Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,046 ✭✭✭✭cena

Anyone see kim kardashian new photo. Google it.
    First thing I seen when logged into facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

cena wrote: »
    I post in the ladies lounge forum, hockey and after hours. Dumb stuff for after hours gets posted.

Dont understand why fellas post in a womens forum.

AH runs by a formula

1. Person makes post about something
    2. First replyis someone making a smart ass comment looking for thanks
    3. Posts 3-15 are people think they are making the first comment looking for thanks
    4. OP trys to get it back on topic
    5. Lose interest.

The soccer forum I only look at LOI threads nowadays. The level of poster elsewhere has become insufferable. I gave up on "match threads" a long time ago. Truly the worst threads on boards.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I think I've only ever posted in the Soccer forum during the WC, never applied for access properly at any rate. I might apply to post in LOI now that my local team has gotten promoted.

Angron wrote: »
    I think I've only ever posted in the Soccer forum during the WC, never applied for access properly at any rate. I might apply to post in LOI now that my local team has gotten promoted.

I have asked to get access for the soccer forum to post something and I never do it.

gimmick wrote: »
    Dont understand why fellas post in a womens forum.

AH runs by a formula

1. Person makes post about something
    2. First replyis someone making a smart ass comment looking for thanks
    3. Posts 3-15 are people think they are making the first comment looking for thanks
    4. OP trys to get it back on topic
    5. Lose interest.

The soccer forum I only look at LOI threads nowadays. The level of poster elsewhere has become insufferable. I gave up on "match threads" a long time ago. Truly the worst threads on boards.

I have seen ladies post in the gentlemen forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    I could be totally wrong but from my bit of reading AH their seems to be women giving out about sexiest and men are giving out about reverse sexism that they can't get jobs cause they are men or something.
    You summed it up better than I ever could. It's such awful to read on both sides of the coin and they both stoop to each other's levels. Does fighting for woman's equality have to be such dirge to read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Does fighting for [insert cause] have to be such dirge to read?

Yes. It's the internet where everyone knows better than everyone else! Nothing can get settled in this anonymous format. Or mostly in the public format either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I truly believe "wimmins equality" has gone completely the other way. Look at mainstream media, especially ads. Men are mostly depicted as bumbling folksy idiots while the woman is always strong and smart.

Take that god awful piece of crap ad on the radio "Brede, who is your car insured with" to which the stupid bitch tells him he is asking a very personal question. The tone of this ad annoys me. Again, he is folksy and naive while she is coy and opportunistic.

Reverse the roles and have the woman seem a bit ditsy, God love us all.

Not to mention, women seem to think its pretty cool that they cannot cook or tidy anymore. Having lived in a few house shares, women are far worse at keeping tidy and attempting cooking than the vast majority of fellas Ive lived with.

I also disagree with gender quotas. If you are good enough you will be put forward, if not, you wont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,156 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

All over for Dapper Laughs lads. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,063 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Anyone see kim kardashian new photo. Google it.
    First thing I seen when logged into facebook

Can't be real can it??

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Can't be real can it??

The butt really looks photoshopped.

On a different note. Was supervising a kids thing this evening and one of the kids a 11 year old told me he watches porn. Really didn't know want to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

He was trying to reverse groom you.

Omackeral wrote: »
    He was trying to reverse groom you.

Not funny at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Well did you report it to the parents, or if it was run by an organisation did you notify the manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,444 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

ROI's Stephanie Roche only female nominated for best goal of the year, she is up against the likes of Costa, Ibrahimovic and Van Persie, well done to her and don't forget to vote y'all

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    ROI's Stephanie Roche only female nominated for best goal of the year, she is up against the likes of Costa, Ibrahimovic and Van Persie, well done to her and don't forget to vote y'all

voted for her earlier. Hope the footage quality doesen't **** against her as it was unbelievable skill and is imo just as good (I didn't vote for it just cos she's an Irish woman) as anything the bigger names did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

gimmick wrote: »
    I truly believe "wimmins equality" has gone completely the other way. Look at mainstream media, especially ads. Men are mostly depicted as bumbling folksy idiots while the woman is always strong and smart.

you forgot to mention that ad for women's car insurance, seriously condescending, and demeaning to both men and women.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

you forgot to mention that ad for women's car insurance, seriously condescending, and demeaning to both men and women.

Oh man, I usually hate this arguement, but imagine if the gender-roles were reversed!

"Oh, us men know we're better drivers than those bimbo idiots..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Just on that Women's insurance ad. Imagine it went another direction and called itself It's4WhitePeople. There'd be bloody murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Don't know who to vote for in FIFA's Best Goal Of The Year, currently deciding on James Rodriguez's volley against Uruguay, RVP's ''penguin header'' against Spain, Zlatan's cheeky backheel for PSG or Steph Roche's goal, so many good choices to choose from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,156 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Vote for the Irish lass, when the hell do we get nominated for these things?

twas a quality strike as well.

Lads what headphones do ye use.

Thinking of getting these.
    http://www.waroengkom.com/product/Sennheiser%20HD205.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I use these, got 'em as an Xmas present last year, solid enough headphones imo.

IS413270-01-01-BIG.jpg

Is anyone watching The Late Late Show? This music is horrific. Tourists think this is our real stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

Lads what headphones do ye use.

Thinking of getting these.
    http://www.waroengkom.com/product/Sennheiser%20HD205.jpg

I use a set of beats. I'm usually horrible with headphones and they don't last more than a couple months but these babies are coming up on their two year anniversary.

Were they worth it? There has been a lot of talk about them being used as more of an accessory.

I use a set of beats. I'm usually horrible with headphones and they don't last more than a couple months but these babies are coming up on their two year anniversary.

I like the look of the studio beats. But wouldn't pay that kind of price. I remember Curry's in Dublin airport had an orange pair for 150 euro the studio model

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Were they worth it? There has been a lot of talk about them being used as more of an accessory.
    I see no scenario where I could justify spending the sort of money they cost on headphones. 2-300 quid is a farce.

Sennheisers are grand, I've got a sennheiser headset for my computer, probably had them the guts of 2-3 years.

I'd be with you on that one. I get a great kick out of the difference in fidelity that I get when I listen to my favourite records on different devices and mediums. I couldn't imagine buying Beats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,186 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit