Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumping a load of rubbish from home into the work skip undetected

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Further good news on the freeloading front.
    Work has fiber so only took about 30 minutes to download season 3 of The Wire.
    No 720p option but I suppose it'll have to do.
    Excuse me while I copy it onto my phones SD card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Further good news on the freeloading front.
    Work has fiber so only took about 30 minutes to download season 3 of The Wire.
    No 720p option but I suppose it'll have to do.
    Excuse me while I copy it onto my phones SD card.

Would you not just sit back there and watch it, save you having to copy it to your SD card !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Fluxfan

eamonnq wrote: »
    Would you not just sit back there and watch it, save you having to copy it to your SD card !!

And wasting your own electricity at home!

I snuck all the cushions off a couch and 2 armchairs into the work skip over the last week,
    keeping the frame for fire wood :)

Feels good!

Ah, missus watches it too, she gets addicted to these box sets truth be told.
    No time to watch it anyway, I'm reading up Wiki on what happens next season on Game of Thrones.

urbanledge wrote: »
    I snuck all the cushions off a couch and 2 armchairs into the work skip over the last week,
    keeping the frame for fire wood :)

Feels good!

http://static.gamespot.com/uploads/original/1047/10472442/2442369-3389840809-inter.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Unfortunately not, private sector, man & boy.
    I'm in a special circumstance, I'm an R&D Design Engineer, one good idea can save/make the company millions & I've had a few in my time.
    I'm sort of let to my own devices, east wing of the castle stuff, management don't come down here too often.
    It makes more sense if you're in R&D, they do get away with a lot of spending, but a day will come when they want to reel that in and have the department account for the money it's spending.

It's also a fallacy to assume you're safe because your job is important. corporations have made it their goal to reduce their dependence on smart educated people, that's why companies have departments with people taking on specific roles and tasks. They don't need experts they just need someone who can fulfil one specific role. That way it's easier to fill the jobs with inexperienced people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

OP just keeps baiting that hook........and it's taken repeatedly.

Honestly, I'm enjoying this. I had a good giggle at the box set download. Keep up the good work doss, OP. Sounds to me like you've earned it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

dodzy wrote: »
    OP just keeps baiting that hook........and it's taken repeatedly.

Honestly, I'm enjoying this. I had a good giggle at the box set download. Keep up the good work doss, OP. Sounds to me like you've earned it :D

Yeah, I was about to reply to the box set one. No point. Just feeding the troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Feck it, fair play OP.

ScumLord wrote: »
    It makes more sense if you're in R&D, they do get away with a lot of spending, but a day will come when they want to reel that in and have the department account for the money it's spending.

It's also a fallacy to assume you're safe because your job is important. corporations have made it their goal to reduce their dependence on smart educated people, that's why companies have departments with people taking on specific roles and tasks. They don't need experts they just need someone who can fulfil one specific role. That way it's easier to fill the jobs with inexperienced people.

When this entropy of society has occurred by 2147 I'm sure my head in the glass jar will shed a single saline tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Cracking up at this thread while i'm at work, sitting on my arse and getting paid for it :p;):eek::cool:

Yeah, I was about to reply to the box set one. No point. Just feeding the troll.

Honestly I am no troll, I have cushty work deal & wanted to know if anyone else had it so handy.
    In a few weeks the British Open golf is on & I won't miss a stroke with a nice HD stream in work, I'll only have to turn down Peter Allis if the phone rings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

In my last job I Managed to dispose of an entire kitchen I'd removed to facilitate a new one.
    Had a work van and brought it in, a unit a day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭sw33t_r3v3ng3

*walks into managers office, pushing a lawnmoer*

Employee: I found this in your skip!

Manager: Oh, Let me check my camera's ....

*Realizes it's his lawnmower *

Manager: Oh the camera's forgot to turn on that day...

*Mysteriously laughs to himself*

In case your thinking how could he put have his shed into the work skip unnoticed I may have unrepresented the size of the thing.
    It's one of the 40 cubic yard compactor bins, you could drive a car into it.
    http://www.thorntons-recycling.ie/images/35cubicyardskip_000.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

If you get caught no ones going to accept your robbin hood for stealing, the company will more than likely press charges to make an example out of you which would turn up if any future employers search for you online.

