Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Care bags for homeless - your suggestions please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Recondite49

Ok folks so I've just been on eBay and ordered a job lot of nylon drawstring bags which are sturdy and large enough to hold everything without looking so valuable they'll be stolen.

The current working list of items is as follows:

Space blanket
    Bar of soap
    Toothbrush and toothpaste
    €5 Phone Card
    Information leaflet with useful numbers
    Pack of mints
    Small bottle mineral water
    Small pack of wipes
    Two stamped envelopes
    Four sheets writing paper
    Pen

Each bag works out at well under €20 and as time goes on I hope my friends and I can start buying in bulk to bring costs down further.

Many thanks to all for your contributions so far. Your responses have been very considered and it's clear you've all spoken from experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Joe Doe

Sounds like a great, noble project, would recommend volunteering initially just to get some more ideas and basic tips, aka 'R&D'. Then longer-term get the team going DIY, as guessing your leader wouldn't require a 6-figure CEO's salary. Will join, once the aul lotto numbers come up, (any day now....) Having travelled, worked and backpacked across the 4 corners of the earth, from the near artic, to deserted tropical islands, to metropolises, could suggest this:

PROPOSAL: Total initial full pack outlay expenditure: €40/£33 ea
    //////////////

SOURCE: 'ALL' these items are usually available in the various €1/£1/$1 stores:

Essential reoccurring, weekly '$5' supply packs (food & water)
    =============
    x6 cereal bars €/£1
    x6 bottles water €/£1
    x1 (or more) 'breakfasts-in-a-tin' €/£1.ea
    1.5kg oats * €/£2

then, Every 3 mths or so:
    =============

utensils & nutrition
    * 2l plastic airtight lunchbox for storage €/£1
    cheap light fold-up nylon backpack (not drawstring type) €/£1+
    x60 multi-vits+minerals+iron €/£1
    x30 Vitamin C+Zinc €/£1
    'plastic bodied' tin opener €1/£1
    enamel Metal camping mug €/£1
    enamel deep edge plate (can be heated) €/£1

shelter & clothing
    waterproof tarpin €/£1
    waterproof rain anorak €/£1
    space blanket €/£1
    sun/rain hat €/£1
    or sunglasses+case €/£2

hygiene
    mini First Aid Kit €/£1
    wetwipes €/£1
    mini deodorant €/£1
    dry shampoo €/£1
    travel/foldable Toothbrush €/£1
    Toothpaste €/£1
    mini travel sized bottled liquid soaps (not soapbar) €/£1 per pack
    - soapbar is fine if you have a soap dish...

Optional:
    Watch/Travel Alarm €/£1
    'keyring' Pen & A6 Paper. €/£1
    small led 'solar' keyring torch €/£1
    10m paracord for securing items/anorak/keyring €/£1

SOURCE: specialist outdoors/travelshop/amazon
    Plastic 'Sporks' (fork/spoon/knife combo) €/£3

SOURCE: Primark
    x6 socks {FullMetalJacket had a great scene where the General over emphasised keeping the aul feet dry in 'nam, as the single most important thing} €/£2

SOURCE: DIY/DTP
    A4 folded laminated 'info sheet'.. DIY @ est cost <€/£0.50ea
    A4 folded laminated local maps.. DIY @ est cost <€/£0.50ea

SOURCE: Usually free, by request of publishers
    A 'Robbins 'Awaken the giant within', it's pretty basic CBT - that may help in progression to the higher levels of Maslow's 'hierarchy of needs'.

note: vouchers/tickets/stamps/call-cards etc could be traded/bartered for cash (where there is motivation to do so).

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

Ooka
    I work in low threshold homeless services , in all honesty donate clothes like hoodies , socks and underwear directly to your local charity.You can donate food to foodbanks if you want , food provision is ok in Ireland , but if I were you judging by the way you are motivated , volunteer.

Going back a long way now.was homeless for a while.no charity ever offered me anything...cynical as I am,donating to charity massages the conscience ,but doesn't always reach the people who need it. If you want to help,think this guy has the right idea.

zoe 3619 wrote: »
    Ooka

Going back a long way now.was homeless for a while.no charity ever offered me anything...cynical as I am,donating to charity massages the conscience ,but doesn't always reach the people who need it. If you want to help,think this guy has the right idea.

I'm sorry to hear you were homeless Zoe but am glad you're in a better place now. I really appreciate you taking the time to look over the list because as someone who has been there, you'll know the difference between what's good for homelessness and what's good for a camping trip.

