Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those damn Muslims!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I hate Sharia Law. It boils my piss when I hear how women are treated in countries where it's in place. I hate it and would rather kill myself than live in a country where it exists. It's fcuking disgusting, I abore it and it really, genuinely angers me etc.

HOWEVER threads like this attract the same motely crew who'll pull out the inevitable, "PC Brigade are too scared to stand up against Islam but happily preach against Catholicism (etc)!:mad:" bollocks choosing to forget that the latter directly affected my upbringing and the choices I can make living in Catholic countries. The fact is, I never see reasoned debate against the religion of Islam and they're almost always classed a number of horrible generalisations on these threads and I'd rather chop my head off than ever side with that lot.

I lived in East End London for 2 years and am living in a Muslim-dense part of Madrid now and they've always been more respectful and polite than the locals. I'm not oppressed because Spanish law overrules any laws that any of them might want to bring in and they seem happy enough with that. I have first cousins whose father is Muslim and although he's justifiably angry with the actions of his adopted country in the Middle East (he lives in the US), he's a lovely, gentle, kind man and moderate in his beliefs. My ex boss in London was a British-Irish man who'd converted to Islam 20 years before I'd met him and a lovelier, more open-minded person you couldn't meet. There's a guy from Pakistan who sells fruit and veg down the road whose a grumpy, rude man but that has fcuk all to do with his religion.

Say what you will about the persecution of other religions right now in Europe but the anti-Islam feeling in Europe at this moment is rife and exceeds every other kind of prejudice on our continent, particularly in countries where Muslims are an actual presence. It's incomparable to any other "anti" feeling nowadays, so people pulling out the "You put down [insert other religion here] but you won't speak out against Islam" card while sitting on their farms away from any urban area where they might live and have had zero interaction with any and get their opinions from the Daily Mail have an agenda and I have no intention of ever agreeing with them.

Again, for the hard of hearing, I hate Sharia Law but I have to laugh when you have the posters insisting Ireland is on the brink of being taken over by it and we should watch out. If we don't watch out and we don't speak out against it, we're supposedly only concerned with being seen as "PC" or "Not being seen as racist" (as I have been accused of recently) when all I'm being is a rational, realistic human being who has a grip on reality and knows that I can go about my day in muslim-populated area in peace without fear of being stoned or maimed.

The loonies are the minority and are the oppressors of the people of the religion with which they supposedly share. Engage your brain when you debate this topic and if I don't agree with you, don't shut me down by labelling me a "PC liberal". I have my views on Muslim extremists but I won't be using their actions to tar 1.5 billion of them that live worldwide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

I can't blame the muslims for doing to us what the christian brothers and other missionaries did to them.
    What goes round comes round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Good for you. You have it sussed. Bang ahead. I'm gonna bet you don't start a thread for when things don't go so swimmingly.

You make me laugh. You try to paint me as some ex-pat living the high life closeted way from everyday realities because that scenario allows you to claim that your ignorance trumps my actual experience of things, and when your ****eology doesn't ring true, you resort to some nonsensical, not even hypothetical scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Einhard wrote: »
    Maybe if they broadened their horizons somewhat they wouldn't be so ignorant as to classify all people and countries as the same? I have many female friends here and none would ever say they're second class citizens. In fact, those lucky mofos get free drinks at ladies nights when I have to pay for them. Discrimination I tells ye!!

It's telling though, that the posters who are criticising Muslims in this thread are those who have no actual exprience of Muslims, and refuse to do so. Quelle surprise, eh?

I attend college with several muslims, took a lot of flak for refusing to segregate seats between men and women or 'brothers and sisters' at an event I ran in conjunction with ISOC last year.

If they were practising muslims drinking alcohol would be a sin, so you're either pals with some middle eastern people that you're wrongly assuming are muslim or you're talking out of your arse.

urabell wrote: »

If they were practising muslims drinking alcohol would be a sin, so you're either pals with some middle eastern people that you're wrongly assuming are muslim or you're talking out of your arse.

Lots of so-called Catholics sin, and still consider themselves Catholics. And are considered Catholics. Why do you think it shouldn't be the same with Muslims?

Did you just try to make a point by quoting a fictional character?! :pac:

You can learn more about justice and doing the right thing by studying Stannis than any religious text I know of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

And I suppose to flip that, how many "practising" catholics abide by the laws? Like ash wednesday, or not eating meat on some special day...or lent? Can't think of any more.That blog comes to mind where some dude tried to live word for word what the bible preached. Like he couldn't touch his wife or sit where she sat when she was...eh...in her cycle (to put it politely!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Lots of so-called Catholics sin, and still consider themselves Catholics. And are considered Catholics. Why do you think it shouldn't be the same with Muslims?

