Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Fine Gael also listened to the IFA when the new CAP was being done, rather than give more to smaller farmers, FG with the combined to keep those on higher payments protected at the expense of those who get less.
    IFA then had their presidential elections and attendance at the vote was down 50% given the top people in the IFA had gone out of their way to keep their high payments at the expense of ordinary members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,537 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

RobertKK wrote: »
    We got a lower milk price in 2009 than this year. Teagasc, the government, IFA and some others promoted dairying when the cost of getting into dairying is very high, then you had some start big rather than start small and build up. They gave unrealistic higher milk prices rather than looking at the worst case scenario.

2009 price around 21 cents a litre.
    2014 around 37 cents a litre at peak IIRC.
    Currently around 26 cents a litre.

And in the shops it hasn't dropped by anything near that if at all, someone is making a killing and it's not the farmers. I can see lots go bust if they got in heavy, the Russian situation doesn't look to ease anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The f%cking farmers again. An Béal Bocht again, always. Sick to my back teeth of these fellas. Never hear them go on about the long list of tax benefits in our system in their favour. Agricultural relief, reduced vat, business relief, transfer of a site to a child, cgt exemptions, windfall tax, grants, grants, grants. Christ, I dare not Google it. How many farmers in this country drank the back field when times were good, and would buy a pint for no man but themselves.

Amongst the biggest shower of b%stards when it comes to tax evasion, the hassle this causes is unreal, quarter after quarter they populate tax defaulter lists.

I'm very much for hitting this head on and sorting them out, they've some neck.

myshirt wrote: »
    The f%cking farmers again. An Béal Bocht again, always. Sick to my back teeth of these fellas. Never hear them go on about the long list of tax benefits in our system in their favour. Agricultural relief, reduced vat, business relief, transfer of a site to a child, cgt exemptions, windfall tax, grants, grants, grants. Christ, I dare not Google it. How many farmers in this country drank the back field when times were good, and would buy a pint for no man but themselves.

Amongst the biggest shower of b%stards when it comes to tax evasion, the hassle this causes is unreal, quarter after quarter they populate tax defaulter lists.

Are you being serious?
    What tax benefits?

The f%cking farmers...have you given up eating food in protest?

And in the shops it hasn't dropped by anything near that if at all, someone is making a killing and it's not the farmers. I can see lots go bust if they got in heavy, the Russian situation doesn't look to ease anytime soon.

Yeah, the price difference between coming out of the cow to getting on the shelf is unreal.
    The milk price for farmers at the moment is not much different from 20 years ago, but you won't see the processors or the shops reducing their margins for a better share of the price for all.
    The situation is farm prices can turn over several months and the problem is one doesn't know when, the banks will want to be patient to those they were willing to give lots of money to, wouldn't want to be in either situation, that of the person who took out big loans or the bank that gave them out, but the bank would have the farm as collateral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

"Anything Goes" called. They want their set back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Does Mick only have the one t-shirt? He must wash and tumble dry it each morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Looks like an interesting enough lineup tonight.
    Glenna’s back. She’s running for Renua or independent IIRC

M

Is the lad in the background playing poker on the laptop?

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Is the lad in the background playing poker on the laptop?

No, he's on Boards :D

M

coolhull wrote: »
    No, he's on Boards :D

Inside man, he's making a post now I think.

Mick needs to sit up straighter .....bad posture .....his back will be wrecked soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Is anybody else's signal breaking up?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Good loser

Bernard Mc namara is now back in the construction business, being bankrolled by Denis o Brien.

One of Mc namaras developments is referred to on the front of all the national papers as Priory hall 2. Its going to cost 4 million for the residents to put right.

All the years of he's "bankruptcy" Mc namara kept he's home on Shrewsbury Road!

Mick you're a loose cannon and always wrong.

You complained about 'developers' buying stuff back from NAMA at half nothing and give B McNamara as an example.

But but but NAMA were forbidden to sell their own property back to the debtors so B Mac got nothing from NAMA.

Also B Mac lost his house on Shrewsbury Road years back. You must be out of touch with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Good loser

myshirt wrote: »

What a diatribe!

