Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks concerts cancelled - **READ FIRST POST FOR MOD NOTES**

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

bumper234 wrote: »
    And HUNDREDS of them.were, what's your point? A few were dodgy so they should have all been ignored?

And it was a tiny % you already know this so why keep.saying a large %?
    In fairness to wishiwas Keegan said today that the guards reckoned only 64% were valid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

nm wrote: »
    There goes all workplaces and businesses in the country.

Cuckoo, just another day in the mind of Dan_Solo

were you denied planning permission for a sarcasm satellite? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

There goes all workplaces and businesses in the country.

Cuckoo, just another day in the mind of Dan_Solo
    And some day you might even cop that I was using somebody else's logic to come to that conclusion from the start.
    Well done. You've just backed MY case. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

I think it's disgraceful that, considering Keegan knew all along that his decision was made on the assumption that the resident complaints were legitimate, that he did not agree to a judicial review considering that we all now know, as does he, that quite a large percentage of them are fraudulent.

Percentages are not your thing are they./
    Firstly you fraudulently asserted that 7% of the population missed out on this event, now you claim that 11 out of almost 400 is a LARGE percentage of almost 400.
    Back to school for you, D- :D

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    In fairness to wishiwas Keegan said today that the guards reckoned only 64% were valid
    They said they have verified 64% I thought. The rest remain unverified apart from the 11 that have been proven false.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

And HUNDREDS of them.were, what's your point? A few were dodgy so they should have all been ignored?

And it was a tiny % you already know this so why keep.saying a large %?

At the moment we only know that two thirds are legit and over a third is up in air with regards to legitimacy, which is why I feel Keegan should have allowed a judicial review to go ahead uncontested, for the simple reason, the very reason that grounds on which he based his decsion not to grant the licences had become unsound at best and highly questionable with regards to it's legitimacy at worst. If this was the UK, he would have been out the door once they discovered the first forgery. In this country.. we blame a country and western singer for the mess as he wasn't as flexible as we would have liked. Kinda like blaming the ground for not being soft enough when you fall down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Which is still HUNDREDS of legit objections.....numbers NEVER seen before by DCC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

2/3 of objections have been verified as legitimate by An Garda Siochana. That is 258 valid objections

And no more than those should ever have counted, as the group(s) behind them were shown to be committing forgery all objections should have been validated before being accepted and counted.

Which is still HUNDREDS of legit objections.....numbers NEVER seen before by DCC!
    Yeah, but they're just, you know, facts.

Hundreds in caps is still just 258. Not many in the scheme of things and scale of the benefit.

Help me out here , but isn't 64% a majority of almost 2:1:confused:

At the moment we only know that two thirds are legit and over a third is up in air with regards to legitimacy, which is why I feel Keegan should have allowed a judicial review to go ahead uncontested, for the simple reason, the very reason that grounds on which he based his decsion not to grant the licences had become unsound at best and highly questionable with regards to it's legitimacy at worst. If this was the UK, he would have been out the door once they discovered the first forgery. In this country.. we blame a country and western singer for the mess as he wasn't as flexible as we would have liked. Kinda like blaming the ground for not being soft enough when you fall down.

And if in a weeks time it turns out that all but 11 were legit? Are you still going to claim a large % when you have no idea how many (apart from 11 confirmed) are frauds?

And no more than those should ever have counted, as the group(s) behind them were shown to be committing forgery all objections should have been validated before being accepted and counted.
    Aaaaand.... so? Why would more be needed? You have been told multiple times already, as per usual here, that no objections are actually required at all for a rejection to occur.

Help me out here , but isn't 64% a majority of almost 2:1:confused:

What's majority got to do with anything? The majority of CP residents did not object to the concerts at all

Thats so far, the rest could be legit it just takes time.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Aaaaand.... so? Why would more be needed? You have been told multiple times already, as per usual here, that no objections are actually required at all for a rejection to occur.

What does that have to do with the point I made?
    None? Standard Dan post so

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    They said they have verified 64% I thought. The rest remain unverified apart from the 11 that have been proven false.
    No, what they said was the guards have spoken to about 200 of the objectors. 64% of those were verified as valid. They had no reason to believe that this figure would change.

Hundreds in caps is still just 258. Not many in the scheme of things and scale of the benefit.

Not if even one of them was from the secretary of a residents group with 1,000 members.
    Objections can be made on behalf of an organized grouping, as was the case at the time of the original planning permission and An Bord Pleanala appeal.:)

Ah so now you're back to the "**** the residents let's think of all the money and the people who want Garthy" attitude.

Which is the MINIMUM number that are legit, can possibly represent far more than 258 people, none of which are technically required for a rejection, and massive with regards to a number of objections received by a local council.
    Squash.

Thats so far, the rest could be legit it just takes time.

Could be isn't good enough, when we know there's forgery going on they can no longer be taken at face value

Its approximately 13 times as many objections as any other Croke Park event.
    Keoghan said they typically get 20.

No doubting the depth of feeling

What's majority got to do with anything? The majority of CP residents did not object to the concerts at all
    The majority of Irish people didn't want to see Garth Brooks either, so maybe he should have just ****ed off in the first place? LOL.

Could be isn't good enough, when we know there's forgery going on they can no longer be taken at face value

So all objections should be binned?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,512 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The GAA, Croke Park and Aiken all took issue with the fact that he supported the application for five concerts and gave them the distinct impression that all five concerts would be granted licences once the residents were happy. He lied saying he did not do that, but now has very slyly changed his tune and so we now know that the GAA, Aiken and Croke Park were all telling the truth. He can quote that comment on the RTE news from the GAA as much as he likes, but it was made in the context of Croke Park doing WHATEVER it needed to please all concerned: the residents and DCC and fair play to Dooley from pointing that out also.

Am I right in saying that Keegan never gave any indication there was a problem with the concerts? I notice he says he never gave any assurances but he doesn't seem to have indicated that there was a strong chance some of the concerts wouldn't have been allowed either. If so, it's understandable that all parties concerned (Brooks, Aiken, the GAA etc) were stunned when his decision was announced.

What does that have to do with the point I made?
    None? Standard Dan post so
    Pretending reality and logic don't apply to his posts.
    Standard nm post so.

No, what they said was the guards have spoken to about 200 of the objectors. 64% of those were verified as valid. They had no reason to believe that this figure would change.

So 128 verified objections.

Why is crazy Dan shouting capitalised minimum 256 I wonder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

For those that missed today's meeting, for some reason Big Tom, Jim Sheridan and Gilbert O'Sullivan were allowed to ask questions for awhile and so I've removed their offerings and uploaded around 37 minutes of what was left of the proceedings. Highlights of Aiken on Tuesday and Keegan on Wednesday can be found in this post.

Ah c'mon - the guards have spoken to the people who made these objections and they confirmed they were objecting.

Of course they can be taken into account.

What about Paraic Duffy saying on the news that the GAA accepted that 8 concerts was too much for the residents to take.
    Even the director general of the GAA knows the screwed up and publicly admitted it

How do you know?:confused: