Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipperary v Galway, SHC Qualifier, Semple Stadium @ 7pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

MfMan wrote: »
    It's one of the cliches that perpetuates about Galway that they don't have bottle. Simply not that - they don't have enough good hurlers. They had enough bottle to survive v. Laois when it could have slipped against them, to come back v KK in the drawn game and to stay with them in the replay despite a badly misfiring forward division. Mgmt went for big, strong men in replay but neglected to select enough players with touch and 'close-in' ability. Team for this evening has a better balance but it may not be good enough. I've said it enough times here already, Galway are distinctly better this year because their defence has steadied.

Galway may still lack so much as a team, but for certain they have enough persistence, obduracy and character this year to render such debates obsolete. To say otherwise is just lazy media / cliche - speak.

Galway are just ****ing slow. Very few lads with any real natural pace. And some of the quicker lads are putting on huge amounts of weight (Andy Smith for example) for no obvious reason.

Also think Galway's use of the ball has been absolutely headless over the past two years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Do ye reckon someone will put the match up on a streaming site because it's on Sky? I think I can get in on GAA GO anyway but just wondering has anyone abroad been able to see the other games that Sky have had so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Tipp will want it more. Galway seem to crack under-pressure and there is huge pressure on them today. I don't think they'll do it. They'll be over-run and lose by about 6-8 points. Here's hoping C. Callanan will have a good day, might save the day!

TIP 3-20
    GAL 1-16

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

T0001 wrote: »
    Tipp will want it more. Galway seem to crack under-pressure and there is huge pressure on them today. I don't think they'll do it. They'll be over-run and lose by about 6-8 points. Here's hoping C. Callanan will have a good day, might save the day!

TIP 3-20
    GAL 1-16

Tipp havent exactly set the world alight and under a fair bit of pressure themselves!!!

I reckon the 2 matches against kilkenny will stand to galway

donnem33 wrote: »
    Tipp havent exactly set the world alight and under a fair bit of pressure themselves!!!

I reckon the 2 matches against kilkenny will stand to galway

True, but I think Tipp have more resolve and if they open a 2-3 point lead they can push on. Whereas Galway had a 4 point lead v KK in replay but failed to push-on and went 2 down very quickly. As long as Tip don't concede more than 2 goals it will look very good. I always find once Galway score 13 points they always have trouble to get no. 14.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

T0001 wrote: »
    True, but I think Tipp have more resolve and if they open a 2-3 point lead they can push on. Whereas Galway had a 4 point lead v KK in replay but failed to push-on and went 2 down very quickly. As long as Tip don't concede more than 2 goals it will look very good. I always find once Galway score 13 points they always have trouble to get no. 14.

just like they did against limerick is it?....

donnem33 wrote: »
    just like they did against limerick is it?....

Galway aren't Limerick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

GET IN FLYNN !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

More problems in the full back line for tipp. Saint at fault this time.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Galway's indiscipline picking up where it left off last week. Worrying.

Canning had the space to take that further.

Tipp giving Canning the pitch to himself.

Nice of them.

Glynn should have taken his point there.

Going for the goal led to Tipp's break and the goal at the other end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Bonner Maher is a super player, top class.

Good goal by Callanan.

Nicely taken by Mannion.

Brilliant cut.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Got delayed on a Craft beer run (#firstworldproblems :p), just switching on the game now. Summary so far in 10 words or less? Looks like it has been pretty open so far from the scoreboard.

Someone needs to man mark canning.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Good open game this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭The White Feather

As usual hilarious reactions on twitter from the British as the game is on sky

#hurling what a bonkers sport. Looks like load blokes got bored playing hockey and started twating each other with sticks #ballsanexcuse

Its shaping up to be a fantastic game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

marco_polo wrote: »
    Got delayed on a Craft beer run (#firstworldproblems :p), just switching on the game now. Summary so far in 10 words or less? Looks like it has been pretty open so far from the scoreboard.

Open attacking game. Canning has the freedom of the pitch.

GET IN !!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

As usual hilarious reactions on twitter from the British as the game is on sky

Its shaping up to be a fantastic game

This is my favourite tweet so far:

Hurling: so dangerous, the crowd can't sit behind the goalmouth

Very little between the teams in this first half.

Oh Johnny.

Great ball from Lar.

Level at half time, all to play for in the second half.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I reckon we'll get an extra 20 minutes out of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

An odd sort of game so far.Seems to be very little intensity for a knock out championship match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭dirtyden

An odd sort of game so far.Seems to be very little intensity for a knock out championship match.

Very loose alright, lots of space out there for both teams.

I think if Tipp control the amount of ball Joe Canning gets they should win this.

Lads i just caught a picture of Tipperarys sub warming up at half time.........

image001.jpg

Lapin wrote: »
    I reckon we'll get an extra 20 minutes out of this.

You might be right, I would definitely be ok with that

Did Rachel Wyse say that the attendance is 18,000?? That's a very poor attendance.

Edit: yep, commentator confirmed it.

GET IN !!!

GET IN !!!

Your stream is a good 30 seconds ahead of mine!!

All three goals scored by different players. Encouraging.

Your stream is a good 30 seconds ahead of mine!!

My stream? Sky Sports 3.

I'll count to 30 before posting when Galway score their next goal. :);)

Lovely point by Mannion there from nothing.

Thirty seconds up.

GET IN GLYNN !!!

Did Rachel Wyse say that the attendance is 18,000?? That's a very poor attendance.

Edit: yep, commentator confirmed it.

I am amazed that its so low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Score lads? Hate been at a house with no Sky Sports!!

Maher is a great player but no fullback, that said Glynn would be a handful for anyone today

STIG83 wrote: »

4-11 to 1-15 Galway ahead

STIG83 wrote: »

Galway 4 - 11
    Tipp 1 - 15

49 minutes.

It's on RTÉ Radio 1

Should have scored that.

My stream? Sky Sports 3.

I'll count to 30 before posting when Galway score their next goal. :);)

Haha.
    I'm watching it on Sky Go.

Game back on now.

Both full-backs have gotten an absolute roasting today.

That looked like an ok hook to me.

Somehow a good hook becomes a free? :confused: Weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Awful decision by the referee to pull that hook:(