Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More jobs for Waterford!

• 03-07-2014 10:56am
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Following on from yesterday's announcement that a medical devices company is setting up here, another company has announced that they will be setting up a manufacturing base here with the creation of 80 jobs.

The manufacturing plant will see the immediate creation of 40 manufacturing positions as well as 40 jobs in its retail and distribution arm.

Also, Apple Green announced that construction work on the filling station in Lemybrien will continue (the site has a mostly built station for some years but work has commenced to opening it up in recent weeks) creating more jobs.

Source;
    http://m.rte.ie/news/touch/2014/0703/628157-jobs/

A new station was also opened in Kilmeaden recently, Swift with a Mace store. Nice sized station too. So a few jobs opened up there.

Baush and Lomb have received an investment package to further strengthen their operations in Waterford.

Great to see some jobs being created here for a change. Badly needed and long may it continue. How many announcements is this in the last three years or so, does anyone recall?

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Yes it's great Sully. This Government is really delivering for Waterford, all us naysayers will be tucking into a big slice of humble pie today!

Now I'll switch off my sarcasm and say they are obviously most welcome but still a far cry from the x hundred jobs we hear being created in Dublin, Cork Limerick or Galway every other day. Yet you can be sure the Fine Gael lapdogs will be patting themselves on the back for weeks after these big announcements!

The exclamation mark at the end of your thread title says it all, 'political propaganda'.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

I thought these electronic cigarettes where soon to be banned.

That was obviously nonsense.

Good news all the same.

Apple Green is good anyway. Cant ship the Petrol Stations abroad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

/lights a cigar to celebrate....:o

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I don't know what that Vaping bunch are smoking if they think they can create 1000 more jobs in 12 months (growth of 1250%) - as per the article on thejournal: http://www.thejournal.ie/80-new-jobs-healthier-smoker-waterford-1551258-Jul2014/.

It's a bit distressing that you think announcements like this are deserving of high-fives all around, Sully. A petrol station opening is hardly a reason to get excited, unless of course you think Deli specialists are the new backbone to our economy. In the grand scheme of things, we have 200 highly paid staff at B+L being let go, with the remainder of them losing around 15% of their income, which would be a much larger % of their disposable income.

At this rate, maybe I'll start a thread when I get someone to cut the grass in my garden?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Teebor15 wrote: »
    Yes it's great Sully. This Government is really delivering for Waterford, all us naysayers will be tucking into a big slice of humble pie today!

Now I'll switch off my sarcasm and say they are obviously most welcome but still a far cry from the x hundred jobs we hear being created in Dublin, Cork Limerick or Galway every other day. Yet you can be sure the Fine Gael lapdogs will be patting themselves on the back for weeks after these big announcements!

The exclamation mark at the end of your thread title says it all, 'political propaganda'.

Where did I mention FG? Where did I mention the government? Nowhere. Quit with the doom and gloom, there was another thread here yesterday about jobs being announced and nobody jumped on it claiming it was political propaganda.

Waterford has been struggling for decades. We have threads bemoaning job losses and lack of job creation. Good news doesn't get a whimper. So I will do my best, as I have always done, to be positive and optimistic. I get up of my arse and do something to promote Waterford and create a positive feeling.

This new company is exporting to international countries and said they hope to hire at least 1k staff in the next 12 months if their plans work out.
    AdMMM wrote: »
    I don't know what that Vaping bunch are smoking if they think they can create 1000 more jobs in 12 months (growth of 1250%) - as per the article on thejournal: http://www.thejournal.ie/80-new-jobs-healthier-smoker-waterford-1551258-Jul2014/.

It's a bit distressing that you think announcements like this are deserving of high-fives all around, Sully. A petrol station opening is hardly a reason to get excited, unless of course you think Deli specialists are the new backbone to our economy. In the grand scheme of things, we have 200 highly paid staff at B+L being let go, with the remainder of them losing around 15% of their income, which would be a much larger % of their disposable income.

At this rate, maybe I'll start a thread when I get someone to cut the grass in my garden?

Any company that gets people back to work is a good thing. It boosts the local and national economy - which is badly needed. It has a knock on effect too, for suppliers that will be working with these new businesses.

I included the smaller announcements in a thread talking about the larger announcement of skilled jobs because it's all good news regardless. The country needs a vast mix of jobs. Applegreen are looking to take on 360 people in their new forecourts with an additional 250 temporary jobs for construction.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Sorry Sully but I just don't buy it. You are as transparent as a glasshouse at this stage. All your posts have a political motive and agenda behind them.