You strike me as being an Ali-G character. Except you're wearing a dish dash, not a tracksuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Waaaaay too much for me to read at 1am.

But yeah, live as one. I think we all should be buddhist! Thats an awesome religion.

I don't think it should be the same, I find the idea of a la carte Catholics just as ridiculous as a la carte muslims.

You're only issue seems to be that Irish people seem ignorant of the existence of lay muslims in the middle east, you're offering no actual defence of moderate or strict islam.
    And I suppose to flip that, how many "practising" catholics abide by the laws? Like ash wednesday, or not eating meat on some special day...or lent? Can't think of any more.That blog comes to mind where some dude tried to live word for word what the bible preached. Like he couldn't touch his wife or sit where she sat when she was...eh...in her cycle (to put it politely!).

You must be one of them practising catholics if you feel the need to skirt around using the word menstruation, your body is beautiful, there's no God and it's not 1974.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

To be fair, a catholic using contraception is a sin isn't it?

I think (correct me if I'm wrong) the OP's trying to show that we have Muslims all categorized into one group because they're Muslim. Christians don't strictly follow the Bible word-for-word, yet we assume every single Muslim follows to Koran word-for-word which is a pretty ignorant view.

Can see where you're coming from OP but how would you expect people to think any less when they're bombarded day-in day-out with stories in the media of innocent women being stoned to death for practically nothing at all.

It's ignorant to class all Muslims as extremists but it's equally ignorant to pretend things are the same over there as they are here.

You must be one of them practising catholics if you feel the need to skirt around using the word menstruation, your body is beautiful, there's no God and it's not 1974.

What?? Hang on now...

Tilly wrote: »
    But yeah, live as one. I think we all should be buddhist! Thats an awesome religion.

Technically it's a way of life, not a religion! According to Jack Kornfield.

The term literally fell out of my head which is why it looked like I was tip toeing around the word. Thanks! And no. Not a catholic...not religious at all. Don't dare lump me in to those up-their-own-hole Atheists.

To be fair, a catholic using contraception is a sin isn't it?

I think (correct me if I'm wrong) the OP's trying to show that we have Muslims all categorized into one group because they're Muslim. Christians don't strictly follow the Bible word-for-word, yet we assume every single Muslim follows to Koran word-for-word which is a pretty ignorant view.

Can see where you're coming from OP but how would you expect people to think any less when they're bombarded day-in day-out with stories in the media of innocent women being stoned to death for practically nothing at all.

It's ignorant to class all Muslims as extremists but it's equally ignorant to pretend things are the same over there as they are here.

Relax dude. Who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

Any chance you have a link to that blog?

Technically it's a way of life, not a religion! According to Jack Kornfield.

Yes it is. You're right. It's a beautiful way of life.

You strike me as being an Ali-G character. Except you're wearing a dish dash, not a tracksuit.

You strike me as someone who starts tapping on the keyboard before he actually figures out what he wants to say. So this is the last time I'll respond to you in this thread.

You're only issue seems to be that Irish people seem ignorant of the existence of lay muslims in the middle east, you're offering no actual defence of moderate or strict islam.

My issue is that people shouldn't tar an entire group of people with one massive brush. Wouldn't have thought it a contraversial idea, sut you seem to be having an issue with it.

Relax dude. Who cares?

Meriam Ibrahim might give a slight damn.

You strike me as someone who starts tapping on the keyboard before he actually figures out what he wants to say. So this is the last time I'll respond to you in this thread.

My issue is that people shouldn't tar an entire group of people with one massive brush. Wouldn't have thought it a contraversial idea, sut you seem to be having an issue with it.

You strike me as someone who decides a group is "all good" because 2 lads give him a lift.

frimpong wrote: »
    Any chance you have a link to that blog?

Ah found it. Looks like he decided to cash in and turn it in to a book!

http://ajjacobs.com/books/the-year-of-living-biblically/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

Relax dude. Who cares?

