Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

the_monkey wrote: »
    Justice.

Should have been 8 months and 20 internationals.

That makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭Sappy404

'No football activity' - I assume he can train with the team, no?

Silver lining, he won't (can't?) be sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Livid, but more with Luis then with the length of the ban.

He's a Liverpool player, and even when wearing the Uruguay jersey, he's still representing the club.

It was shítty behaviour from him, hopefully he grows up and cops onto himself. Doubtful given the history.

Love watching him play, could be the greatest player to play for this club, but he's no good to us on the sidelines.

Shouldn't get a penny while banned from the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,293 ✭✭✭✭rob316

He got what he deserved. Would everyone wake up and stop acting so shocked.

Its sucks that we are punished but its the 3rd offence.

Time for the club to come out and condemn him, the club should also take legal action against him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Oliver Kay ‏@OliverKayTimes 2m
    Fifa making up rules as they go along, but to judge by what they've just told me, only #URU (not #LFC) would be allowed to appeal Suarez ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'd say with good enough lawyers, they might get him in time for the Premier League.

Bit sh1te if he's walking through the park and lads say, "Luis, pass us back the loose ball, mate?" And he has to politely decline.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

3 CL group stage games as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Apparently Uruguay can appeal but not Liverpool.

Agueroooo wrote: »
    we wont appeal...remember the Evra case?

Completely different scenario though.

And can't he play in 'non football activity' way like Moses did last season?

@OliverKayTimes 2m
    Fifa making up rules as they go along, but to judge by what they've just told me, only #URU (not #LFC) would be allowed to appeal Suarez ban

CAS it is, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Dickerty wrote: »
    This is FIFA we are talking about! They will want to protect the image, the sponsors, the tv audience. They want people to talk about the beautiful game, not off-the-ball stuff.

Throw the book at them, they will...says Yoda...

I wish I had been wrong, but I knew they would go postal on him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

have to laugh at the people saying the ban was too much. he bit someone for the THIRD time. hes an utter disgrace to football and should not be paid a single penny from liverpool during these 4 months. he is ruining liverpools season........AGAIN! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Meh...it's such a weird and unprecedented situation that any ban/sanction was going to cause controversy.

Will be interesting to see the response from FSG/Rodgers.

The stadium ban seems a bit odd though imho.....are they afraid he's going to go around biting random people or something :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Not surprised.

I would say track record and lodging a pathetic defence may have gone against him.

What chance has an appeal got as he'll be appealing with FIFA.

Looks like he won't be sold this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Even as a United fan I think that's harsh. Was expecting maybe 10 game international match ban. I thought the only ban that covered across international and club was a doping ban.

He'll appeal and more than likely have the 4 months stricken off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

rob316 wrote: »
    He got what he deserved. Would everyone wake up and stop acting so shocked.

Its sucks that we are punished but its the 3rd offence.

Time for the club to come out and condemn him, the club should also take legal action against him.

That would be utterly daft. Take legal action against him and you are just decreasing his value. Clubs would be offering 15M for him next January.

Claudio Sulser, chairman of the Fifa Disciplinary Committee, says in a statement: "Such behaviour cannot be tolerated on any football pitch, and in particular not at a FIFA World Cup when the eyes of millions of people are on the stars on the field. The Disciplinary Committee took into account all the factors of the case and the degree of Mr Suarez's guilt in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Code. The decision comes into force as soon it is communicated."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭paddyh117

I wish I had been wrong, but I knew they would go postal on him...

I actually thought and feared it would be longer - as bad as it is having him out until November, we can't expect much better - he is the only player in history to have bitten 3 opponents in games ffs!!

His bans keep getting longer, and so they should

can't wait for him to play again, but not in any way shocked or surprised by the ban

Confirmed: He can't even train with the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

On the plus side, he is very good when he turns up to the season late.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

He'll come back looking like this

suarez-lookalike.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭Benzino

Sappy404 wrote: »
    Confirmed: He can't even train with the club.

Seriously??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Misses first two months of season. Not the end of the world.

Few positives;

- Barcelona or Madrid won't touch him now

- Rest after the injury might do him good

- Board will have to strengthen now to ensure we have players to manage while he's out

Will be interesting to see what comment the club makes on it if any. Wouldn't be surprised if they appeal.

BenThere wrote: »
    If he had bitten someone walking down the street he'd end up in bloody jail for 4 month.

He would in his hole get jail, probably wouldn't even be arrested. What he did was a minor act that was never going to injure a player. Its absolutely disgraceful to hand out a ban of this length.

There have been far more dangerous things done in this world cup which are much more worthy of bans than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

lol

No training...he will look like that fat imposter Arsenal nearly signed last season by November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

murpho999 wrote: »
    Claudio Sulser, chairman of the Fifa Disciplinary Committee, says in a statement: "Such behaviour cannot be tolerated on any football pitch, and in particular not at a FIFA World Cup when the eyes of millions of people are on the stars on the field.

See this, this is BULL!!!! What does it matter whether he did it in front of 4 men and a dog, or millions of fans?