If its a big company its most likely nobody in the whole building is going to care, most people are probably up to similar stuff themselves. Its not a like a small company where the owner is there and would see it as money out of his pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

did this in work before alright

although it was all garden rubbish, and I didnt have a car, so on a paid taxi visit off-site, I had it swing home for some personal effects >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Just wondering how many of you are posting your disgust at the OP while in work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

So you think it's ok to steal from your employer?

This type of post annoys the sh1te out of me. You swear he was stealing millions. So pedantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Well done OP for actually throwing it in the skip, people who do as you where I work just empty their contents beside the skip, I suppose it better that way in case someone might do themselves a back injury and put in a claim against the company.
    I think the government should bring in a law where every household should have a bin and when the bin people come it is weighed so its proof that they are not illegally dumping it. If you dont have a bin then the litter warden can stakeout your house.
    Its this kind of nanny state attitude that really makes me sick of this country, out law cigarette packs, cant show alcohol advertsiment before 9pm and now a bin collection monitering system,
    It just makes me wonder where they are willing to stop, just to keep pay back the bondholders.
    LG

This type of post annoys the sh1te out of me. You swear he was stealing millions. So pedantic.
    I guess you'd have no problem if someone stole the milk out of your fridge, it's only a small thing.

Ah come on Scumlord. You're letting this get to you. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the view. Unless you're his boss of course;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Used to print everything I needed in work. No cctv, and manager didn't give a damn.

Myself and my manager used to use the work Internet for torrenting movies.

Always charged my phone and tablet in work. I'm sure that saved me a few quid on the electricity bill.

Also used to use the work VOIP phone to make international calls. What was 2c or 3c to them, would have been a few euro for me at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

The best part is that loss of efficiency by people constantly checking facebook, boards, youtube will dwarf the couple hundred euro in printing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭alias no.9

kbell wrote: »
    In my last job I Managed to dispose of an entire kitchen I'd removed to facilitate a new one.
    Had a work van and brought it in, a unit a day :)

Funny, I just stuck a free add on adverts that my old kitchen was 'free to take away' and somebody just came and took it the next day, I didn't have to bring it anywhere a unit a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

If its a big company its most likely nobody in the whole building is going to care, most people are probably up to similar stuff themselves. Its not a like a small company where the owner is there and would see it as money out of his pocket.

Um ...yeah. Someone dumped some home-stuff in the skip of a big multinational I work for a lot. (wasn't a whole lot either..)I had a meeting with the facilities manager about putting a lockable lid on the skip to prevent this- he was very huffy that this happened. His big Boss was even huffier. The skip was removed from site straight away to prevent a recurrence. Camera drives were scanned but none caught the deed. I'm guessing if they had, the boot for that person was on the cards. This might not be the best idea ever, if someone wants a reason to can your azz. People get huffy over odd things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Puzzle35

Ah come on Scumlord. You're letting this get to you. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the view. Unless you're his boss of course;)

Scum lord must have quit smoking the weed. Got blasted by him a year or so ago cost he was pro weed and I was against it. Not really in a position to be holier than thou with the OP on this one IMO. I mean illegal is illegal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Jeefff

I was labouring on a site in Dollymount, this fella came up in a new Mercedes, came over to me and whispered if he could use the skip for a couple of items, I was the only lad out the front so I said 'yeah, no bother'.. He threw me five euro, went to the boot and took out a full set of Callaway golf clubs and a rubbish bag.
    It was a huge high skip so I said 'here let me put them in for ye'
    I chucked the bag in and carefully put the clubs in my van when he drove off..
    Got a couple hundred quid for them later on..
    This was 2007 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The best part is that loss of efficiency by people constantly checking facebook, boards, youtube will dwarf the couple hundred euro in printing.

I could work plenty efficiently browsing boards at the same time, working in a call centre for long enough means you take the exact same calls every day so can sleepwalk through most of your shift.

I used the office printer to print off cvs to apply for other jobs :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Do people still actually use their own printers (or even have printers)? I would say the vast majority of people do all their personal printing in the office.

actually I do all my printing at home*

*but work pay for the printer and supplies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Everyone takes advantage of their job in some shape or form. Even if it's always charging a phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

A few where I work use the skip for all their household waste.

Personally I just do the printing and charging my phone. I'd take the odd few items home too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I started off hating the OP, now I think he's great. His charm won me over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I don't agree with stealing from work. Little and often adds up to a lot. I worked in a german supermarket on night shift a good few years back. On,y things i ever took were things that we had to throw into the bin because the sell by date was expiring that day, even though the food was not yet at the expiry date. The supermarket still called this stealing, but I saw them wasting good food and took small amounts home with me sometimes to eat. I had free milk and donuts for break every night :D

:)http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=25927835

WTF would you start off hating OP?