I'll admit that was a very intense post for a topic that I both know and care very little about :pac:

Just adding to the discussion yo :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭miissjuly

You all are hilarious..some (actually most) of you have zero knowledge about Islam and the average practising Muslim. I'm a muslim who has lived in a muslim majority country and non muslim western country. I know how it is.. what islam is what we are how most of you see us as.. but some of you really need to find something better to be doing than posting online what you think Muslims are what islam is and how you think it's so evil. I would've posted a long essay explaining everything but most of you are so ignorant that it's pointless. Life is short, remove your negativity live and let live please and thank you.

miissjuly wrote: »
    You all are hilarious..some (actually most) of you have zero knowledge about Islam and the average practising Muslim. I'm a muslim who has lived in a muslim majority country and non muslim western country. I know how it is.. what islam is what we are how most of you see us as.. but some of you really need to find something better to be doing than posting online what you think Muslims are what islam is and how you think it's so evil. I would've posted a long essay explaining everything but most of you are so ignorant that it's pointless. Life is short, remove your negativity live and let live please and thank you.

I laughed anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭AllthingsCP

You make me laugh. You try to paint me as some ex-pat living the high life closeted way from everyday realities because that scenario allows you to claim that your ignorance trumps my actual experience of things, and when your ****eology doesn't ring true, you resort to some nonsensical, not even hypothetical scenario.

I have met fantastic lads and ladies from Lebanon- Jordan- Egypt- Syria as i lived with a Syrian for months on end. I have experience both the good and bad. Good been having great meals with people that would give you their last plate of falafel. Bad been the local stories of Women been raped and afraid to report it over fears of what would happen. On two occasion in my term in these places we broke up young males pinning down females and other young males in the process of dominating ''Rapeing'' them as it was called, On check-Points we were told not to address the females if their was any in the vehicles with the male address him. And a nasty story about a local girl was raped by a local Officer in the Leb National Guard she reported it she was arrested and she was punished he from what we gather at the time walk as if nothing had happen.

But with all that my Uncle Basil ''Syrian'' who allowed me into his home in the fantastic Qalamun Mountains in Syria, Honestly the experiences were unreal. Great people but Cultures tend to clash.

A muslim is someone who adheres to the tenets of islam, and you seem to be blurring the lines between active muslims and census muslims. The former I can see eye to eye with the latter follow a backwards, misogynistic, violent backwards religion that does a whole lot more harm than good. The same applies to other religions to varying degrees too, you seem to have an issue with keeping this thread about Islam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

You strike me as someone who decides a group is "all good" because 2 lads give him a lift.

Not sure how you could disagree with what he's said. He's merely stating the extreme anti-Muslim feeling in Europe right now is unjustified as the majority of the ONE POINT FIVE BILLIION MUSLIMS worldwide are not extremists, not that every one of them are the salt of the earth. Hardly an outrageous claim. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

The problem I have with Islam is humour. Take the piss out of Catholicism and most Catholics will laugh and enjoy it e.g Father Ted, life of Brian, insert comedian here. Even if their church condemns it.
    Islam on the other hand doesn't really allow yet for such satire. That IS scary. No idea should be free from criticism and lampooning. If I depict Mohammed I'm in very big trouble.

Muslims are nice, the problem is many in power and those seeking power aren't. Well, they're nice until you disagree with them.

Turtwig wrote: »
    The problem I have with Islam is humour. Take the piss out of Catholicism and most Catholics will laugh and enjoy it e.g Father Ted, life of Brian, insert comedian here. Even if their church condemns it.
    Islam on the other hand doesn't really allow yet for such satire. That IS scary. No idea should be free from criticism and lampooning. If I depict Mohammed I'm in very big trouble.

Muslims are nice, the problem is many in power and those seeking power aren't. Well, they're nice until you disagree with them.

True. That story about the Danish cartoon comes to mind. Also your mod lists makes my head explode! Bu..bu...but how? (Joking of course!).

I love that Pascal quote in your sig.

I am hilarious but I also have a reasonable grasp of islam. Remember last year in the Westgate mall massacre when the muslim perpetrators were asking people who the wife of Mohammed was? I would have answered correctly and avoided their summary execution. Her name was Aisha, she married him at 6 years of age and he had sex with her by age 9. Write a long essay explaining that.

Her name was Aisha, she married him at 6 years of age and he had sex with her by age 9. Write a long essay explaining that.

And what about the catholic priests who ruined many a childhood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

FFS...

People all over the world are pretty much the same.

Its the ideology of their leaders that is to blame.

Thats why old Mohamed down at the newsagents is the nicest guy you'll ever meet but the government of his country is executing unwed mothers in the street. Or why Brad, the surfer is your best friend but his government is attacking wedding parties with drones....

And on and on it goes...

