Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks concerts cancelled - **READ FIRST POST FOR MOD NOTES**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

I had obnoxious neighbours for years, they used to play loud crap music most night till four in the morning. I bought ear-plugs, and those ear-yokes they wear when they´re jack-hammering the road, for me and the kids and put up with it till they left. Five nights of music in your locality, finishing before 11pm, is a bit of a First World problem, especially if you are lucky enough to live in the centre of our Cultural Metropolois, within easy walking distance of museums, theatres, galleries, the Concert Hall, and all other amenities to help you relax after involuntarily hearing C&W music. Then an easy stroll to grab a fresh Latté or Cappucino (or any of those other things that are actually coffee) on the way home. It´s called "living in the city centre". Get lives people. Meanwhile I don´t care about our International Reputation, we destroyed what little we had long before Mr. Brooks ever helped us, this is all just a tiny amusing aside to any outside observer more properly concerned with real-life issues.

Well, differing views, I guess. *shrug* You consider it a first world problem, others don't. Living in a city centre doesn't mean you should have to put up with less rights as a resident. If anything, the dense population should mean there are appropriate regulations in place to deal the population.

Agree with you about the international reputation crap thugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Anybody else get the impression that Aiken is gonna get his ass handed to him in slices
    Obvious now that Brooks and he are not in contact...Aiken trying to look like he did his best ahead of a massive claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Garth is at risk of losing the love of his people at this stage
    Going by some of the sycophants on here, Garth could go house to house murdering their first born and they'd thank him for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Specialun wrote: »
    Who is it so

Told ya, it's Nathan Carter

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

Phoebas wrote: »
    Going by some of the sycophants on here, Garth could go house to house murdering their first born and they'd thank him for it.
    And if the first born was a twin the twin would have to be killed as well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Clusterfúck

ˈklʌstəfʌk/

noun

vulgar slang

noun: clusterfúck; plural noun: clusterfúcks; noun: cluster-fúck; plural noun: cluster-fúcks

Def: a disastrously mishandled situation or undertaking.

A combination of things going extremely wrong in a short period of time within the same general activity -- caused by stupidity and/or ineptitude.

See:
    Garth Brooks Irish concerts 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Jaysus...they cannot u-turn legally even if they wanted to.
    The ridiculous hysterical response to the DCC doing it's job and Brooks intransigence has led to this farce...nothing else.

Still with this.. seriously? Someone has yet to post a link to the relevant piece of legislation that says that a decision cannot be reversed! I mean it can't be that hard to find if so many people are citing it!

They have done a u-turn! Their position has gone from '3 shows only, Garth' to 'okay then, 5 shows, but on one condition'

Up until a few hours ago the line was 'the decision cannot legally be appealed, amended, or changed'.. and now all of a sudden it apparently can be changed.. it has been changed!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Once again Ireland manages to make a fool of itself.... I mean people calling on Obama to step in... Are you for ****ing real?? I'm sure he has a few more pressing matters to deal that whether brooks plays in the little old Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭fta93

Who is it so

Aiken and DCC did. Garth rejected it and yet again, offered no solution other than his bullyboy tactic of the 5 or none threat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Gareth Who?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Who are the backing groups?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Not everything about the quality of your life relates to money and profit.

When you're living in debt it's a pretty big part.
    3 nights was plenty, 5 was just being greedy at others expense.

Whose expense? The few residents who would have to carry a pass to get through barriers for a few days? It's not that big a deal.

Still with this.. seriously? Someone has yet to post a link to the relevant piece of legislation that says that a decision cannot be reversed! I mean it can't be that hard to find if so many people are citing it!

They have done a u-turn! Their position has gone from '3 shows only, Garth' to 'okay then, 5 shows, but on one condition'

Up until a few hours ago the line was 'the decision cannot legally be appealed, amended, or changed'.. and now all of a sudden it apparently can be changed.. it has been changed!

That would be because it can't, the Lord Mayor and Enda have said it.
    The event licence covers the event...if two shows are part of the event that is fine as long as the Event Management Plan is updated...DCC have requested that from Aiken for his compromise proposal. Very simple really

But Aiken and Brooks are not in communication for some reason. That i more interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

Just imagine the scene if after all this carry on the concerts do go ahead and as Brooks steps out onto the stage on the first night he is killed instantly by a massive bolt of lightning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

So Aiken said earlier in the week that Brooks proposed matinées but now he rejects it? So many of his stories have been full of holes from the beginning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    And if the first born was a twin the twin would have to be killed as well

That wasn't in the original agreement.
    One can go ahead.

When you're living in debt it's a pretty big part.

Whose debt would this sort out...Garth's, The airlines, Hoteliers, Publican?

Whose expense? The few residents who would have to carry a pass to get through barriers for a few days? It's not that big a deal.

It is their right to object, this is a long running problem...somebody overstepped the mark. The residents did nothing they haven't done on other occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 phillo65

This has gone beyond pathetic.I am now emmbaressed to be Irish.Debates in the Dail,Dublin mayor involved,calls on Obama to get involved,the Mexican Ambassador.If they put as much effort into the real problems in the country we might be in a better state.

Prime Time is doing a comedy special tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Prime Time is doing a comedy special tonight.
    Will there be an Apres Match after this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

The five shows come under the three licences if they do the matinees. So DCC hasn't gone back on their decision. They said they couldn't and they won't have, even if they do the matinees. It says it on the RTÉ News website if you look:
    The council accepted the deal on the basis that it would still be within the legislative framework of the three day licence.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0710/629717-garth-brooks/

Can't really make it any clearer for you.

Will there be an Apres Match after this?

That started once Burke got involved in this madness days ago.

• Site Banned Posts: 880 ✭✭✭whiteshorts

Matinee 2-6pm and the next concert 8pm to 11pm, so how would they clear Croke Park then?
    What a joke of a suggestion!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

so is it going ahead or what?

Tarzana wrote: »
    The five shows come under the three licences if they do the matinees. So DCC hasn't gone back on their decision. They said they couldn't and they won't have, even if they do the matinees. It says it on the RTÉ News website if you look:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0710/629717-garth-brooks/

Can't really make it any clearer for you!

There is no telling him...it's going to be the DCC's fault one way or another. Garth has to stay on his pedestal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Look at this yoke on prime time now

Lookng for cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

This lad love the bit of attention..

I dont think his repetition of "We got nathing" is gonna do his position any good.

Look at this yoke on prime time now

Lookng for cash

If you listened to what he was saying you'll have heard that they were getting nothing in terms of an enforceable agreement in relation to future events to prevent this nonsense happening again.

That's the something they're looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Whose debt would this sort out...Garth's, The airlines, Hoteliers, Publican?

Yes. All of those and more. Hotels are booked out across Leinster for that week, as are minibuses and taxis. Taxis and public transport would have been in massive demand. Shops in the city would have sold massive amounts of extra stock. The GAA would have gotten a nice income. All the employees required for the event, both private and public, would have gotten an extra weeks pay. The countries tourist reputation would have been boosted.

Why is it people like you object to anyone who makes a profit in this country? Are companies to be spit on for making money and employing people?
    It is their right to object, this is a long running problem...somebody overstepped the mark. The residents did nothing they haven't done on other occasions.

Of course it's their right to object. It doesn't mean their objection should have affected anything.

The out of his depth lord mayor completely contradicting himself.