Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

JustTheOne wrote: »
    But Irish water was a troika measure too was it not?

So they had no choice in implementing Irish water or austerity cuts seems ff signed us up to it.

You said it yourself fg are only following the plan layed out by ff and the troika.

That's gas - an election on the horizon and STILL blaming FF for everything 5 years later! Well at least FG are consistent in that I suppose! (EDIT: Also leaves out the point that they campaigned and were elected on promises of a new approach to the crisis and reform by the way)

Nice side-stepping of the other "highlights" I mentioned though... not so quick to claim credit for those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

But Irish water was a troika measure too was it not?

So they had no choice in implementing Irish water or austerity cuts seems ff signed us up to it.

You said it yourself fg are only following the plan layed out by ff and the troika.

Paschal just verified that there is no difference between FG and FF. But then again a lot of us already know that.

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    Paschal just verified that there is no difference between FG and FF. But then again a lot of us already know that.

The only difference really seems to be that FG are more arrogant/blatant about their antics and have a leader that goes missing whenever leadership is most needed.. resulting in the parade of conflicting soundbites from the B-team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    That's gas - an election on the horizon and STILL blaming FF for everything 5 years later! Well at least FG are consistent in that I suppose!

Nice side-stepping of the other "highlights" I mentioned though... not so quick to claim credit for those.

But youre the one who brought ff into it 5 years later by saying fg are only following ffs plan layed out 5 years ago.

You said it yourself the package agreed with the troika which brought about austerity measures was agreed by ff not fg.

You said it first not me.

As for the other issues you didn't mention them in the first post I replied to as you were so excited fg weren't getting the credit for the recovery on Vincent Browne.

But youre the one who brought ff into it 5 years later by saying fg are only following ffs plan layed out 5 years ago.

You said it yourself the package agreed with the troika which brought about austerity measures was agreed by ff not fg.

You said it first not me.

As for the other issues you didn't mention them in the first post I replied to as you were so excited fg weren't getting the credit for the recovery on Vincent Browne.

You keep digging, I'll give you that.

Bottom line is FG may well be re-elected but it'll only be because the alternatives are worse - much in the same way as the last election was an "anyone but FF" affair

Oh and the other points I raised were in the original post (as you can see in the quote you made of it) but feel free to address them now if you missed them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    You keep digging, I'll give you that.

Bottom line is FG may well be re-elected but it'll only be because the alternatives are worse - much in the same way as the last election was an "anyone but FF" affair

Oh and the other points I raised were in the original post but feel free to address them now if you missed them

You don't have to give me anything.

It was you who stated ff and the troika agreed the austerity measures which improved the economy.

Therefore stating fg aren't to blame for the austerity measures.

That's clear as day.

The other issues you are using to deflect from the above statement.

Good night.

You don't have to give me anything.

It was you who stated ff and the troika agreed the austerity measures which improved the economy.

Therefore stating fg aren't to blame for the austerity measures.

That's clear as day.

The other issues you are using to deflect from the above statement.

Good night.

Wrong.. if you read back you'll find I responded to a post you made to Baggy.. I didn't state anything of the sort, merely pointed out how little FG have really done beyond continue the status quo - with some examples of same.. which you still failed to address in the above while accusing ME of deflection....

Hmm, indeed! Goodnight! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Good loser

Sean Fleming wanting FF to get 'credit' for the last 5 years of Coalition?
    Outrageous!
    Bit like letting a house catch fire, turning on the kitchen tap and running off.
    Claiming credit then when the fire brigade outs the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Though the fella in the audience with the "Don't elect idiots" t shirt was the highlight of the night.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Vincent is terrorising school children tonight...

VinB and MLOD getting a bit heated.

Can we have the children back please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Ah, I have a lot of time for MLOD, enthusiastic, lives life, and the way she let Vinnie know she was annoyed with him there, a pure lady.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Ah, I have a lot of time for MLOD, enthusiastic, lives life, and the way she let Vinnie know she was annoyed with him there, a pure lady.

She is still raging at the tactless questioning from Vincent. Wouldn't be surprised if we don't see her back.
    She is seething, suspect the argument has restarted during the ad break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭emo72

that look she gave him before they went to break. hes dead:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Is that the Bull McCabe behind Liam Doran?

Political heavyweight Damian English batting for govt with Pierse and Mick McGrath tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Happyman42 wrote: »

Have you ever looked for counselling.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Sam has a face that's perfect for radio

Why does Sam not ask the FF guy who covered up the priest that was beaten to death, Mary Boyle's murder, the Dublin and Monaghan bombings, the Crinnion affair etc.