I don't want to wander too far off topic but as much as I admire charitable organisations I've always thought they're run on the basis of liberal guilt. Donating your cast off goods and clothes is all well and fine but it's not exactly the most altruistic thing anyone ever did.

There are also people who naively give cash to the homeless which of course prevents them from coming up with a long term solution to the problem. It's my hope we can provide them with something that gives them a little dignity and hopefully the ability to find work.

Joe Doe wrote: »
    Sounds like a great, noble project, would recommend volunteering initially just to get some more ideas and basic tips, aka 'R&D'. Then longer-term get the team going DIY, as guessing your leader wouldn't require a 6-figure CEO's salary. Will join, once the aul lotto numbers come up, (any day now....) Having travelled, worked and backpacked across the 4 corners of the earth, from the near artic, to deserted tropical islands, to metropolises, could suggest this:

PROPOSAL: Total initial full pack outlay expenditure: €40/£33 ea
    //////////////

SOURCE: 'ALL' these items are usually available in the various €1/£1/$1 stores:

Essential reoccurring, weekly '$5' supply packs (food & water)
    =============
    x6 cereal bars €/£1
    x6 bottles water €/£1
    x1 (or more) 'breakfasts-in-a-tin' €/£1.ea
    1.5kg oats * €/£2

then, Every 3 mths or so:
    =============

utensils & nutrition
    * 2l plastic airtight lunchbox for storage €/£1
    cheap light fold-up nylon backpack (not drawstring type) €/£1+
    x60 multi-vits+minerals+iron €/£1
    x30 Vitamin C+Zinc €/£1
    'plastic bodied' tin opener €1/£1
    enamel Metal camping mug €/£1
    enamel deep edge plate (can be heated) €/£1

shelter & clothing
    waterproof tarpin €/£1
    waterproof rain anorak €/£1
    space blanket €/£1
    sun/rain hat €/£1
    or sunglasses+case €/£2

hygiene
    mini First Aid Kit €/£1
    wetwipes €/£1
    mini deodorant €/£1
    dry shampoo €/£1
    travel/foldable Toothbrush €/£1
    Toothpaste €/£1
    mini travel sized bottled liquid soaps (not soapbar) €/£1 per pack
    - soapbar is fine if you have a soap dish...

Optional:
    Watch/Travel Alarm €/£1
    'keyring' Pen & A6 Paper. €/£1
    small led 'solar' keyring torch €/£1
    10m paracord for securing items/anorak/keyring €/£1

SOURCE: specialist outdoors/travelshop/amazon
    Plastic 'Sporks' (fork/spoon/knife combo) €/£3

SOURCE: Primark
    x6 socks {FullMetalJacket had a great scene where the General over emphasised keeping the aul feet dry in 'nam, as the single most important thing} €/£2

SOURCE: DIY/DTP
    A4 folded laminated 'info sheet'.. DIY @ est cost <€/£0.50ea
    A4 folded laminated local maps.. DIY @ est cost <€/£0.50ea

SOURCE: Usually free, by request of publishers
    A 'Robbins 'Awaken the giant within', it's pretty basic CBT - that may help in progression to the higher levels of Maslow's 'hierarchy of needs'.

note: vouchers/tickets/stamps/call-cards etc could be traded/bartered for cash (where there is motivation to do so).

Thank you Joe, you've obviously put a lot of thought into this and I'm very envious you're so well traveled!

I agree with you about the bar soap. Do you think that perhaps a little bottle of hand sanitiser might go down better than liquid soap? That way they wouldn't need running water to get the hands clean and if they do, so much the better.

As an alternative to the mug/bottled water do you think it might be an idea to get some of those screw top aluminium water bottles? I've seen them before in the Euro stores and of course we could fill them with water on the day we'll use them.

Re: socks I did see some the other day but only in sizes 4-7 - I think we will have to have separate bags for men and women after all. Incidentally wasn't that line from Lt. Dan in Forrest Gump?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Handing people a bag with generic stuff in it is all well and good, but it's no better as part of a long term approach than anything else.

The most valuable thing you can give to a homeless person is your time. Don't cod yourself into thinking you can just hand out bags and it's help. It won't. You have to get to know the people before you can decide what way to help.