Are you on tablets or just out of hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Well, I'll tell you something, it is about time someone stood up to the farmers. What this lad on the debate was harping on about just showed to me the endemic smugness and undeserved sense of self worth you can typically find with farmers; all masquerading as their own accomplishment when the reality is they have just had the paw out, and have been undeservedly given the leg up.

We need to set aside the bullsh!t and face it head on; farmers as a collective need to be subject to the right amount of scrutiny that is necessary to put them back in their place and redress the balance. Beyond the joke the historic benefits thrown their direction.

I'd very heavily tax the transfer of a site to a child; and I'd very heavily tax the passing on of most farms. I'd cut the subsidies and payments to them. That'd be a good start to soften their cough. I can't believe Vincent gave them the airtime.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Carol could do with a bit of a hair wash...

I have to say I don't like this new format at all with regard to the sitting arrangements....

It's like an awkward meeting in an atrium for the lads....

In fairness Lucy’s plan is hare-brained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Lucinda wants Estonia's health service.

Speaking of hair ..............hair brained or hare brained ? :D:D

And I speak as one of the squeezed middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Carol could do with a bit of a hair wash...

I have to say I don't like this new format at all with regard to the sitting arrangements....

It's like an awkward meeting in an atrium for the lads....

Welcome to Vincent's 'shed'.:D

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Welcome to Vincent's 'shed'.:D

Mine is better Roger.......:p

Bring a weatherproof jacket.....;)

Mine is better Roger.......:p

Bring a weatherproof jacket.....;)

Is there no roof on your shed?

Well that's some hair stand-up??

Is there no roof on your shed?

Wind Roger, wind!!!.........:pac:

Hot air not allowed now allowed!!.....:D:P

The fetishised corporation tax

coohull, you're very quite this weather........ :) xxx

Wind Roger, wind!!!.........:pac:

Hot air not allowed now allowed!!.....:D:P

Plenty of hot air in Vinny's shed!

Lots of beer in mine...........:D:D:D

For the chosen few....;)

That couldn't possibly be a blonde wig on Michael Taft. Could it? He looks like an uglier version of Donald Trump

I love Constantin’s withering take on things

I'd love to know the "body language" of "crossed legs"................

Lots of beer in mine...........:D:D:D

For the chosen few....;)

I suspect a 'honey trap'.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Corporation tax effects small businesses too. Something most and Sinn Fein don't realise.

I suspect a 'honey trap'.:eek:

Ah sure Roger, three Hail Mary's and a Glory Bee would get you out no bother.........:P

coohull, you're very quite this weather........ :) xxx
    Bit of a 'flu, grey, but when it clears up I'll be rarin' to go :D

That couldn't possibly be a blonde wig on Michael Taft. Could it? He looks like an uglier version of Donald Trump

He'd be no add for Peter Marks for sure coolhull.........:D

Bit of a 'flu, grey, but when it clears up I'll be rarin' to go :D

Did ye get the jab coolhull, it's a bit mad in the hospitals this weather, do it...without delay....xxx gsw

Martin King.

Has he ever rang the West for an update??.....

Roger, if the shed has a roof this winter...........:)....

Will someone tell Harry he is soooo popular?

How am I supposed to tell him about the "lovely ladies" competition on his doorstep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Did ye get the jab coolhull, it's a bit mad in the hospitals this weather, do it...without delay....xxx gsw

You can get it in your local Pharmacy.

You can get it in your local Pharmacy.[/QUOTE

I get two tayto, it's the asthma...... best ever jab!...;)

How are you this weather?...:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Enda Kenny really is Ireland's shame!

You can get it in your local Pharmacy.[/QUOTE

I get two tayto, it's the asthma...... best ever jab!...;)

How are you this weather?...:)

I'm grand. Got mine yesterday. Madness not to.
    Didn't enjoy Vincent's tours around the country. Poor television.
    You ok?

Vincent is wrecked looking.......

Two lookers around him tonight to cheer him up.

I'm grand. Got mine yesterday. Madness not to.
    Didn't enjoy Vincent's tours around the country. Poor television.
    You ok?

I did in my "swiss" as they say..................................:rolleyes:

ffs.........enough said....

Two lookers around him tonight to cheer him up.

Same same.

I like a change every now and then............;)