Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need Advice- Will moving in with my partner affect his rent allowance if I'm on dole?

Options
  • 01-07-2014 8:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Hi all-
    Looking for urgent advice.

My boyfriend is living in his own apartment and is supplemented with rent allowance as he is unemployed.

I've been living on my own the last few years.

I have just been made unemployed from my own business (I was a franchise manager and the company pulled the branch I was working in). I worked for them for 3 years but ran this shop as my own the last few months as a franchisee. (Didn't work out, shop takings were so low that I sometimes couldn't pay myself wages for weeks)

I have 234 PRSI Payslips from the company. I only took over the franchise in December, just before the New Year, so as far as I know, my payslips from the last two years should be ok shouldn't they?

We had been talking about moving in together shortly but now I am worried.

I am applying for Jobseeker's Benefit but am worried if this will affect his Rent Allowance.
    I don't want to mess up his financials and I am already worried enough about going on Jobseeker's.

I know there is no shame in being made unemployed but *I*personally am ashamed and very upset at the thought of other people's taxes supporting me. (I know this is ironic seeing as I have worked for the last 6 years nonstop and paid a fortune in taxes)

One friend of mine told me not to be ashamed, that I have genuinely fallen on hard times and god knows I've more than paid enough in taxes over the years.