Some would give you their own coat just to have someone speak give them a cup of tea and speak with them as a human, not as a homeless person. Some won't want to talk, but they'll tell you right out what one thing would make the biggest difference to them, be it a pair of brandless runners and some thick socks, a raincoat or a few pairs of underpants.

If you want to make a difference, you'll have to pick just a few people to help, in some small way. Put your time and effort into them and try to spread your idea around, to inspire others to do the same.

I'm not trying to discourage you. I say well done to you and your mates, but be realistic. Find someone you can each just get to know in some small way, and make an actual difference to them. The SVP or Focus are good places to contact first and foremost to find out how to actually get to know something about the homeless and what will REALLY make a difference. It needs to be individuals you try to help, not a collective.

Zoe there for example, I bet when she was homeless could put her finger on one or two things that she REALLY would have been grateful for, much more than the gesture of a bag of diluted items she might have been okay without.

Just my thoughts, but good luck to you either way lads.

Handing people a bag with generic stuff in it is all well and good, but it's no better as part of a long term approach than anything else.

The most valuable thing you can give to a homeless person is your time. Don't cod yourself into thinking you can just hand out bags and it's help. It won't. You have to get to know the people before you can decide what way to help.

Some would give you their own coat just to have someone speak give them a cup of tea and speak with them as a human, not as a homeless person. Some won't want to talk, but they'll tell you right out what one thing would make the biggest difference to them, be it a pair of brandless runners and some thick socks, a raincoat or a few pairs of underpants.

If you want to make a difference, you'll have to pick just a few people to help, in some small way. Put your time and effort into them and try to spread your idea around, to inspire others to do the same.

I'm not trying to discourage you. I say well done to you and your mates, but be realistic. Find someone you can each just get to know in some small way, and make an actual difference to them. The SVP or Focus are good places to contact first and foremost to find out how to actually get to know something about the homeless and what will REALLY make a difference. It needs to be individuals you try to help, not a collective.

Zoe there for example, I bet when she was homeless could put her finger on one or two things that she REALLY would have been grateful for, much more than the gesture of a bag of diluted items she might have been okay without.

Just my thoughts, but good luck to you either way lads.

Hi BreadNBuddha,

In the first instance, this idea is certainly not my own, it's been implemented in a number of cities around the world both by private individuals and charities with great success. No one is 'codding' anyone. Please feel free to check out the links above and research the topic yourself if you'd like more information.

This initiative has been put together by myself and a few colleagues precisely because we lack the sufficient time to volunteer for organisations due to the long hours and shift patterns of our job.

In terms of effectiveness, there isn't really a way to measure this. I do hope if the homeless give us some feedback about which items are helpful we'll take this on board but we also have to take expenses into account and we can't allow them anything that's potentially harmful or illegal. An excellent case in point is to do with wool blankets - I'd love to give these away but haven't found a cheap supplier yet, plus they wouldn't fit inside the bags we have in mind, hence space blanket.

As you saw yourself, we've the benefit of speaking with someone who has herself been homeless and of course the expertise of Survivalists who by definition are able to make do with very little.

Properly assembled and distributed, these bags will make a real difference to people's lives and while I applaud anyone who wants to sit and have a cup of tea with the homeless or volunteer at a shelter, we're only in a position to donate resources, not time.

I'd also direct your attention to my original post where I said I didn't want to start a discussion on the merits of helping the homeless. If you have ideas about donating time to homeless people, please start this in a separate thread - this was a request for inventory not an opportunity to share your opinion on whether you think this is a good idea in the first place.

Well, without wanting to derail your thread, I think it's only fair I point out that you're the one suggesting in effect that charities are a salve for a guilty conscience. I'm not saying that's what you're at, but the way you're treating any constructive criticism of your approach would leave you open to such claims.

If you really want to make a difference, you have to make it personal. You can't do that unless you get to know the real people and their individual needs. If all you want to do is put 'survivalist' packing lists into bags, fine. Go ahead. Feel good about it. Why not.

If all you can spare is internet/euro shop buying time, packing stuff, delivering it etc., of course you won't possibly be able to spare 20 minutes to chat with a homeless person, to find out that they'd really like to shave every day, have a haircut every 6 weeks that doesn't make them look like a prisoner, or have a tin of brown boot polish and a shoebrush. Better to give them a space blanket, a water bottle and a few muesli bars, right?