And what about the catholic priests who ruined many a childhood?

Equally as terrible, who's saying otherwise? When I make a point disparaging Islam do you actually expect me to go through every religion for the sake of fairness? If you want my opinion on the catholic church make a thread about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I am hilarious but I also have a reasonable grasp of islam. Remember last year in the Westgate mall massacre when the muslim perpetrators were asking people who the wife of Mohammed was? I would have answered correctly and avoided their summary execution. Her name was Aisha, she married him at 6 years of age and he had sex with her by age 9. Write a long essay explaining that.

Careful now, last time we had mention of that detail fof Islamic lore we had the blasphemy law evoked...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

ALL organised religion is disgusting. Islam strikes me as being the absolute worst though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I've never understood this mindset. This and the whole "Draw Mohammed Day" thing that was around a few years back.

If you take the piss out of someone and they're not up for it, then you stop taking the piss out of them. Banter is a two-way street, it requires consent. If you want to take the piss and they're not up for it but you continue, it's just bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I've never understood this mindset. This and the whole "Draw Mohammed Day" thing that was around a few years back.

If you take the piss out of someone and they're not up for it, then you stop taking the piss out of them. Banter is a two-way street, it requires consent. If you want to take the piss and they're not up for it but you continue, it's just bullying.

There's a difference between taking the piss out of someone to their face and publishing it in a book or film that they DON'T have to see but choose to hate you and ban the product from others.

Bullying is entirely different. Father Ted isn't bullying. Bullying would be closer to forcing someone to watch father Ted every day even when you know it causes them great psychological distress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Maybe I'm showing my ignorance but why would they not join their fellow classmates during breaks?

If you said that you like the look of their sandwich, they would have to give it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

Why do muslims not drink alcohol?
    'Cause they don't like it.

P_1 wrote: »
    Careful now, last time we had mention of that detail fof Islamic lore we had the blasphemy law evoked...

Maybe whoever evoked it that time has actually read the statute by now.

Yeah, I'll just ask the permission of every muslim on the planet before I make a joke about it. Also you might take the time to look up the definition of bullying.

If someone smiles back at you when you smile at them, you've made them happy. What's not to love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

There's a difference between taking the piss out of someone to their face and publishing it in a book or film that they DON'T have to see but choose to hate you and ban the product from others.

Bullying is entirely different. Father Ted isn't bullying. Bullying would be closer to forcing someone to watch father Ted every day even when you know it causes them great psychological distress.

I don't agree with that at all. Putting something in the public domain is even worse than putting it in front of them. You're openly mocking them for your own entertainment and inviting others to join you. Surely it's simpler to respect the customs of people with a different view than yourself and get your jollies elsewhere.

Whose permission do I seek before making a joke about a group?

Jesus, care of the Pentagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Scaldy Ned

I lived in India for a few years and and Muslims are hated there....Most Indians are Hindi and as such are Tolerant and easy going ....as long as you don't try to convert them.
    In the time i was there the most threatened i felt was from the 15% Muslim population.
    They would stare at you with hatred and i even had to cancel some appointments because Muslims were there when i made them. I was actually scared to go to a place where they knew i would be at a set time.
    Indians hate Muslims big time and this is the only thing that made me feel safe working there.
    The way i see it is like this ......Too be a good Christian , you should be tolerant and respectful of everybody elses beliefs.....To be a good Muslim you have to convert everyone to Islam and if they don't convert ......KILL EM ALL.
    To be honest ....I associate Islam with lack of education and brain washing.....at 51 i haven't seen anything to prove me wrong.
    The most worrying thing is that Irish Politicians are scared to speak out against it. If you dont like it .....off you go to Iran , Iraq Or Afghanastain.....Offended ?....Good , because you offend me everyday when you slaughter innocents in the name of Mohammed ....give me Jesus anytime....

Are muslims a race? Am I racist if I call them a bunch of shoe bombers? Would I get infracted for it? Probably.

Would I get infracted for saying Jehovah's Witnesses are a bunch of eejits? Probably not.

Also a Quaker isn't going to cut your head off in the street.

FearDark wrote: »
    Are muslims a race? Am I racist if I call them a bunch of shoe bombers? Would I get infracted for it? Probably.

Would I get infracted for saying Jehovah's Witnesses are a bunch of eejits? Probably not.

If you don't get infracted I'm going to pose all my unsavoury opinions as questions.

Just stop. You're so angry. Let's cuddle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

All I have to say is.......yea totes