Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

He has Jackie Healy Rae's voice. Great accent, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Great swipe at Joe Duffy there.:D
    Ah no. I missed that. Can you give us the gist of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I notice that there is not one speaker representing the business community. These are the people who directly or indirectly pay for everything that all the speakers so far are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The unfair deal system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

sligojoek wrote: »
    Ah no. I missed that. Can you give us the gist of it?
    An audience member said that Joe Duffy can related to the troubles of the Dunnes Stores worker because - both work 15 hours per week.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    A audience member said that Joe Duffy can related to the troubles of the Dunnes Stores worker - both work 15 hours per week.
    Nice one. Ta.

M

A audience member said that Joe Duffy can related to the troubles of the Dunnes Stores worker because - both work 15 hours per week.

Love it :D.

I'm not sure why that FF lad was complaining about all the grants that went to Mayo because when John O'Donoghue was Minister for Sport he allocated a massive amount of national lottery funding to Kerry. He was also responsible for transferring the Legal Aid Board to Caherciveen.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/botched-decentralisation-is-costing-over-220000-a-year-26531643.html

M

I think we should recreate a gun running mission next year, some ship could sail from Libya and be met by a trawler.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Is it just my TV set, or is the sound and picture a bit off?

coolhull wrote: »

Go easy on the drink.:D

I'm not sure why that FF lad was complaining about all the grants that went to Mayo because when John O'Donoghue was Minister for Sport he allocated a massive amount of national lottery funding to Kerry. He was also responsible for transferring the Legal Aid Board to Caherciveen.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/botched-decentralisation-is-costing-over-220000-a-year-26531643.html
    And the prison visiting committee HQ. Apparently it helped rack up traveling expenses.

Ferris and Healy-Rae have safe seats.

Will we have any diddly-eye music at all at all?

You have to come to Clare for decent trad ;)

When Michael Healy Rae speaks he reminds me of the Bull McCabe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭buyer95

Griffin acquitted himself well on a night of government bashing. Arthur Spring was a no show, so Griffin had to answer every question directed at the government. Jimmy Denihan would have been a help to Griffin too, but he was attending the funerals of those who died so tragically in Berkeley.

Spoke too soon

Wrong!

Kilfenora Ceili band were much better and got to perform three tunes during the Clare debate :p The Kerry music was so poor they cut it short ;)

Kilfenora Ceili band were much better and got to perform three tunes during the Clare debate :p

They call that filler down our way.

That was like watching people dancing with their sisters. Which, in fairness, is probably exactly what it was. At least it was mercifully short.

buyer95 wrote: »
    They call that filler down our way.
    The Kilfenora Ceili Band are entertaining folks for over 100 years, put that in your pipe a smoke it as my granny would say :D

RayM wrote: »
    That was like watching people dancing with their sisters. Which, in fairness, is probably exactly what it was. At least it was mercifully short.

Absolutely ludicrous ending a political debate with music and dancing.

It would have been grand without the incest-dancing and the "wahoooooo!"

Still, nothing beats Vincent's over-enthusiastic introductions to operatic arias on his old radio show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

coolhull wrote: »

Yeah it was the same for me. The sound was low at times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Must be dress down Thursday tonight.

Did they say where Vincent is tonight?

Vincent should have shown the Greek waiter a bit more respect, the lad was good enough to agree to being interviewed for the programme.

Vincent should have shown the Greek waiter a bit more respect, the lad was good enough to be agree to being interviewed for the programme.

I thought it was disgraceful the way he mocked him. He should apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Jaysus the state of some of those in the background.
    Where does Vinny get them

M

Who is the guy in the backgroung on the phone with the shades? Looks like a Greek or perhaps Russian secret agent.

M

How did the Greeks ever get in to Europe, they are not even connected to the mainland countries and also have no natural resources.

Who is the guy in the backgroung on the phone with the shades? Looks like a Greek or perhaps Russian secret agent.

Zorba?

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭mvron

Where in the name of all that's holy is he??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,641 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

How did the Greeks ever get in to Europe, they are not even connected to the mainland countries and also have no natural resources.

A bit like us so.

M

Greece should legalize cocaine or something, they need an angle to attract people.

M

A bit like us so.

We have/had the richest fishing grounds in Europe, that got us in, nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Wow.
    I take back my comment about everyone in the background being freaks

Who are these people???
    This format doesn't work... It's stupid .... drunken posers in the background !

Who are these people???
    This format doesn't work... It's stupid .... drunken posers in the background !

I think it sums up this country nicely.

U can't hear a Feckin word ..... What's the point of this ??? If I want to go to the pub I'll walk out the door and go! I don't want it in my sitting room !

M

TV3 should do some kind of Nighthawks reboot, it could basically start right after Vins show at midnight, they could leave all the crew there, just change the presenter and guests.

This feels like Nighthawks with all the drunks in the background.

I wish Vinny would ask the crowd to shut up :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I thought it was disgraceful the way he mocked him. He should apologise.

Doing the stupid accent made no sense, he was imitating Irish and British people asking Greeks something in a Greek accent?!?

Ok that's it ! Turning it off ! Nite nite ... this is ****e ������

I can't listen to any more of this. The noise is awful.......(and the background noise is even worse).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Vinnie needs to adopt this approach:

If the panel is talking for the benefit of those people behind them, they're wasting their time. Nobody is taking a blind bit of notice....