I met a homeless guy sleeping at the back of an office carpark beside the canal in Rathmines 18 months ago. He was tidying up rubbish, and told me politely that the owners (a completely different charity as it happens) didn't mind him keeping out of the way there during the day as he tidied up, was friendly and polite and just read books. As I was leaving the carpark to go to my meeting he asked me if by any chance I might bring him a cup of tea on my way back to my car if I was at all able to.

This guy had his problems. It was clear to see. I brought him his tea along with a couple of packs of cheese and ham and a sliced pan. I asked him if there was just one thing that he was able to ask someone for that day, what would it be. He told me a waterproof coat that would keep him warm. I told him that if he was there on Saturday morning at 9am he'd get what he wanted. He was there. I gave him a coat my wife picked up for 6 quid in Oxfam, specifically for him. I've never seen a man so happy.

He told me some of his story, which I won't repeat here. Bits were what you might expect, others not so much so. His story was his story. It was obvious that he was ashamed to be homeless, truly ashamed of himself. I asked him would he be there the next Saturday and would he still have his 'new' coat. He said he would, and he was.

For a few weeks, I brought this guy specific things, things that I only knew he truly valued, because I'd asked. A pair of shoes. Proper shoes, not loafers or runners. Corduroy pants, specifically dark brown so they'd look cleaner for longer he said. Dark boot socks, long, woolen. Polish for his shoes. Shirts.

The weeks went on, and while nothing I did would ever do anything about the reasons he ended up where he was, he now had a good coat, clean (at least looking) pants. Polished shoes. I gave him a pack of disposable razors and some shaving gel, mouthwash and toothbrushes.

The man had a chance to take some sort of pride if you'll call it that in how he looked each day. With a black beanie cap and scarf and a pair of gloves, you'd not have any reason to know he was homeless, at least not from how he looked. That's what he wanted, and why wouldn't he?

I think I spent nearly 100 a month on him for bits and pieces for nearly 3 months, and then he was gone. No idea what happened to him, if he's okay or not, but I know he was genuinely grateful that I wasn't giving him just a handout, but something that made a PERSONAL difference.

Anyway, on with you and do what you think is best. I mean no disrespect, but I think you're missing a chance to do something special for someone. Even if you don't have the time, the local homeless charity would be able to give you a list of items to pack for a particular profile of 'client' they work with. Sure look, all they might want is a toy and a Hallmark card to post to their kid, or a good book to read, a pair of sunglasses, a nail clippers and a comb, a good leather belt for their trousers, some dandruff shampoo, a waterproof case for their phone or whatever. You'll never get any of that stuff if you don't ask, and that's the point.

Well, without wanting to derail your thread, I think it's only fair I point out that you're the one suggesting in effect that charities are a salve for a guilty conscience. I'm not saying that's what you're at, but the way you're treating any constructive criticism of your approach would leave you open to such claims.

If you really want to make a difference, you have to make it personal. You can't do that unless you get to know the real people and their individual needs. If all you want to do is put 'survivalist' packing lists into bags, fine. Go ahead. Feel good about it. Why not.

If all you can spare is internet/euro shop buying time, packing stuff, delivering it etc., of course you won't possibly be able to spare 20 minutes to chat with a homeless person, to find out that they'd really like to shave every day, have a haircut every 6 weeks that doesn't make them look like a prisoner, or have a tin of brown boot polish and a shoebrush. Better to give them a space blanket, a water bottle and a few muesli bars, right?

I met a homeless guy sleeping at the back of an office carpark beside the canal in Rathmines 18 months ago. He was tidying up rubbish, and told me politely that the owners (a completely different charity as it happens) didn't mind him keeping out of the way there during the day as he tidied up, was friendly and polite and just read books. As I was leaving the carpark to go to my meeting he asked me if by any chance I might bring him a cup of tea on my way back to my car if I was at all able to.

This guy had his problems. It was clear to see. I brought him his tea along with a couple of packs of cheese and ham and a sliced pan. I asked him if there was just one thing that he was able to ask someone for that day, what would it be. He told me a waterproof coat that would keep him warm. I told him that if he was there on Saturday morning at 9am he'd get what he wanted. He was there. I gave him a coat my wife picked up for 6 quid in Oxfam, specifically for him. I've never seen a man so happy.

He told me some of his story, which I won't repeat here. Bits were what you might expect, others not so much so. His story was his story. It was obvious that he was ashamed to be homeless, truly ashamed of himself. I asked him would he be there the next Saturday and would he still have his 'new' coat. He said he would, and he was.

