Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Costa Rica 17 : 00 England - hello? Anyone there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

ITV described Barkley throwing himself into the player as a 'brutal tackle' LOL.

Bit embarrassing from Barkley actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

barkley fairly jumped into that, was falling way before contact

It was a clear foul, Barkley had no-where else to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Sturridge stinking the place out, has he packed his first touch away already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

This. Why can't ge stay on his feet? Its as if he looks for the nearest opposition player and just runs into him.

but he's a better supplier then the Liverpool duo, he can do something out of nothing. He fall's to the ground easily but are you saying Henderson is a better player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

At least Rooney was criticised heavily for the chances he missed last week.

Oh no wait. He wasn't. :p

Lukker- wrote: »
    It was a clear foul, Barkley had no-where else to go.

Ah seriously watch it again. Jumps into him from about 2 feet away. Its probably a foul for obstruction but Barkley completely exaggerated everything.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    He brings more to the England team than Gerrard or Henderson. He has that something different, always looking for the ball and can drift past players so easily.

I think the excuse he just dives is a poor and simple remark. He's England's best attacking midfielder and most skilful and should have been picked ahead of Henderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Looper007 wrote: »
    I think the excuse he just dives is a poor and simple remark. He's England's best attacking midfielder and most skilful and should have been picked ahead of Henderson.

Technically on another level to any English midfielder in that squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Listening to this on 5 live, the two commentators are so miserable you'd swear the world was ending? :confused:

I'm loving it, they go off into philosophical tangents, "I want to hear from you, the listener, on the phone-in, about what England's identity should be." hahaha, it is quality stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Dive from Sturridge there

Not just that he dives, makes poor decisions when running with the ball and runs into players, also allows players, for some inexplicable reason, to get too close to nick the ball off him.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

but he's a better supplier then the Liverpool duo, he can do something out of nothing. He fall's to the ground easily but are you saying Henderson is a better player.

I didn't mention Henderson anywhere in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭Liamalone

lmao Sturridge doing a starfish dive. Awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

catallus wrote: »
    I'm loving it, they go off into philosophical tangents, "I want to hear from you, the listener, on the phone-in, about what England's identity should be." hahaha, it is quality stuff.

alan greene is like the martin tyler of the radio. when torres scored the winner in euro 2008 final, he was creaming himself about how a winning goal was scored by someone who learned his tricks in the premier league.... because torres learned nada at athletico before that.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Gerrard/Lampard, its like some sick joke.

I didn't mention Henderson anywhere in my post.

But I'm giving you a example would you have picked Henderson over him, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Gerrard should have started - Wilshere offered sweet feck all.

Corholio wrote: »
    Not just that he dives, makes poor decisions when running with the ball and runs into players, also allows players, for some inexplicable reason, to get too close to nick the ball off him.

But he's a better choice then Gerrard or Henderson, he was the one making the passes through to the forward line which the other two weren't doing. Wilshire is a lot better then you better him out.

get off the boat, Wilshire did more in his 70 minutes then gerrard did in his two games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Because he offered so much in the first two games??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

What did Gerrard offer in the first 2 games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

gerrard like most english players are massively overrated

Because he offered so much in the first two games??
    He's the best deep lying midfielder that England have at the moment, that is beyond question.

gerrard like most english players are massively overrated
    Bizarre post - are England supposed to ask an Italian or Spaniard to play for them? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Bizarre post - are England supposed to ask an Italian or Spaniard to play for them? :pac:

you said gerrard should have started and i said he was absolute muck in a polite way...
    Quick check of your history, yep, a United supporter :pac:

and are you a Liverpool supporter.

Whats the difference, Gerrard was once a awesome player now he's a liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Lads, you missed all the fun!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

They're spending more time talking about the Suarez bite than Englands shoite performance ffs

Delighted they are he might get kicked outta the comp imo :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭patmac

Suarez's bite will deflect all the criticism away from what has been the worst England worst World Cup performance ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Wow... Apres Match outdoes itself. And not in a good way. Hasn't been funny in a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    This game is all about the Unoffical World Title for England now...

http://www.ufwc.co.uk/

Well after that result, the WC Trophy, and the UFWC will now be unified.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I'd rather have "feck all" (far from it) than gifting the opposition goals tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Paul Scholes has Wilshere's number.

He has not developed at all since he was 17 or 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

What about the 2 chances he handed to Sturridge on a plate ?

Paul Scholes has Wilshere's number.

He has not developed at all since he was 17 or 18.

But still played better then Gerrard and Henderson in 70 minutes then they did in two games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

But still played better then Gerrard and Henderson in 70 minutes then they did in two games.

And that is a good thing given how terrible they were?

Well it shows the stupidity of the England manager. Wilshire is a far better player then you give him credit for.