Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

viper006 wrote: »
    I really don't want bony here.For cover for Sturridge and Suarez maybe but the thoughts of having Lambert and bony leading the line if sturridge is injured is just not worth thinking about.goodbye top 4 if he's our striker replacement for Suarez .

He has good stats for Swansea no doubt but i don't he'd suit our fast passing, high pressing game.his link up play is clumsy at the best of times and I definitely think a WF type player like Sanchez or a griezman type player that can create and score with pace is vital.
    With Lambert already in the team we don't need bony as well.

Losing Suarez is still not sitting right with me but with cesc at Chelsea and Sanchez at arsenal signing bony would be incredibly wasteful and underwhelming

A WF isn't going to replace Suarez. We need a striker who scores goals and to cover / compete with Sturridge.

How can you say we don't need Bony with Lambert in the team?

Sturridge, Lambert and Borini as a strikeforce is a joke TBH.

Lambert and Borini are cover / cup players.

Looks like we are signing Markovic so that is our WF player. We will have plenty of players capable of playing in that position now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

In fairness to the soupster he is way more fun than the United lads that come over, shyte in the thread then run off chuckling.

I like you, you crazy bast4rd. Stick around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

This thread is ****ing awful......worst on boards....

NukaCola wrote: »

You're mean. We are NOT friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Yeah, you cant come camping with us this summer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Which player's 'overall play' can be most accurately replicated with use of a lamp post; Giroud or Sturridge?

My money is on Giroud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Giroud better player than Sturridge? LOL

What do you expect from the worst fans in sporting history?

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭DaveSuarez

Would prefer Remy over Bony at 1/3 of the price.

I love this "Better player overall" stat that gets banded about here. It was a big stat for Welbeck and now being trotted out for Giroud.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

You guys go camping together?

sad-panda.jpg

DaveSuarez wrote: »
    Would prefer Remy over Bony at 1/3 of the price.

Remy in, leave Origi out of it, spend in mf and defense.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Arsenal confirm the signing of Alexis Sanchez

tumblr_mear1hPE5Q1qdmw36o1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Sanchez confirmed for Arsenal. Fantastic signing for them.

Ughh hard to look at the transfers of other clubs around us and then to look at our own currently.

Add in the fact that we are losing Suarez. Depression central at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

I love this "Better player overall" stat that gets banded about here. It was a big stat for Welbeck and now being trotted out for Giroud.

We can surely trot it out for this guy though, no?
    http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/20140710/alexis-sanchez-agrees-to-join-arsenal

Hopefully he'll turn out like Ozil and have a very underwhelming but overated season for the Gunners.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Top-4 teams need players of Bony's calibre as back-up. It's not really enough to go into a season competing on 4 fronts with Sturridge, Lambert, Sterling and Aspas as our centre-forward options.

This is what we're competing with, with the likelihood that Chelsea and Arsenal will further strengthen up-front over the summer:

City: Aguero, Negredo, Dzeko, Jovetic
    Chelsea: Costa, Torres, Ba
    Arsenal: Sanchez, Giroud, Podolski, Walcott
    United: RVP, Rooney, Hernandez, Welbeck
    I think Sturridge, Borini, Lambert and Sterling are better than Chelsea's and Arsenal's options and as good as United's. Hernandez and Welbeck are useless

Minor update :), perfect timing though. I would like to retract my Giroud debate and replace that with Sanchez.

I joke fun times ahead I'm liking the changing of the ground in the PL and the fact Liverpool and Arsenal are in the mix with zero sugar daddies

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

marno21 wrote: »

tumblr_mear1hPE5Q1qdmw36o1_500.gif

He's a decent player but sterling is a better overall player

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Sanchez will be good cover for Giroud

marno21 wrote: »

Yeah, well. Never wanted him anyway.

5770250.gif

Great signing for Arsenal, I hope we can start to wrap our deals up.

With Suarez's ban being upheld I wonder if Barca will still come on for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Knex. wrote: »
    Which player's 'overall play' can be most accurately replicated with use of a lamp post; Giroud or Sturridge?

My money is on Giroud.

Well that depends.

Is the light on or off?

Coz if the lights are off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

never liked Sanchez anyways.....

Worth a shot going after Walcott now?!?! He's a fan as well, so......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Vicxas wrote: »

They will. They'll just try to get him cheaper. The bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Sanchez is a fantastic signing.

But he's not some sort of unique talent that can't be matched.

I think I'll wait and see how the rest of our transfer window goes before I break out the noose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

He's a decent player but sterling is a better overall player

Looooooooooooooool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Gbear wrote: »
    Sanchez is a fantastic signing.

But he's not some sort of unique talent that can't be matched.

I think I'll wait and see how the rest of our transfer window goes before I break out the noose.

True. Very good player but not a Suarez level talent that can make a big difference almost by himself. Would certainly have taken him though as a decent replacement. Along with a bag of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 SimplyBlue

What would you guy's "wishlist" be now Sanchez has joined Arsenal?

SimplyBlue wrote: »
    What would you guy's "wishlist" be now Sanchez has joined Arsenal?

Keep Suarez.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭garra

Fair play to you Soupster, you know how to make an entrance.. not much sense though, is this you?

9arzdrl.gif

How much would Pedro cost from Barca?

Makeweight in the Suarez deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

They wanted to keep Pedro. That's why Sanchez was for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'd say they would sell him to us for £74m ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Feck off to Pedro!

LeBron is signing for us very shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

They will, Arsenal just gave them more than half the money they need to buy him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Soups123 wrote: »

I would take a bet no problem, PM but nothing stupid, I've kids to feed!

Nah didn't mean money or anything, would just be interesting to have some sort of forfeit or something, we can track the season then on the superthread.

Just a friendly thing, to be honest I agree with you more than most, I think Giroud will be closer to Sturridge next year because I think he'll get a lot of chances in that lineup and I don't expect Liverpool to score as many goals as last year

Overall I'd be taking Sturridge every day of the week over Giroud, not even close. And I expect him to get more goals + assists than him next season too....just not as much of a gap as last season

So, with Sanchez off we have:

Griezman
    Markovic
    Bony

Could we realistically land all them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Griezman
    Markovic
    Bony

Rumours that Mesut Ozil may be available. Probably been the best player at the World Cup, and one of the most impressive in Europe over the season. Would be a big upgrade on Suarez.

Griezman
    Markovic
    Bony

Pearce said we are likely to use the Suarez money on 3 £20 million signings rather than one massive one. On that basis the above three are gettable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Griezman
    Markovic
    Bony

I don't recall us being linked with Griezman.

3 £20m players is an awful idea when your club considers Lallana a £20m+ player........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Liverpool - Suarez.
    Arsenal + Sanchez.

Time for Rodgers and the committee to step up, big time.

I don't recall us being linked with Griezman.

There was Twitter feeds nonsense, I stuck it in for sh1ts and giggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Think we will struggle for 4th this season to be honest.

3 £20m players is an awful idea when your club considers Lallana a £20m+ player........

I think if you look through the squad, its still quite thin. There is a responsibility to build a competent squad for the year ahead.

Also it is extremely difficult to buy the type of player fans crave. Reus, Benzema etc are not likely to come here.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Paj

Rumours that Mesut Ozil may be available. Probably been the best player at the World Cup, and one of the most impressive in Europe over the season. Would be a big upgrade on Suarez.

We'll keep him thanks. We like to add world class players these days. Selling them wasn't working out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Especially when they pay £16m for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

. Probably been the best player at the World Cup,.

Eh. Wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,955 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

For god's sake 10 days into the transfer window and everyones moaning. Haven't even gotten the Suarez money and people complaining that we're not spending it.