Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks concerts cancelled - **READ FIRST POST FOR MOD NOTES**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Happyman42 wrote: »
    PPS numbers can be falsified too.

Eh, so can driving licenses and passports.

Memo to the Dublin Airport Authority: Pointless asking for passports any longer, as they can be falsified.
    The answer back system is the most effective and less costly way of doing it and there is no doubt that over 50% of the objections where real in this case.

Are you genuinely making that point? Seriously?

Fraudulent complaints made to Dublin City Council informed a decision with resulting in concerts being cancelled which 160,000 people were due to attend and you defend the system which allowed it? It's a disgrace that it happened and that system will be changed. What an absurd opinion. Maybe you have your head in the sand with what caused this mess but not everyone does. Keep blaming the performer. You're so right.
    Allow professionals to do their jobs with all the checks and balances in place and there is no problem.

"No problem"? Really.

Well, can you please tell the class then, why it is that there is a Garda investigation underway?

I mean, if there is "no problem" with the complaint verification system, then what is that all about?

It is amazing that you continue to attempt to defame Mr Keegan because he insists on acting inside the law.

Quote where If 'defamed' him please.

Not looking for a synopsis of what my opinions on him are now. Actually quote precisely what you are referring to. Cheers.

currins_02 wrote: »
    The link is on here earlier somewhere were one of the web news sites (journal.ie, breakingnews.ie, liberty etc) can't remember which got an economist to independently forecast the economic loss and came up with a figure of €45m.

I would contend that the figure did not seem to account for many of peripheral industries, like for instance passenger transport. I have posted before my boss (one small operator - 7 vehicles) is out €14,000 in sales plus associated advertising costs. I saw somewhere that Farrelly's of Granard who have a specialist concert patron division were out €30,000 in sales.

Here you go:

http://www.thejournal.ie/could-garth-brooks-have-brought-1561519-Jul2014/
    It should also be noted that I have seen estimates of 25,000-30,000 tickets sold in Northern Ireland (outside the 70,000 sold abroad if reports are to be believed) and if they don't travel but spend their money at home it is not simply displaced in the Irish economy. The displacement of the spend does little for the smaller industries directly affected by this. One of my cancelled patrons spending €100 on a meal at home this weekend does not make up for my lost wage, my employers lost work etc.

Here's the geographical breakdown of ticket sales:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/70000-garth-brooks-fans-to-travel-from-overseas-for-croker-shows-258724.html

• Registered Users Posts: 21,341 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

But not in my account:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

JRant wrote: »
    With Leslie Nielsen playing the Aiken role.

I believe that role has already been cast to Krusty the Klown :D

Like the handball alley members give a single fück about you and your concerts or lack there of.

You seem to be getting more angry as the concert date gets closer.

The thread will ASSPLODE on Friday evening, the Garthy regs in here will be holding a skype candlelit vigil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    This is the reason I stopped posting in this thread a while ago.

It is full of pro Garth posters saying their opinion is actually fact, with no supporting evidence.

LOL.

The other way around more like it.

'Fat Girth is just selfish and washed up so he is and he does be taking money from the sicks and the dying'

• Registered Users Posts: 38,290 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Would Bruce Springsteen have cancelled all the shows ??

Friday is going to be so depressing now, had the day booked off work so the option of working is gone, the option of going to dublin is gone and im working early sat so cant go on the piss lol. thanks garth lol (still love your music)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Would Bruce Springsteen have cancelled all the shows ??

Friday is going to be so depressing now, had the day booked off work so the option of working is gone, the option of going to dublin is gone and im working early sat so cant go on the piss lol. thanks garth lol (still love your music)

I was due to attend for 4 and I had so much planned around these concerts for this weekend for during the mornings and afternoon like hitting Grafton street and into the Cath Kidston shop and the Disney shop and then off by Grafton street to Powerscourt Townhouse. An afternoon showing of Riverdance at the Gaiety. The zoo another day. Visiting the Book of Kells and the museum and gallery. And then for the evenings and the highlight of it all - the GB concerts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

FYP ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,961 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Memo to the Dublin Airport Authority: Pointless asking for passports any longer, as they can be falsified.

Fraudulent complaints made to Dublin City Council informed a decision with resulting in concerts being cancelled which 160,000 people were due to attend and you defend the system which allowed it? It's a disgrace that it happened and that system will be changed. What an absurd opinion. Maybe you have your head in the sand with what caused this mess but not everyone does. Keep blaming the performer. You're so right.

"No problem"? Really.

Well, can you please tell the class then, why it is that there is a Garda investigation underway?

I mean, if there is "no problem" with the complaint verification system, then what is that all about?

Epic fail, so much wrong with one single post.

So fraudulent submissions informed the councils decision now.

Next thing you be telling us is that Aiken & Co had no idea there would be issues with the licensing process.

