Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Netherlands vs Mexico 5pm / Sun 29th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    by the time Qatar come around it will be 2 minutes play 2 minutes break what with climate change and all...

Advertisers and TV channels are gonna love the Qatar world cup with all the cooling breaks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Keeper done well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

murpho999 wrote: »
    Don't forget the stadiums will be air conditioned!:rolleyes:

That's the players sorted then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

"That was the first real chance of the game"

Has John Kenny been watching this game at all? There's been loads of good chances before that.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Paully D wrote: »
    Duncan Castles ‏@DuncanCastles 38s
    Heat so intense in Estádio Castelão' sauna that 80% of spectators in sunny seats have left them. #NED #MEX #WorldCup

Live from the stadium.

reverse-1277899829_termionator-2-bomb.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭thisonetaken

Lapin wrote: »
    With the next WC taking place in Russia will they have waming breaks for games held in Siberia?

Hot water bottles and mugs of hot chocolate for the players, could work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

They should stop the game until that shadow comes across the pitch :-D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lack of crowds in the stands is gonna make for a shítty Mexican wave when it inevitably happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There ya go.. they're adding on the time for the break so no time lost at all - makes sense to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Think Holland will seriously up the pace in the second half, Depay and Lens to come on fresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Bit of a gentle kick about now.

Brilliant challenge!

edit - should be 1 a piece on the penalties.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Should of scored there.

2 penalties should have been given there

Two penalty shouts there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Likely to be a peno

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Not enough weight on the pass to Robben .

Bit of a gentle kick about now.

Can you imagine what Qatar will be like? Players will probably evaporate during games.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭LightningBlue

Robben's reputation screwing him out of a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Robbens reputation went before him there. Certain penalty.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Robben's reputation for diving was the difference between getting a penalty and not there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Peno.

Hot Mexican women in the crowd, I've my decision who I want to win

Didn't see what happened to him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

briany wrote: »
    American TV execs are getting ideas...

"Cooling breaks! That's what we need!"

"But, sir, it's the middle of Winter. Real Yellowknife plays it's games in sub zero weather. The gatorade will freeze solid!.

*Advertising exec clicks gun*

"I don't think you heard the man..."

In that case,they would have to have a hot soup break.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Camera man, despite the heat, is putting in a sterling performance in picking out shots for the "Hotties" thread later.

jamesbere wrote: »
    Hot Mexican women in the crowd, I've my decision who I want to win

Spoiled by the eejit in front of them - "I'm on TV!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Not sure if it has been mentioned, but Robben's reputation went before him there.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I'd say a fair few Brazilians bought up tickets for this game in case Brazil finished 2nd and didn't bother going to the game. Lots of empty seats.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Spoiled by the eejit in front of them - "I'm on TV!!!!"

They should be taken away and given a sound beating, don't want to be looking at some fellas ugly mug, I pay my TV licence afterall 😀

I'd say a fair few Brazilians bought up tickets for this game in case Brazil finished 2nd and didn't bother going to the game. Lots of empty seats.

They were full earlier, I think they all went for shade.

There were full earlier, I think they all went for shade.

Or on the piss

Poor old John G struggling with this Netherlands / Holland thing.. just call em the Dutch!

45 minutes of the same in the second half would be just dandy.

A Dutch win will be good for my aul bank balance after that first half stalemate.

*dons clogs*

Giles just said Van Persie and Van Robben, the latter obviously of Scouse descent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Poor old John G struggling with this Netherlands / Holland thing.. just call em the Dutch!

Or the Orange men.Shur we'll be use to hearing that over the next few weeks.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Should of scored there.

He should have. You're right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Van Robben.

I think Gilesy got that arseways.

Gary Lineker just tweeted that Holland's best spell was during the drinks break.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Giles just said Van Persie and Van Robben, the latter obviously of Scouse descent

Like your namesake.

No ITV so I have to endure the RTE panel nonsense. Giles ranting about RVP and Robben not tracking back. The dope hasn't considered the possibility that Van Gaal has probably instructed them to conserve their energy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,425 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Giles giving out about Robben not working hard like he always plays that way. It's almost 40 degrees ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

No ITV so I have to endure the RTE panel nonsense. Giles ranting about RVP and Robben not tracking back. The dope hasn't considered the possibility that Van Gaal has probably instructed them to conserve their energy.

Where has this idea that they are conserving energy come from?

Gary Lineker just tweeted that Holland's best spell was during the drinks break.:D

Someone should reply to him and ask him how England will fare in their g........oh wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

They were full earlier, I think they all went for shade.

Fair enough only saw the last 15 mins

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

Brilliant! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Mexico spent the last ten minutes chasing after Netherlands who were barely trying to attack...Van Gaal knows what he's doing. Tire out the Mexicans and win it towards the end or in Extra Time.

Giles was saying the Dutch should work harder but that doesn't take into account the difficult conditions.

Fescue wrote: »
    Where has this idea that they are conserving energy come from?

You obviously missed the first have. And do you seriously think Holland (who have a similar climate to ours) are going to play in 38c, the same way they would play in 18-20c?