Where is the doom and gloom? I'm simply calling out your post for what it is that's all. If you read my next para you would have seen I welcome the jobs as much as the next person.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Teebor15 wrote: »
    Sorry Sully but I just don't buy it. You are as transparent as a glasshouse at this stage. All your posts have a political motive and agenda behind them.

Where is the doom and gloom? I'm simply calling out your post for what it is that's all. If you read my next para you would have seen I welcome the jobs as much as the next person.

All my post have a political motive? :D Well that's right craic, I must be very skilled and gifted! If I wanted this to be politically motivated I would have said that the government are delivering for Waterford, our TDs are working very hard, the South East action plan is working, the IDA are pulling their socks up and so on. Instead, I just said we had new jobs. Including a fecking filling station!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭Speak Now

What's up with the jobs in Waterford sticky thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Dum_Dum

More crumbs for Waterford.

Just enough to shut us up and keep a lid on civil disobedience. Not enough to be anything meaningful.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

Sully wrote: »
    All my post have a political motive? :D Well that's right craic, I must be very skilled and gifted! If I wanted this to be politically motivated I would have said that the government are delivering for Waterford, our TDs are working very hard, the South East action plan is working, the IDA are pulling their socks up and so on. Instead, I just said we had new jobs. Including a fecking filling station!

Are you a politician or something? If your as transparent as a glasshouse i must be blind.

Dum_Dum wrote: »

Just enough to shut us up and keep a lid on civil disobedience. Not enough to be anything meaningful.

You would swear the government conspired together with the IDA and the companies to create a few small bits for Waterford to keep us happy. There going to need to do a lot more for Waterford and the vast majority of us (including myself) are not happy. We need more to bring Waterford back to full life.
    Are you a politician or something? If your as transparent as a glasshouse i must be blind.

Nah, but I get slated here for supporting Fine Gael so some will slate me at any opportunity they get. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

You are definitely a bit too happy Sully for the scraps we are getting.

O Riain wrote: »
    You are definitely a bit too happy Sully for the scraps we are getting.

Positive news deserves to be highlighted. People jump all over bad news. I'm not even congratulating the government or making any reference to them.

s I said, I believe Waterford needs a lot more. But **** me if you think they naysayers, pessimists and anti-sully brigade is going to stop me from being positive about our great City, County and Country. I do my bit to be positive and do my bit to shout about Waterford and I have done for over 8 years through various initiatives and ongoing work. Those who sit on their chairs typing away can do their own thing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,156 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Dum_Dum wrote: »

That's one way of looking at it.

You could also argue Waterford getting a lot more smaller employers would be better than one big employer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Sully, even if you donated your bone marrow to a family member for a life saving operation some would still accuse you of political bias.

Damned if you do and damned if you don't.

You must just shake your head at some posts, I know I do.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

Some good news for a change. For the last 8 years its been non stop job losses with nothing to replace them. If reopening the IDA in Waterford which has been closed since 96 can bring a few more employers to waterford it might help turn the alarming high unemployment and emmigration for the majority of those in their 20's and 30's from the county.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stokolan

I thought these electronic cigarettes where soon to be banned.

That's the fear I would have with a company like that. If they do clamp down on E Cigarettes it could close as quick as it opened.

All the same its still good to see places opening.

Sully, even if you donated your bone marrow to a family member for a life saving operation some would still accuse you of political bias.

Damned if you do and damned if you don't.

You must just shake your head at some posts, I know I do.

Ah well to be fair, i'd only do that cause their Fine Gael. :pac:
    Stokolan wrote: »
    That's the fear I would have with a company like that. If they do clamp down on E Cigarettes it could close as quick as it opened.

All the same its still good to see places opening.

I think their target market isn't (or isn't just) within the EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

Following on from yesterday's announcement that a medical devices company is setting up here, another company has announced that they will be setting up a manufacturing base here with the creation of 80 jobs.

The manufacturing plant will see the immediate creation of 40 manufacturing positions as well as 40 jobs in its retail and distribution arm.

Also, Apple Green announced that construction work on the filling station in Lemybrien will continue (the site has a mostly built station for some years but work has commenced to opening it up in recent weeks) creating more jobs.

Source;
    http://m.rte.ie/news/touch/2014/0703/628157-jobs/

A new station was also opened in Kilmeaden recently, Swift with a Mace store. Nice sized station too. So a few jobs opened up there.

