Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BTEA Mature Student

Options
  • 01-07-2014 7:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭

Hi there, im a mature student. and want to apply for back to education for a level 7 degree, this will be my first degree in Ireland, Am I wrong to think that this application will cover the fees aswell as giving me a weekly allowance. I know fees are covered by Department of Education either through the Free Fee Initiative or through the Tuition fee element of the SUSI grant. not sure which to apply for or how? any help greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭BonkeyDonker

SUSI pays your tuition fees, BTEA gives you upto €188 per week to live on. You need to apply to both.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Westwood

thanks had a look through it there now. I should have mentioned that the course is level 7, 2 years but its part time. from IT sligo which is an approved college but it says here must be full time?
    http://www.susi.ie/Is-my-course-approved/General-criteria-for-approved-courses/Institutes-of-Technology-courses.aspx

other option is the departments free fees initiative but this seems to be level 8 only? for IT's

http://www.studentfinance.ie/mp9377/course-fees/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Hi OP.
    As a general rule part-time courses with a couple of exceptions aren't covered by either the Free Fees Initiative, SUSI grants or BTEA.