Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

I know people love these so here goes.

Bony wins across the board.

bony-defending.png
    bony-attacking.png
    bony-goals.png

As I've been saying all along, Bony is the greatest footballer in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Soups123 wrote: »
    Much of muchness between Hernandes and Lambert but Welbeck is better than Borini comfortably.

Christ, not sure about that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Bony does the goals. I've see him do them. Football goals.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

After initially being against it I'm starting to warm to Bony!

Um....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Much of muchness between Hernandes and Lambert but Welbeck is better than Borini comfortably.

I was also referring to you thinking it is better than what Chelsea and Arsenal have to offer

2 years I'd have taken Hernandez anyday. Borini did grand last season, unless Wellbeck raises his game there isn't that much between him and Borini for me.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

taidghbaby wrote: »
    After initially being against it I'm starting to warm to Bony!

Um....

You could say you have a semi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭joe123

I know we are only into the transfer window but its all a bit depressing so far. Champions league is the holy grail and I think at least a few of us believed that we would attract that world class quality.

If you were to look at our signings so far and someone was to say - "yea its a pity ye finished 5th" you would think, sure we can't attract that top level quality.

Can, Lallana, Lambert, Markovich, Origi all signed or look to have signed.

Arsenal are about to sign Sanchez and strong rumours of them going for Khedira.

I dunno just feel a bit sad about it all. Going to have a little cry. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,607 ✭✭✭brevity

If we are interested in Bony why didn't we buy him when he was going for 12-15m? We spent that much on Borini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I wont be sticking my candle in anyone's donut if we sign Bony, but would rather have him than Origi. Would rather the Origi money went elsewhere. The kid had a pretty average world cup. I think we're wasting Aspas-Alberto type money there.

Whatever Chelsea's attacking options are now, they wont be the same come August 1st. Also, Schurrle could be considered a forward at Chelsea, plays in a front 3 for them.

Would confidently and comfortably say that as of today we have better attacking options than Arsenal, but I suspect this summers business will change that. Sanchez trumps us there I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I am pie wrote: »
    I wont be sticking my candle in anyone's donut if we sign Bony,

Uggghhhhhhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,590 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Guys, we got this:

314105.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Thud

Where's the corners stats for Aspas, those are his main strength??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Don't really understand how people don't see Bony fitting in at Liverpool?? Him and Sturridge don't have to play together (But they obviously could)!!, we have lots of games next season and unfortunately Sturridges injury record ain't great!! Guessing Lambert will be mostly used as a sub in the league and playing mainly in the cups. (Borini too)

We need another striker capable of scoring 20+ goals and Bony is the man!! Glad to see us actually being linked with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

If Aspas goes to Sevilla he's sure to say
    Era como vivir en un país extranjero

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

If Aspas goes to Sevilla he's sure to say

I'm on corners both sides

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭viper006

billy2012 wrote: »
    Don't really understand how people don't see Bony fitting in at Liverpool?? Him and Sturridge don't have to play together (But they obviously could)!!, we have lots of games next season and unfortunately Sturridges injury record ain't great!! Guessing Lambert will be mostly used as a sub in the league and playing mainly in the cups. (Borini too)

We need another striker capable of scoring 20+ goals and Bony is the man!! Glad to see us actually being linked with him.

I really don't want bony here.For cover for Sturridge and Suarez maybe but the thoughts of having Lambert and bony leading the line if sturridge is injured is just not worth thinking about.goodbye top 4 if he's our striker replacement for Suarez .

He has good stats for Swansea no doubt but i don't he'd suit our fast passing, high pressing game.his link up play is clumsy at the best of times and I definitely think a WF type player like Sanchez or a griezman type player that can create and score with pace is vital.
    With Lambert already in the team we don't need bony as well.

Losing Suarez is still not sitting right with me but with cesc at Chelsea and Sanchez at arsenal signing bony would be incredibly wasteful and underwhelming

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Soups123

Ba and Torres? Thought that was a no brainer tbh. Torres is as good as a Championship player at this stage and Ba's been shíte since he left Newcastle, if he could recapture his old form I wouldn't be saying this.

Lambert is better than Podolski imo, as good as Giroud. In fairness Walcott is better than all of them besides Sturridge.

I wouldn't swap the lot we have for any of the other four's strikers besides City.

Ba, Torres, Podolski & Giroud are all better than Borini. Sturridge on form sits with Giroud. Theo v Sturridge cant compare as different positions.

Lambert would be better than Ba in that list and that is all

Ba, Torres, Podolski & Giroud are all better than Borini. Sturridge on form sits with Giroud. Theo v Sturridge cant compare as different positions.

Ah here. Giroud isn't anywhere near Sturridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭joe123

Ah here your way off with that. Sturridge on form is another level.

On Borini and Lambert though - wouldnt set the world alight.

Fescue wrote: »
    Ah here. Giroud isn't anywhere near Sturridge.

Giroud is the better player, Sturridge has hit some form but Giroud is better

Ah lads keep the comedy in your own thread.

He's the French Andy Carroll.

I don't think you've done your homework on this one Soups.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

8cae15a2b492530377b4dd65f8a12d99.png

BUT WHO IS WHO!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

lol

I don't think you've done your homework on this one Soups.