He couldn't do that. That would be balanced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Eyebrows. Eyebrows. Eyebrows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

There is no accountability in Ireland, Catherine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭AwaitYourReply

I missed Tonight with Vincent Browne show all this week until now but Michael Clifford in the presenter chair again this evening
    Last week Michael Clifford and Sam Smyth both deputised for Vinny B on a number of shows.
    Is Vincent off sick at the moment or is he on annual leave at the moment, I wonder?
    You would sometimes miss Vinny B's heckling style and the usual air of chaos that tend to takes place in studio when he is apparently chairing the discussion on a given night.

That said, I hope he is not seriously ill as the place would not be the same without him - he can take the boredom out of Irish Politics with his antics at times!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭AwaitYourReply

I missed Tonight with Vincent Browne show all this week until now but Michael Clifford in the presenter chair again this evening
    Last week Michael Clifford and Sam Smyth both deputised for Vinny B on a number of shows.
    Is Vincent off sick at the moment or is he on annual leave at the moment, I wonder?
    You would sometimes miss Vinny B's heckling style and the usual air of chaos that tend to takes place in studio when he is apparently chairing the discussion on a given night.

That said, I hope he is not seriously ill as the place would not be the same without him - he can take the boredom out of Irish Politics with his antics at times!

FF digging holes. No need for more shovels.

We would be better if we had the Troika still running the economy as our politicians from all sides are not very responsible when we have money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

RobertKK wrote: »
    We would be better if we had the Troika still running the economy as our politicians from all sides are not very responsible when we have money.

That's the true test, managing in the good times.

I wouldn't trust the politicians if they had control of abortion.

Most of these politicians are bad at public speaking.

The woman doesn't seem to know the heartbeat can be detected at 5 weeks and 6 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

RobertKK wrote: »
    I wouldn't trust the politicians if they had control of abortion.

I'd trust pregnant women though. What with it being their own bodies and everything.

RayM wrote: »
    I'd trust pregnant women though. What with it being their own bodies and everything.

A Newstalk/ think it was with Red C opinion poll pointed to repeal the 8th being in trouble if it depends on the politicians to decide the legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So the socialist fella doesn't want to get rid of the USC, typical response from that shower of gobsh1tes on the far left.

Timmy Conway, Jim Power, a political analyst......oh, and Regina. That would be a great night out in the pub. The crack would be mighty

Load of guff from these fools about one of the few decent people in the Dail.

Jim fcuking Power.
    Was Eamon Ryan not available.

The alcohol industry's line that alcohol advertising has no effect always makes me laugh at its absurdity.

Load of guff from these fools about one of the few decent people in the Dail.

Jim fcuking Power.

Was Eamon Ryan not available.

But doesn't Jim look really cool with his lovely new beard? :cool:

Vinny having great craic.
    "Whah, whah?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I just tuned in to the so-called People's Debate. I haven't seen any of these for a couple of months. All I can say is if this is the kind of rubbish that is going to be thrown at us for the next 3 weeks, then I for one won't be watching or listening to any of it. It's pathetic.

This is how it's going to be, Roger. Another 3 weeks of it, and it's not going to improve

FG politician failing to accept VinB was correct that the exchange rates have greatly helped Ireland with the growth in the economy, combined with low oil prices and interest rates.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I just tuned in to the so-called People's Debate. I haven't seen any of these for a couple of months. All I can say is if this is the kind of rubbish that is going to be thrown at us for the next 3 weeks, then I for one won't be watching or listening to any of it. It's pathetic.

I prefer the US Presidential elections...

VinB's bigotry has embarrassment himself on a few occasions tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Brownes biased agenda has turned off a lot of people, indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Seriously does anyone in productive employment watch Vinnie? I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

my friend wrote: »
    Seriously does anyone in productive employment watch Vinnie? I doubt it.

I think he is brilliant.

Politicians fear him and that can only be good...because they do not fear Paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I just can't watch Vincent anymore. He's become too repetitive, repeating the same sorts of questions and haranguing over and over.

Every question begins with "Isn't it the case that your party..."

He has reduced politics to a shouting match and is always looking for the "gotcha" moment.

The audience at the people's debates are usually dominated by left wing loonies shouting about water tax and bankers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,651 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I can't wait until Vincent is chairing the Leaders Debate. Will be great craic.

If certain leaders actually show up:pac:

I just can't watch Vincent anymore. He's become too repetitive, repeating the same sorts of questions and haranguing over and over.

Every question begins with "Isn't it the case that your party..."

He has reduced politics to a shouting match and is always looking for the "gotcha" moment.

The audience at the people's debates are usually dominated by left wing loonies shouting about water tax and bankers.
    The audience, hilarious though they may sometimes be, are just as much entitled to air their views as the overpaid politicos.
    And if you want a soft, genteel interview, talk to Joe or Marianne.
    What you outline as Vincent's harassing style is what keeps the rest of us tuned in nightly.