Baush and Lomb have received an investment package to further strengthen their operations in Waterford.

Great to see some jobs being created here for a change. Badly needed and long may it continue. How many announcements is this in the last three years or so, does anyone recall?

Gala opened in Kilmeaden.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭space2ground1

Good news alright! On a par with other good news in Ireland this week?

Here's the kind of good news in Cork this week!
    560 Jobs in Cork

More in Limerick!
    ‘Hundreds’ of jobs for Limerick in new operations centre

Sooo you see.. I'm not buying the happy here on the ministry of happy Waterford news forum. Take 4 people I know that lost their jobs in the last few years. All 4 have got temporary or permanent new jobs. Happiness is*!

* All of them are now working for less than half of their previous salaries and two are in Cork having moved their families altogether.

Apologies for de-railing the HAPPY though! In non FG land people are still struggling and no ramping up the delight at a company providing a tiny fraction of the jobs that have been announced this week elsewhere is going to overly impress anyone without an agenda.

I should've stuck to my promise not to engage with these FG threads. Sick of it. The place is flat broke because of the FG/Lab effort to priorities 4 cities in Ireland. Waterford isnt one of them.

Don't worry FGers.. I'm going.. Im going.

Good news alright! On a par with other good news in Ireland this week?

Here's the kind of good news in Cork this week!
    560 Jobs in Cork

More in Limerick!
    ‘Hundreds’ of jobs for Limerick in new operations centre

Sooo you see.. I'm not buying the happy here on the ministry of happy Waterford news forum. Take 4 people I know that lost their jobs in the last few years. All 4 have got temporary or permanent new jobs. Happiness is*!

* All of them are now working for less than half of their previous salaries and two are in Cork having moved their families altogether.

Apologies for de-railing the HAPPY though! In non FG land people are still struggling and no ramping up the delight at a company providing a tiny fraction of the jobs that have been announced this week elsewhere is going to overly impress anyone without an agenda.

I should've stuck to my promise not to engage with these FG threads. Sick of it. The place is flat broke because of the FG/Lab effort to priorities 4 cities in Ireland. Waterford isnt one of them.

Don't worry FGers.. I'm going.. Im going.

You know what? You're right. Stick the two fingers up and tell the companies looking at Waterford to go swing it until they provide hundreds of jobs. If not thousands of jobs. Sure, what would Waterford want with creating small employment? We only want big companies here, the smaller ones can feck awf.

(The Limerick link isn't offering 'hundreds' of jobs immediately. They hope to do so in the future. The company in question today are saying 'thousands' so going by your logic, Waterford is better off than Limerick this week)

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭space2ground1

It's good news. I said it was. I just don't like the way the forum seems to me to be used as a FG announcement section.

I presume you disagree. That's fine with me. Freedom of speech etc.

It's clear as day though in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

space2ground et all..

I'm assuming you have some concrete proof of all this said bias which you will be forwarding to me with immediate haste? As a Admin such things concern me greatly.

What's that? No? You just have unfounded claims and would like to simply sit around and snipe and moan? Oh, as an Admin, that sort of venomous forum destroying twaddle also concerns me.

So let me make this clear. On the off chance I happen to trundle upon much more of this BS from anyone here, they'll soon find themselves without any forum to ponder the political bias of. Now, how's that?

This post has been brought to you by the Waterford Communist Party.

Now back to good news for the area..

This new company is exporting to international countries and said they hope to hire at least 1k staff in the next 12 months if their plans work out.

At face value, yes, that's great news. But you can't just take these things at face value, you have to dig a bit deeper.

This is a company that are very small at the moment and are solely dealing in a substance that's in the crosshairs of the Government, much like legal highs were a few years ago, and are projecting a growth in headcount of 1250% in a year. What ever their "plan" may be, that's simply unrealistic.

Don't get excited about a "plan", get excited for what's realistically possible. Personally, I think it could be a false dawn, especially when Governments around the world start clamping down on e-cigs, or when the big tobacco companies start manufacturing this product themselves.
    Sully wrote:
    Any company that gets people back to work is a good thing. It boosts the local and national economy - which is badly needed. It has a knock on effect too, for suppliers that will be working with these new businesses.

From a very, very basic numbers perspective, yes, every job created creates a position of employment and gives that person the ability to spend their disposable income in the local and national economy. It also has the potential to take someone out of unemployment. Great news you might think!

But I don't think it's that simple.