Listen I don't expect you to agree with me. Giroud is the better player alround, Sturridge has been a journey man who has finally found form. I like the guy but he is not as good a footballer as Giroud.

Time will tell........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

viper006 wrote: »
    goodbye top 4 if he's our striker replacement for Suarez .

He has good stats for Swansea no doubt but i don't he'd suit our fast passing, high pressing game.his link up play is clumsy at the best of times and I definitely think a WF type player like Sanchez or a griezman type player that can create and score with pace is vital.

Bony would score more than Griezman would. Creativity needs to be replaced but goals need to be replaced also.

Think about it, if Suarez goes to Barcelona and Sanchez goes to Arsenal that's a 60-goal swing in Arsenal's favour over us next season....

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Listen I don't expect you to agree with me. Giroud is the better player alround, Sturridge has been a journey man who has finally found form. I like the guy but he is not as good a footballer as Giroud.

Time will tell........

Journeyman? Giroud has played at more clubs than Sturridge. 31 goals in 43 games for Liverpool compared to 27 goals in 70. Even with the highly debatable claim that Giroud is a better all round player, I know who I'd rather have in my side.

I don't think you've done your homework on this one, Soups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

ouch-eccbc87e4b5ce2fe28308fd9f2a7baf3-710.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Someone has been drinking something stronger than soup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,330 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Journeyman? Giroud has played at more clubs than Sturridge. 31 goals in 43 games for Liverpool compared to 27 goals in 70. Even with the highly debatable claim that Giroud is a better all round player, I know who I'd rather have in my side.

Would definitely consider Sturridge to be much better with the ball at his feet, and is a lot more comfortable when drifting wide or dropping deep.

Giroud is better as a target man, and laying off for onrushing midfielders, but that's about it imo.

Think of the hold up play though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭viper006

Time will tell........

This must be one of most ridiculous posts I've read since I joined these boards. Time has told already and will continue to tell that sturridge is far far better. Haha what a post

• Registered Users Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Soups sounds like you have had too many scoops!!
    That statement is malogen
    Giroud average at best.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭the incredible pudding

Giroud is better with his back to the goal than Sturridge is (though in some games his control fails him), beyond that I don't really see anything else that he does better. He's probably better in the air but the accuracy of his heading is worse than Sturridge's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Think of the hold up play though.

We sold Andy too soon.

to many replys and gifs so I won't multi quote.

Sturridge is a good player but Giroud is a level above, his goal count has been high due to how Liverpool have played and the volume they have scored but his miss rate is also high.

He out does Giroud on goals scored in the last year but that is it, lets see who has the better season this year.

Its only my opinion

Daniel Sturridge. 43 appearances for Liverpool. 31 goals.

QED

• Registered Users Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Id love to ask a few PL defenders who they would rather play against .
    Is be confident most would rather play against Giroud. Just my IMO of course
    Most defenders hate marking pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,480 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

That 's some run of form that Sturridge is on. Knocking on 2 years now.

Sturridge is a good player but Giroud is a level above, his goal count has been high due to how Liverpool have played and the volume they have scored but his miss rate is also high.

He out does Giroud on goals scored in the last year but that is it, lets see who has the better season this year.

Its only my opinion

It's a bold opinion to enter the Liverpool thread with but I admire your balls. You got big balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Its only my opinion

Its only the drugs you're on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Its only my opinion

That's fair enough really. Think this needs a bet though, maybe most goals + assists in PL next season?

I can see it being closer than last year to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Giroud wouldn't get into our starting 11.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Sturidge 2013/2014

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWIy312SiKU

Giroud 2013/2014

http:/www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsaAV9l4E78

I would have sturridge all day long

• Registered Users Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭the incredible pudding

Do people keep forgetting that even before Sturridge went to Liverpool, his goals per minute ratio was still very, very good? It's around .7 goals for every 90 minutes, that includes his spells at Chelsea, City and loan spell at Bolton. He's been a very good striker for a long, long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,480 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

One thing that Giroud definitely does better than Sturridge is being the "wall" in a wall pass. He's very good at that.

Hair is also magnificent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

So, £70m.

It's a bold opinion to enter the Liverpool thread with but I admire your balls. You got big balls.
    Slattsy wrote: »
    Its only the drugs you're on.
    Solphadine
    8-10 wrote: »
    That's fair enough really. Think this needs a bet though, maybe most goals + assists in PL next season?

I can see it being closer than last year to be honest
    I would take a bet no problem, PM but nothing stupid, I've kids to feed!
    NukaCola wrote: »
    Giroud wouldn't get into our starting 11.
    He would
    One thing that Giroud definitely does better than Sturridge is being the "wall" in a wall pass. He's very good at that.

Hair is also magnificent.
    He has fantastic hair in fairness

I'll bail out now I'm glad I convinced a few of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Checks back into thread after work.
    Sees that the combatants are out of bullets and have taking to throwing their guns at each other.*

*couldnt find the relevant Naked Gun gif.

ps. Don't search for Naked Gun gifs in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Asenal got ozil and now sanchez, while we are still fcuking about buying substandard **** like lambert origi, can, and lallana ffs will we ever learn