher/Michael's?

Anyone here looking forward to the return of the League of Ireland?

I'd kick my mother in the teeth if she tried to stop me going to Bohs vs Rovers tomorrow night. No phonecalls about a dead relative or porn stars in my bed would stop me going to the Derby on opening night.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Good to see it back. I hope Bohs get the win. Who are considered favourites for the opener?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I'll be watching with a vague dread of Longford bottling the season again.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,465 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

hoping Waterford FC do well in there first season back in the premier divsion

a mid table finish would be ideal, we have signed a lot of new players

• Registered Users Posts: 8,891 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Johnny, I'm going to bite the bullet. As soon as Paddy Power put the odds for the FAI Junior Cup back up I'll back Newmarket Celtic. Thoughts on Usher/Michael's?

Last I checked before the weekends fixtures they had Newmarket at 11/2 and Mervue at 16/1, with Newmarket playing away to Mervue I'd say the odds might stay the same.

Usher and Michael's should be a cracking game, two of the top 3 favourites to win the competition drawn together, it's a big plus for the rest that they've drawn each other. Michael's will be narrow favourites but gonna be tough away from home and if Stephen Donnelly is in form he'll be a game changer.

Think Pike will move to clear favourites once the odds are updated, drawn away to play Shannon Town who were least favourites to win at 33/1 last week. Should be a good few weeks of Limerick vs Clare though with both teams playing in the Oscar Trayner (Wed 21st), Oscar Trayner youths (Sun 25th) and then Shannon Town vs Pike on the weekend of 10th/11th March.

Have been counting down the days since the fixtures were released, with the news about Eddie Hickey gone from the club though has kinda put a damper on this weekend's game a bit. Hoping Rovers hockey Bohs though tomorrow, might give Limerick a chance when we play them at home next week (now must go wash for hoping Rovers do well)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

After seeing the horrible shooting in florida and wondering how americans still dont want gun control and then see stuff like this and that so many americans believe this. Im not against religion or anything but can people believe this

https://www.instagram.com/p/BfREDqvnoZJ/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Randy can be a bit of a troll on social media, didn't know him to be religious

He could be mocking those of those view who seem to want to send prayers instead of solutions

• Registered Users Posts: 60,706 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Just had a look online to see what Randy's political views are and I just saw The Rock is a paid up die hard Republican now that shocked me.

Randy is religious by all accounts so he may be putting his views out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I wonder how many people in the US would be actual die hard, dye in the wool Republicans? Or would they be RINO's?

I wish The Newsroom ran for another season..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    I wonder how many people in the US would be actual die hard, dye in the wool Republicans? Or would they be RINO's?

I wish The Newsroom ran for another season..

I desperately wish that Sorkin would do a West Wing spinoff of Seabourne 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Great night there for Omackeral as Bohs come from 1-0 down to win the derby 3-1!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

Poor enough game in Oriel, makeshift defence never really looked comfortable and Bray defended well in numbers.

Safe to say Omackeral's gonna have a sore head in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Great night there for Omackeral as Bohs come from 1-0 down to win the derby 3-1!
    Poor enough game in Oriel, makeshift defence never really looked comfortable and Bray defended well in numbers.

Safe to say Omackeral's gonna have a sore head in the morning
    Had very similar thoughts as Paddy Kavanagh nearly blew a hole in the net for the second. Fantastic result for Bohs, fair play to Keith Long and the boys.
    Bad result from a Limerick perspective especially with Bray drawing away to Dundalk but good to see two Limerick lads in the form of Joel Coustrain playing the full game for Rovers and having a decent showing, as well as Ronan Coughlan starting for Bray (not sure how much he played).

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I desperately wish that Sorkin would do a West Wing spinoff of Seabourne 2020

Would've loved a spin off centred around Sam, or even an 8th season around Santos & his Presidency.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,741 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Just had a look online to see what Randy's political views are and I just saw The Rock is a paid up die hard Republican now that shocked me.

Randy is religious by all accounts so he may be putting his views out there.

I did think he was Team Obama

• Registered Users Posts: 38,465 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

thrilled with the Waterford FC result 2-1 over Derry City

very tough game next Friday 23rd away to Cork City and home to st pats on the 26th

• Registered Users Posts: 8,891 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

thrilled with the Waterford FC result 2-1 over Derry City

very tough game next Friday 23rd away to Cork City and home to st pats on the 26th

Did you go to the game? Saw that Waterford named Bastian Hery as their motm, would you have agreed?