Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Belgium vs USA 9pm / Tue 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Sadlier is miles better than Kenny I think, offers a lot more to the panel than being controversial for the sake of it. They have Dunphy for that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

It sounds silly at first but I think a lot of it has to do with the increased sales of the FIFA football game.

A lot more yanks are playing it which means they understand the game more. It's also more enjoyable for them because they know who the players are and they get to see them play in real life for a change.

I think its because over the last 20 years its been played much more, especially in schools. A lot of the more established US sports like NFL and basketball require a physicality that is out of reach to a lot of the average Joes and Joans, but schools have realised that 'soccer' is a game everyone can play. More people playing as kids means as they grow up they are now also watching.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Fancy USA to get a result here. Belgium have been far from impressive so far, and USA will have strong support and are high on confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

ProudDUB wrote: »
    But once the World Cup is over, interest in soccer will die out.

I'm not so sure about that. American mums are pushing their kids towards soccer more than ever. Many see American Football as just too dangerous and as for baseball. African American kids are flooding towards soccer while the MLB struggles with dwindling recruits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Come on the U.S.A

Oh say can you see............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Come on Belgium!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

kamon you fackin' USA lads, owww!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Hope it doesn't go to extra time, worn out from it all!! Come on USA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Dark Knight Rises version will always be the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Come on Belgium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I'm not so sure about that. American mums are pushing their kids towards soccer more than ever. Many see American Football as just too dangerous and as for baseball. African American kids are flooding towards soccer while the MLB struggles with dwindling recruits.

Disagree. (I lived there up until 2011.) It is a huge sport at juvenile level. But the interest at adult level just isn't there. Nor is the TV audience. It's weird. All of my friends kids played soccer all through high school, but unless they get a sports scholarship that puts them thru college, the interest just drops off. So the average Joe in the street loses interest too. Unless it is a big splashy event, like the World Cup, or the Olympics, then they are all over it.

Klinsmann singing the U.S anthem. Classy guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Haven't been impressed by Belgium and and have been really impressed by the USA. Hoping for a USA win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

dirtyden wrote: »
    I think its because over the last 20 years its been played much more, especially in schools. A lot of the more established US sports like NFL and basketball require a physicality that is out of reach to a lot of the average Joes and Joans, but schools have realised that 'soccer' is a game everyone can play. More people playing as kids means as they grow up they are now also watching.

Not just physicality, all those sports require equipment to play, soccer is a lot easier to set up.

Why is soccer in inverted commas anyway?

Let's go USA!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Quite like both teams but would rather USA go through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Ugh commentary way ahead on RTE again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Howard called into action early.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Sound is ahead of the picture on RTE again, good times.

Commentary 1+ hour ahead of the pictures. Commentary at Rio time (east coast of brazil) , Pictures in Manaus (west brazil amazon) time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Good to see RTEs audio and visual in sync. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Tinie wrote: »
    Ugh commentary way ahead on RTE again.

tis a good 5 or 6 seconds ahead, ughhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Hardly a shock when they're such heavy favourites with the books and punters. Talent wise they should win, but talent isn't the be all to end all.
    I meant that because they've been so rubbish, no one is expecting things will be easy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,133 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Surprised kyle Beckerman has been left out, thought he was fantastic in the group stages.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Is the RTe commentry way ahead for anyone :confused:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Ah good old RTE a second or two ahead with the commentary. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Get the sound right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

RTE the only channel where you are told what's happening before they show it. Crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

im giving them 5 minutes to sort it or im switching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Switching to BBC. Sound on RTE is all out of sync

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭briany

Hamilton is clairvoyant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Sound is bollocksed on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Invertpyramid

As per usual. RTE need new tech people. Happens all too often.

This is not advanced stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Thought rte had invested in a crystal ball there for a second!

Is it the same on saorview?

The commentary is a ahead of the picture:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Aaaaaand add me to the list of viewers RTE have lost tonight, only two minutes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭micar

Bye Bye RTE, just flicked to BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

feck ya super sonic KDB don't go being class now

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Time to switch I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Impossible to watch that on RTE with the sound problems. Now watching on the beeb.

Im stuck in 2 channel land:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Fookin audio ahead as usual with Rte. I'm convinced they do this in purpose to make Hamilton sound like he's calling the game well. They have the dial set to high tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Unwatchable.... Unfortunately I've been banished to the bedroom by Mrs Crinklewood so I'm stuck with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Unwatchable.... Unfortunately I've been banished to the bedroom by Mrs Crinklewood so I'm stuck with this.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Atrocious from RTE, over to BBC as well

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Im never leaving RTE.
    Sure George is telling what is gonna happen!

I wouldnt mind if i was after a few cans id say i would not notice but im just after my first.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

I switched the second I realised Houghton was doing the commentary.

Yes there is, how nice of ye to notice.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

off to bbc for me too to watch this even though danny murphy is dire