Wonderful wishiwasa.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Farty88

Its not Garth brooks fault the man is a legend and its unreal how stupid the irish government and Dublin co council is they made fools out of the whole country to the world's media and made a real Gob****e out of Garth brooks all over 5 concerts 2 of which were not approved but what's the big deal like the country needs a lift not more depression country is down a ball of money now which could of helped our cause a great deal like tourism and hotels trade etc but sure look if the country wants to live in the dark ages let them off

Quote where If 'defamed' him please.

Not looking for a synopsis of what my opinions on him are now. Actually quote precisely what you are referring to. Cheers.

I suppose I can do everyone a favour and clear up this matter.

One of your gems from 4 days ago.
    The man is a liar.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,274 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Farty88 wrote: »
    Its not Garth brooks fault the man is a legend and its unreal how stupid the irish government and Dublin co council is they made fools out of the whole country to the world's media and made a real Gob****e out of Garth brooks all over 5 concerts 2 of which were not approved but what's the big deal like the country needs a lift not more depression country is down a ball of money now which could of helped our cause a great deal like tourism and hotels trade etc but sure look if the country wants to live in the dark ages let them off

You do realise he was allowed play 4 concerts but he couldn't bother his arse? Of course it's his fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Are we allowed a silent disco in croke park this weekend or will it upset the residents.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Are we allowed a silent disco in croke park this weekend or will it upset the residents.
    No loud colours !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,767 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Have you applied for a license?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

That is a wonderful tangent but what has it got to do with GB and the concerts.

There is a facebook page for Casement Park. Eamon O Brien is also on facebook. He approached casement park residents notifying them of his association. He's meddling in the developments for Belfast and Cork.

He has a severe hatred for the GAA.

It shows that there was an organisation behind the objections to hit the GAA rather than geniune objections to the gigs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I thought you were never going near croke park or Dublin ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

There is a difference between writing down somebody's (other than your own) PPS number and forging a passport. I would have 8 or 9 people's numbers on file here who have worked for me.

Yes I am. Simple system.
    NO THEY DIDN'T, we know there are genuine complaints and it was they, that informed the decision. Jaysus H. Keegan told McKenna that he was supportive of the idea if the 'residents concerns where addressed'. Everyone on here knew there where problems...even Aiken knew.

"No problem"? Really.

Because DCC passed objections they found to suspicious or false onto the Gardai. Not having an in-house SWAT team themselves it was a wise and professional decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Mod: You were banned from the last thread on this subject. The same applies to this one. Don't post in this thread again please.

There is a facebook page for Casement Park. Eamon O Brien is also on facebook. He approached casement park residents notifying them of his association. He's meddling in the developments for Belfast and Cork.

He has a severe hatred for the GAA.

It shows that there was an organisation behind the objections to hit the GAA rather than geniune objections to the gigs.

Then start a new thread on it then.

Mr O'Brien didn't refuse to grant the 2 licenses and he certainly didn't cancel the 3 remaining gigs.

The only thing it shows is that your not particularly fond of the chap.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    There is a difference between writing down somebody's (other than your own) PPS number and forging a passport. I would have 8 or 9 people's numbers on file here who have worked for me.

Yes I am. Simple system.

NO THEY DIDN'T, we know there are genuine complaints and it was they, that informed the decision. Jaysus H. Keegan told McKenna that he was supportive of the idea if the 'residents concerns where addressed'. Everyone on here knew there where problems...even Aiken knew.

Because DCC passed objections they found to suspicious or false onto the Gardai. Not having an in-house SWAT team themselves it was a wise and professional decision.

Go away out of that with your facts and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Nahhhhhhh, I've read a few more posts here today, and I still can't figure out how Ireland let the biggest entertainment event involving the best entertainer in the World! just slip through it's hands.......
    I don't blame any individual anymore, the event was bigger than any individual.
    I just blame the Irish Government.

And just to make it clear, I certainly don't blame the man himself Garth Brooks, or even the other two stalwarts Aiken and Ticket Master...

What's this we business, you said you won't ever go near the "dump" again so it's pretty irrelevant.

ardle1 wrote: »
    Nahhhhhhh, I've read a few more posts here today, and I still can't figure out how Ireland let the biggest entertainment event involving the best entertainer in the World! just slip through it's hands.......
    I don't blame any individual anymore, the event was bigger than any individual.
    I just blame the Irish Government.

And just to make it clear, I certainly don't blame the man himself Garth Brooks, or even the other two stalwarts Aiken and Ticket Master...

Ireland didn't

You may not want to.accept that Brooks and Aiken are at fault here but the evidence is there for all to see. Aiken tried to promote/sell too many concerts and Brooksie wouldn't compromise when he couldn't get licences for all 5. DCC "may" have disappointed 160,000 ticket holders bur Brooksie DEFINITELY let down 240,000 ticket holders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Then start a new thread on it then.

Mr O'Brien didn't refuse to grant the 2 licenses and he certainly didn't cancel the 3 remaining gigs.

The only thing it shows is that your not particularly fond of the chap.

So we can't discuss the source of the objections to the concerts here, but can spend 2 pages on the price of a pint in the Temple Bar?

Get the boat, this is completely relevant and likely to be the real source of the objections in the first place.