Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Children died in Quad bike accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Why were children that young on a quad bike... asking for trouble.

Sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

How long can an AH ban last for? Feckin years hopefully. Edgy? Yeah right.

Quads are lethal. There was one on our farm that my kids latched onto. Sadly, I it broke pretty quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Poor little kids. May they rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

RIP, terrible tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

Sad News - RIP

Need to await further details on this - but 3 young kids, 2 Irish & 1 Portuguese on a quad bike with a middle aged English fella seems a strange scenario to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Deathwish4 wrote: »
    Need to await further details on this - but 3 young kids, 2 Irish & 1 Portuguese on a quad bike with a middle aged English fella seems a strange scenario to me.

More details in this report.

The guy was a resident of the area, friends with the Irish kids dad, they were also living there, swerved to avoid hitting an animal, kids had no helmets so sustained serious head injuries, driver fled the scene after the accident and was later arrested and charged with negligent homicide and failure to assist the police.

Portuguese kid was their friend and son of a local policeman. Also says "It was the first time that their friend went on the quad bike with them." So it probably isn't the first time they were on it. Just unfortunately this time there was an accident and the lack of helmets resulted in fatal injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I hope my aunt is following this story, her 2 boys have been using the quad since they were five. And we had a neighbour die a few years back when a ride-on lawnmower turned over on him, yet she doesn't learn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    You shut your mouth
    How can you say

he goes about things the wrong way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Pugsly wrote: »
    More details in this report.

The guy was a resident of the area, friends with the Irish kids dad, they were also living there, swerved to avoid hitting an animal, kids had no helmets so sustained serious head injuries, driver fled the scene after the accident and was later arrested and charged with negligent homicide and failure to assist the police.

Portuguese kid was their friend and son of a local policeman. Also says "It was the first time that their friend went on the quad bike with them." So it probably isn't the first time they were on it. Just unfortunately this time there was an accident and the lack of helmets resulted in fatal injuries.

Looks like he's pretty much fcuked then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭Stella Virgo

this happened in clare about 8 weeks ago......some people just cant get it through their thick skulls that quads are lethal ......this kid died the same day the quad was bought.....
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/eight-year-old-boy-killed-after-horror-3364554

Poor little kids. So sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

A terrible thing to happen, but it wasn't an accident. Bad parenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

MJ23 wrote: »
    A terrible thing to happen, but it wasn't an accident. Bad parenting.

I see this stated a bit in relation to these incidents so I just thought I'd post this.
    An accident or a mishap is an unforeseen and unplanned event or circumstance, often with lack of intention or necessity. It usually implies a generally negative outcome which might have been avoided or prevented had circumstances leading up to the accident been recognized, and acted upon, prior to its occurrence.

It certainly was an accident unless you think the driver of the quad deliberately threw the children off or the parents put them on it in an attempt to kill them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Ya know what the problem with quads is?

This:

http://www.toys.ie/Electric-Ride-Ons-!WCAT47-cat.aspx

People think they're toys. They aren't, they're fcuking lethal and I'd love to see it made illegal for anyone under the age of 16 to be on one. Sometimes you just have to protect kids from their parents' stupidity. There's no reason whatsoever to allow kids on them. None.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,443 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Ya know what the problem with quads is?

This:

http://www.toys.ie/Electric-Ride-Ons-!WCAT47-cat.aspx

People think they're toys. They aren't, they're fcuking lethal and I'd love to see it made illegal for anyone under the age of 16 to be on one. Sometimes you just have to protect kids from their parents' stupidity. There's no reason whatsoever to allow kids on them. None.

You're against battery powered quads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ok ill explain it then......

I dont care. Two faces ill never know.

Jesus. You've really outdone yourself this time. I thought you were unpleasant* before. Now I get just how unpleasant*.

* obviously 'unpleasant' here substitutes for what I actually mean. Abusing other posters and all that jazz. I'll let ye imagine what I'd actually say if I ever met him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Driver fled the scene? What a scumbag.

Poor children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Good. Stupid people stupid outcome.

may the devil make a ladder of your backbone as he picks apples in the gardens of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

RIP kids :(

Quads are lethal machines. If used properly......within the law -one person with a helmet and driving carefully, they are are still dangerous. There is nothing to stop the driver being thrown over the handlebars.

Where I live, all the kids had them. It got to the stage that it was scary to drive in case you met one of them.....way too fast, middle of the road and normally more than 2 on board. It was only due to one fanatic Garda and an almost fatal crash that has almost removed them from the roads here.

Thankfully now, the majority of the quads we see here now are driven by farmers. And they have their helmets on and are driving carefully. There are still a few driven by nutters, but thankfully few and far between.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I have grown to hate quads. I live on a farm and it was discussed about getting a quad to help my father, who's getting on, with the fodder and checking on cattle.

It was put to him and he flat out refused to use one and if we ever got one, he'd never sit on it.

Since then I've come to agree with him, I've worked in the National Rehabilitation hospital in Dun Laoghoire and there is seldom a time that there isn't an in patient as a result of a quad bike injury. They are a solid danger.

God help the families of all involved. It's life destroying for both survivors and fatalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

People think they're toys. They aren't, they're fcuking lethal and I'd love to see it made illegal for anyone under the age of 16 to be on one.
    I wouldn't say they're inherently lethal or dangerous, the problem is that people get on them with little or no training, spin around on them for a little while and then assume they have the hang of it. Then they stick their child on the back to give them a bit of a thrill. Quads have in fact quite a nuanced balance that's not quite like a car and not quite like a bike, which takes many hours on the quad to understand (and therefore respect). So many people get injured flipping quads onto themselves because they assume it will handle like a car, or a bike and they push it too far.

It's a bit odd that our traffic laws in the interest of safety have a checklist of rules you must abide by before someone under 17 can be a passenger in a car, but you can plop a helmet on a 6 year old and ride a motorbike around country roads @ 100kmh with the child just hanging on.

Rural areas in that part of the mediterranean are very wild-west when it comes to road safety attitudes anyway. If you drive along the motorway in the Costa Del Sol, you see no end of guys riding high-powered bikes at 100km/h+ wearing a helmet, t-shirt, shorts and sandals.
    You'd be better off without the helmet, your death would be less painful.