Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

RobertKK wrote: »
    Man behind VinB trying to stay awake.

Aren't we all? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

coolhull wrote: »
    Aren't we all? ;)

Indeed and time to give into it.

Goodnight coolhull, sleep well.

This is comedy tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

FG stooge absolutely dying here.
    Vinny missed a trick by not calling him Dougal (after he called him Fr Jack).

He’s horsing down that water.
    Why doesn’t he just answer the question.

Vinny loving it.

I dunno how Gerry can keep a straight face. In a way, he's to be admired...... It can't be easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

This is comedy tonight.

With a big lashing of tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Fine Gaeler making a total clown of himself..............:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Enda has become that guy in the pub blowing his own sad trumpet, that everyone avoids.
    Sad.

Hot stuff Juliet.

That’s my sexism quota for this year.
    Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

9 pints is an idiot, I'd love to know how much he was doing it before this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The winners are the people who won't have to be on the road with this fookin idiot again for 20 years.

The man blinded by the botched operation is such a horrific story.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

jimmyw wrote: »
    Fine Gaeler making a total clown of himself..............:eek:

Thought he did very well, considering he was totally outnumbered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Thought he did very well, considering he was totally outnumbered.

That's Browns M.O. Load up against the Govt parties especially FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

That's Browns M.O. Load up against the Govt parties especially FG.

He does what broadcasters should do...as best he can he makes government 'answerable'. I don't think it would be any different if it were FF/Lab?SF or others.
    RTE, too often do the opposite.

Wish they would shut up about water charges.

Maybe the protesters liked the excessively leaky pipes and too many on boil water notices.

Anyway I supply my own water and I pay for my own water, paying taxes doesn't pay for my water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

VB made fools of the government party TDs and candidates from the start. They look cowardly for not appearing and that will lose them votes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Dún Laoghaire... where even the Sinn Féin representatives are well-spoken.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Walter E GO

Wish they would shut up about water charges.

Maybe the protesters liked the excessively leaky pipes and too many on boil water notices.

Anyway I supply my own water and I pay for my own water, paying taxes doesn't pay for my water.

I also pay for my water through motor tax and property tax.

Let Richard Boyd Barrett and VinB have Travellers living on their doorstep.

They are all talk...

I also pay for my water through motor tax and property tax.

I pay both and get no water for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Let Richard Boyd Barrett and VinB have Travellers living on their doorstep.

They are all talk...

I had travellers living around the corner from my house for a few years (they were there long before I was). Never had a problem with them. Like the people in Carrickmines, they kept the place tidier than it would otherwise have been.

RayM wrote: »
    I had travellers living around the corner from my house for a few years (they were there long before I was). Never had a problem with them. Like the people in Carrickmines, they kept the place tidier than it would otherwise have been.

I had a bad experience.
    The ones I put good faith in, ended up on the Sunday world and CAB seizing €1.4 million in assets from about 13 years ago, they also told me to hang myself off a bridge.

I had one coming selling me stuff, was not impressed when he pissed against my house and how it ran across the yard...

Others were alright, but I hate the ones who come selling stuff, some don't uinderstand the word 'no'.

Don't be shmart Vinny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Despicable treatment of that American in that kangaroo court by browne

Any political party who supports this ethnic garbage argument will pay heavily at election time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,645 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Feck off Steve and Rachel, Rachel and Steve. I can't stand yis.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Renua guy is not very intelligent in his comment about local authority house building, Local authorities never built houses they were put out to tender and contractors built them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

The sailing clubs are willing to share Dun Laoighaire harbour with the riff raff, how kind of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Good of TV3 to televise the People Before Profit AGM?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Good of TV3 to televise the People Before Profit AGM?

Fine Gael and Labour were too scared to turn up. Blame them, not TV3.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    He does what broadcasters should do...as best he can he makes government 'answerable'. I don't think it would be any different if it were FF/Lab?SF or others.
    RTE, too often do the opposite.

Does he not have a duty to call out the opposition on their populist policies?

Browne is the worst type of broadcaster- biased.

I have watched a few of these programmes but I don't think I'll be watching any more.

The problem with the so-called People's Debate is that it is anything but a 'people's debate'. Most of the speakers are TDs, wannabe TDs, political party hacks and campaigners for some cause or other.

If you want a genuine people's debate, all the above should be banned from taking part and allow a discussion involving a cross section of ordinary people on a range of topical issues.

The discussion should be moderated by a competent host who would not take sides or go off on some personal agenda of their own.

Vincent Browne is a deplorable host for this type of programme. He indulges contributors who agrees with his personal views and jumps down the neck of anyone who doesn't. He also tries to belittle people with smart-alec remarks which only he thinks are funny.

I have watched a few of these programmes but I don't think I'll be watching any more.

The problem with the so-called People's Debate is that it is anything but a 'people's debate'. Most of the speakers are TDs, wannabe TDs, political party hacks and campaigners for some cause or other.

If you want a genuine people's debate, all the above should be banned from taking part and allow a discussion involving a cross section of ordinary people on a range of topical issues.

The discussion should be moderated by a competent host who would not take sides or go off on some personal agenda of their own.

Vincent Browne is a deplorable host for this type of programme. He indulges contributors who agrees with his personal views and jumps down the neck of anyone who doesn't. He also tries to belittle people with smart-alec remarks which only he thinks are funny.

Agree completely, and he has been at that since the cosy days on RTE radio with Sean Ardagh.

Fair play to FG and Kenny for not giving him the oxygen of publicity.

And you reckon that's the reason why Kenny doesn't appear on TV, do you?

Should FG and Lab not have turned up and called them out themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

He never really recovered from his fg failure days.

"In 1994, he sought a nomination for the Fine Gael party in that year's European elections or the possible general election of that year (it was thought a general election might follow the collapse of the Albert Reynolds' government). He was rebuffed by the leader of Fine Gael and future Taoiseach, John Bruton. He then became a vocal critic of the party."

Yeah no bias there at all lads.

What other reason would it be?

Foot in Mouth disease??

Nah, country is swinging,pal.

All the real issues have been sorted.

Just fiddly stuff and 'agendas' left .

^^
    Is that you, Mary-Louise O'Donnell?!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Pretty sure he doesn't appear with Vincent Browne is ever since Vincent Browne said he should have gone into a dark room with a bottle of whiskey and a revolver during the failed heave...

And what are his reasons for not taking part in televised debates, Prime Time against any Opposition Leaders, or any RTE current affairs except for 'soft' interviews where he can wind down the clock?

Obvious ones.

He has something to lose, whereas the others have noting to lose.

Why would a world champion boxer,who fought hard to get to the top,risk everything against some no hope slugger,who might get a few lucky punches in.

Common sense, bub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I can't suffer The Peoples Debate anymore, watched a bit of it last night and it was the same oul bladder about water charges.

Obvious ones.

Why would a world champion boxer,who fought hard to get to the top,risk everything against some no hope slugger,who might get a few lucky punches in.

Common sense, bub.

World Champion Boxer? FG really are deluded.

Obvious ones.

Common sense, bub.

So he is scared then?

Tonight's presenter (can't recall her name) is a lot more pleasing to the eye than Vincent.

Mary-Louise O'Donell, not so much....

Tonight's presenter (can't recall her name) is a lot more pleasing to the eye than Vincent.

Mary-Louise O'Donell, not so much....

What about Eoghan? Eye-candy or what?

:D:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I can't suffer The Peoples Debate anymore, watched a bit of it last night and it was the same oul bladder about water charges.

They're terrible. I'm surprised they've gone on so long and do wonder what the ratings are for them.