You need to look at the types of jobs being lost and compare them to the jobs being created. If there's a gap in skills required, salaries paid and job security provided, then that has a negative effect on the region because people's spending power is reduced and they're going to have a harder time securing credit from lending institutions.

If there aren't jobs available to match people's skills, then they'll leave. When skilled people leave an area, it leaves a lasting effect, because most of the time they don't come back and the additional money that they earn throughout their career thanks to their skills, ends up being spent elsewhere.

I'm all for applauding job creation, but forgive me if I don't want to join this circle-jerk before actually critically evaluating what actual benefit these jobs will bring Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

You know what? You're right. Stick the two fingers up and tell the companies looking at Waterford to go swing it until they provide hundreds of jobs. If not thousands of jobs. Sure, what would Waterford want with creating small employment? We only want big companies here, the smaller ones can feck awf.

(The Limerick link isn't offering 'hundreds' of jobs immediately. They hope to do so in the future. The company in question today are saying 'thousands' so going by your logic, Waterford is better off than Limerick this week)

Good to see Waterford get jobs, badly needed. There's no doubt the region has been overlooked for years. Living in Limerick, I doubt any region has suffered more losses than Limerick, and it's only very recently we are getting jobs. I challenged Barry O Leary of the IDA a few years back on this, and also mentionned Waterford. Let's hope both regions continue to do well.

AdMMM wrote: »
    At face value, yes, that's great news. But you can't just take these things at face value, you have to dig a bit deeper.

This is a company that are very small at the moment and are solely dealing in a substance that's in the crosshairs of the Government, much like legal highs were a few years ago, and are projecting a growth in headcount of 1250% in a year. What ever their "plan" may be, that's simply unrealistic.

Don't get excited about a "plan", get excited for what's realistically possible. Personally, I think it could be a false dawn, especially when Governments around the world start clamping down on e-cigs, or when the big tobacco companies start manufacturing this product themselves.

I think I said this a few times, and my memory could be faulting, but there target market appears to be in China. It's only in the EU and in Ireland that focus is very much on these cigarettes. No doubt the market will become very competitive, like every product, and it will be up to each and every company trading in Waterford to remain competitive to keep their business alive. Nothing new there.
    From a very, very basic numbers perspective, yes, every job created creates a position of employment and gives that person the ability to spend their disposable income in the local and national economy. It also has the potential to take someone out of unemployment. Great news you might think!

But I don't think it's that simple.

You need to look at the types of jobs being lost and compare them to the jobs being created. If there's a gap in skills required, salaries paid and job security provided, then that has a negative effect on the region because people's spending power is reduced and they're going to have a harder time securing credit from lending institutions.

If there aren't jobs available to match people's skills, then they'll leave. When skilled people leave an area, it leaves a lasting effect, because most of the time they don't come back and the additional money that they earn throughout their career thanks to their skills, ends up being spent elsewhere.

I'm all for applauding job creation, but forgive me if I don't want to join this circle-jerk before actually critically evaluating what actual benefit these jobs will bring Waterford.

You raise some valid points. But regardless of whether it's John Halligan and Sinn Fein in government or Fianna Fail, a jobs announcement in Waterford deserves a welcome pat on the back and not to be surrounded in negativity because the company may not be competitive enough or isn't considered highly skilled enough. There is a huge element of shouting from the rooftops when any type of job is lost, skilled or not, but when a job is created people go very quiet. Negativity seems to win over positivity.

You know me long enough now to know my passion is for Waterford and I will do what I can to bring a bit of live and positivity back. I've put my money where my mouth is and put a lot of energy into it. If people want to remain pessimistic, that's their right but I won't be dragged down and i'll continue to shout from the rooftops.

You've put more than your fair share of blood, sweat and cold hard cash into promoting Waterford and Tramore, so I don't think anyone on this forum can criticise you there.

I just get a bit worried when it seems as if Waterford is content with getting crumbs. We continue to see more job announcements in the other cities, meaning Waterford is falling further behind them. We need to keep shouting from the rooftops to anyone that will listen and I just fear that when we stop doing that to pat ourselves on the back for a minor achievement, that it allows those other cities the opportunity to shout that little bit louder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

The fact that the Wild Atlantic Way stops at Cork says all you need to know about how Waterford is rated.

fiachr_a wrote: »
    The fact that the Wild Atlantic Way stops at Cork says all you need to know about how Waterford is rated.

With Thanks to Failte Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

The Applegreen at Lemybrien is flying along now, canopy and all up today. No real branding done yet but it actually looks like it could be open quite soon.