As someone rightly pointed out earlier in the thread, nearly all jobs have their perks, some more than others, but if you think about where you work, I'm sure you have too. The OP is maximizing his perks allowance, no big deal IMO. There is a lot of worse sh1t going on in the general workplace than excessive ink/paper use and a bit of downloading.

I say OP should update this thread as a "daily diary" of sorts.

Bookmarked.

I say OP should update this thread as a "daily diary" of sorts.

Bookmarked.

Oh such pressure, yesterday was a standout day, not much planned for today.
    I tell work this time every week I'm just slipping down to the bank during my 10am break.
    What they don't know is that I'm doing the weekly cash & cheque lodgement for the wife's business, saves her lugging the 3 kids into town during the holidays.
    It only takes about 5 minutes owing to those new self service lodgement machines which then gives me 15 minutes to run around Aldi to pick up the stables of the weekly shop.
    So I'm back in work about 10 minutes after my break but so what, everyone else are still rolling out of the canteen then anyway.
    Next I log onto Tesco online to book a late slot for Thursday evening for the other half of our weekly shop.
    So I can then spend the next hour perusing all the special offers & wondering if I deserve cashew nuts or not.

wondering if I deserve cashew nuts or not.

Of course you deserve them!

It's like heroin, in nut form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Made it into work about 10 minutes early

Ah lads, give the OP some credit. He DID figure out this masterplan all by himself. AND he DID get up early. Might even have missed his Wheaty Bangs and toastie soldiers. AND he used his own petrol to get the rubbish to the skip. AND, instead of dumping his stuff in a ditch or open ground along the route, he drove it all the way to work. AND he unloaded it all by himself. AND he probably clocked in on time.

I'm sure that, when working, he's the best employee they've ever had and he has a marvellous career ahead of him. I just hope he smiled for the CCTV cameras along the way - that always looks better at the tribunal - and has access to his employer's network printers activity logs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Caught up on some very late Spring cleaning & cleared out the garden shed yesterday.
    Filled the car to the brim with 7 years worth of crap I've been looking to offload.
    Made it into work about 10 minutes early & got to chuck it all into the work skip.
    I'm made up from my thrifty dastardly deed. :D

It's always nice to freeload something off work now & then.
    Missus needs about 160 colour pages printed a week for her customer handouts.
    I manage to run these off for years unknown to my colleagues.
    I also update her blog, admin her bulk mailer & update her website during my office hours. :D

Regale me with tales of how you use your work hours or workplace to your advantage ?.

I use my work hours and workplace to my advantage in the following way.

I work hard during my work hours.
    I get better at my job.
    I increase my level of contacts and people who know how good I am
    I get a promotion twice in a year
    I earn more money

Is that what you mean?

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-21043693

I think that guy had the right idea, the job gets done, he gets paid, everyone is happy ?

I'm not his boss but I am a boss. The thought of paying someone who steals from you makes me want to go out and fire everybody right now.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

We had a massive document shredder in my office for shredding confidential documents (stuff with account numbers/id etc) and every now and then I'd bring in all my old bills and shred them. It wasn't really on the sly though, we had permission to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

curlzy wrote: »
    Shiraz PLEASE say you work in the public sector. PLEASE!
    Ooh, the bitterness is grand and strong in this one. ;)

If it's a big company, meh. It's kinda crap behaviour when other people aren't doing it, but somehow the OP thinks they have a right to do it and won't admit they're in the wrong. If they just admitted they were in the wrong I'd kinda think "fair enough" tbh (if it's a big company).
    It's the people cheering on the OP for socking it to the man (and has it actually been confirmed it's a big company?) who are hilarious. What are ye? 15? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Come on Shiraz 4.99 do it again, do it again! Tell them you bring in your electronics to charge. Or your pencils to sharpen. Tell them you take home the jacks roll. Go on, go on, go on!!!

Magaggie wrote: »
    It's the people cheering on the OP for socking it to the man (and has it actually been confirmed it's a big company?) who are hilarious. What are ye? 15? :)
    no, it's people whining about OPs carry on that's hilarious. Let's face it, the rest of us are just partaking in a little light hearted AH trolling. I feel sorry for anyone that can't see past this fact.