For a few weeks, I brought this guy specific things, things that I only knew he truly valued, because I'd asked. A pair of shoes. Proper shoes, not loafers or runners. Corduroy pants, specifically dark brown so they'd look cleaner for longer he said. Dark boot socks, long, woolen. Polish for his shoes. Shirts.

The weeks went on, and while nothing I did would ever do anything about the reasons he ended up where he was, he now had a good coat, clean (at least looking) pants. Polished shoes. I gave him a pack of disposable razors and some shaving gel, mouthwash and toothbrushes.

The man had a chance to take some sort of pride if you'll call it that in how he looked each day. With a black beanie cap and scarf and a pair of gloves, you'd not have any reason to know he was homeless, at least not from how he looked. That's what he wanted, and why wouldn't he?

I think I spent nearly 100 a month on him for bits and pieces for nearly 3 months, and then he was gone. No idea what happened to him, if he's okay or not, but I know he was genuinely grateful that I wasn't giving him just a handout, but something that made a PERSONAL difference.

Anyway, on with you and do what you think is best. I mean no disrespect, but I think you're missing a chance to do something special for someone. Even if you don't have the time, the local homeless charity would be able to give you a list of items to pack for a particular profile of 'client' they work with. Sure look, all they might want is a toy and a Hallmark card to post to their kid, or a good book to read, a pair of sunglasses, a nail clippers and a comb, a good leather belt for their trousers, some dandruff shampoo, a waterproof case for their phone or whatever. You'll never get any of that stuff if you don't ask, and that's the point.

I'm sorry BreadNBuddha, I did say specifically at the start of this thread I don't have any interest in hearing people's opinions on whether this was a good/bad idea or not, I'm not going to read your reply. That said you've been added to my' ignore' list so feel free to knock yourself out.

Ignorance is bliss.

Incidentally many thanks to those of you who did take the time and trouble to read my request and provide helpful information. The bags have been ordered and I hope to post a few photos next week if anyone is interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Incidentally many thanks to those of you who did take the time and trouble to read my request and provide helpful information. The bags have been ordered and I hope to post a few photos next week if anyone is interested.

Make sure you have your own first aid kit , with a rebreather mask , use any spare time you have to refresh your First Aid , CPR training.
    Do some training around Blood Bourne viruses , needle stick injury and get your HEP shot.
    Ask somebody to talk to you about opiate overdose and benzo fits.

Good luck.

Make sure you have your own first aid kit , with a rebreather mask , use any spare time you have to refresh your First Aid , CPR training.
    Do some training around Blood Bourne viruses , needle stick injury and get your HEP shot.
    Ask somebody to talk to you about opiate overdose and benzo fits.

Good luck.

Thanks corner, of course any good prepper should be taking First Aid courses anyway. I've been very negligent in this area so will do as you suggest.

Get a Hoffman knife too.

Well folks I dropped off my first bag today.

It was to a homeless girl to whom I'd previously given a burger. She sits outside a supermarket not far from where I live.

The heartbreaking part was that as soon as she saw I was walking towards her and said 'hey', she made as if to move away. She thought I was trying to move her on.

I'm a tall man and have a dodgy beard, so perhaps I might have frightened her a bit looming over her. However, it was very sobering to think that the automatic assumption of a homeless person is that if a stranger approaches them it is to get rid of them.

Thank you once again to all of you for your comments and suggestions for the bag, I took on board everything you had to say in putting these together and hope there'll be many more to come. If you have any further suggestions for inventory, please feel free to post them here.

Well folks I dropped off my first bag today.

It was to a homeless girl to whom I'd previously given a burger. She sits outside a supermarket not far from where I live.

The heartbreaking part was that as soon as she saw I was walking towards her and said 'hey', she made as if to move away. She thought I was trying to move her on.

I'm a tall man and have a dodgy beard, so perhaps I might have frightened her a bit looming over her. However, it was very sobering to think that the automatic assumption of a homeless person is that if a stranger approaches them it is to get rid of them.

Thank you once again to all of you for your comments and suggestions for the bag, I took on board everything you had to say in putting these together and hope there'll be many more to come. If you have any further suggestions for inventory, please feel free to post them here.

Well done .I think I told you I work in homeless services , if you have any questions ask away.

Hi Corner,

Thank you so much for letting me know, I'd like to send you a message later on today if you don't mind.

Hi Corner,

Thank you so much for letting me know, I'd like to send you a message later on today if you don't mind.

Yes , no problem.