So you are basically punishing him more because be embarassed you in front od all your corporate sponsors. Such a shower of SHAMS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

djPSB wrote: »

Few positives;

- Barcelona or Madrid won't touch him now

- Rest after the injury might do him good

- Board will have to strengthen now to ensure we have players to manage while he's out

Will be interesting to see what comment the club makes on it if any. Wouldn't be surprised they appeal.
    Negatives:

We could be out of the title race by the time he comes back.

Time for Sterling, Sturridge and Lambert to step up. Aspas? Borini?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

djPSB wrote: »

Will be interesting to see what comment the club makes on it if any. Wouldn't be surprised they appeal.

Misses half CL group stage, that is pretty drastic.

Club, by the sounds of things can't appeal the ban, only Uruguay can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭Thud

banie01 wrote: »
    Wonder what Liverpool's available sanctions are?
    Paying him whilst he has disqualified himself thru his own actions is surely going to grate with the owners.
    after what he did for us last year i doubt paying his wages for a few months will be a problem
    BenThere wrote: »
    If he had bitten someone walking down the street he'd end up in bloody jail for 4 month.
    That argument is ridiculous, if you tripped someone on the street you could also end up in jail....every rugby player would also end up in jail if on pitch actions are judged by what would happen on the street.

Not that upset with the ban, we managed last year,and judging by the quiet reaction from the Utd fans in work ban isn't that bad, they are probably upset he didn't get the 2 years they were calling for.

The club ban also sets a precedent...how many clubs are going to want to release their players for international duty now? Should players who play in African Nations Cup (mid season) values now be discounted to account for the risk of club bans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,647 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He will come back more hungry for the game :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

See this, this is BULL!!!! What does it matter whether he did it in front of 4 men and a dog, or millions of fans?

So you are basically punishing him more because be embarassed you in front od all your corporate sponsors. Such a shower of SHAMS!!!

FIFA like their indiscretions to be done behind closed doors...and particularly in countries with poor media coverage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Seen this on twitter:
    Suarez has been banned for a total of 34 matches since 2010 - without receiving a single red card !!

#clown

People talking about the disgrace of Liverpool having to pay his wages: Are you serious? He won't be paid. He'll be lucky if the club don't fine him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

He would in his hole get jail, probably wouldn't even be arrested. What he did was a minor act that was never going to injure a player. Its absolutely disgraceful to hand out a ban of this length.

There have been far more dangerous things done in this world cup which are much more worthy of bans than this.

Are you Louis in disguise? Are you Louis in disguise.........?

By that logic it would be A OK to take your Mickey out and pi$$ on an opponent. No physical damage done so therefore not even a yellow card :rolleyes: Get real. Biting = long term ban. What part of that did Suarez (or you) not get the first or second time he was banned for biting????

Ben

taidghbaby wrote: »
    FIFA like their indiscretions to be done behind closed doors...and particularly in countries with poor media coverage!

And anonymous banking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

What will he get next time every defender he faces will be all over him now trying to get him to bite
    He's already bit three times more than likely will do it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Negatives:

We could be out of the title race by the time he comes back.

Time for Sterling, Sturridge and Lambert to step up. Aspas? Borini?

He missed the first 5 games last season. We finished second.

If we strengthen appropriately, we'll manage.

It's not bull.

He's representing his country, the World Cup and the game at the highest level.

His behaviour has more impact on the game than a lad in his local park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I was expecting something worse.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

BrD_nLtCIAA-9Iy.png:medium

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

x43r0 wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think any of those 3 were playing at the level Suarez currently is at the times they left the club so replacing them wasn't as big a task as replacing Luis would be

Sorry should have made it clearer what I meant was that we thought without them we would not win yes they declined and badly in a couple of cases but we were able to get others to score

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

That makes no sense, how can they dish out a ban that effects the club, yet the club have no say at all? :confused: What a farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Can he still play Fifa on Xbox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

FFS all the hard work Suarez put in to help get us into the Champions League and he gets banned.

Also "all football activity".

Will that ban him from team training like in Rugby?

• Registered Users Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

fcuk!!!!.............
    The games Suarez will miss:

16 August 2014: Southampton (H)

23 August 2014: Manchester City (A)

30 August 2014: Tottenham (A)

13 September 2014: Aston Villa (H)

16-17 September 2014: Champions League fixture

20 September 2014: West Ham (A)

23-24 September 2014: Capital One Cup third round

27 September 2014: Everton (H)

30 September – 1 October 2014: Champions League fixture

4 October 2014: West Bromwich Albion (H)

18 October 2014: QPR (A)

21-22 October 2014: Champions League fixture

25 October 2014: Hull (H)

27-28 October 2014: Capital One Cup fourth round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Meanwhile in Qatar, workers are losing their lives to satisfy Fifa's sale of the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭rich.d.berry

murpho999 wrote: »
    Also "all football activity".

Will that ban him from team training like in Rugby?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

That makes no sense, how can they dish out a ban that effects the club, yet the club have no say at all? :confused: What a farce.

They have to deal with the player, the club is collateral. He got off lightly I reckon