Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I can't understand how that isn't totally and utterly I llegal.

If my '03 and someone else's '98 and someone else's '15 all pass the NCT then they are all equally roadworthy - that's the point of the feckin' thing!

They should also be cheaper to insure since no-one is going to rob a 13-year-old hatchback.
    I've an 04 7-seater. It's in great condition and is looked after by a family member who is a top mechanic. I'm loaded to the hilt because there's a possibility of two more people claiming off me. My oldest child has flown the nest but maybe still has to travel with us two or three times a year so I have to keep it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

RobertKK wrote: »
    Junior cert socialist needs to study more.

Snide comment Robert. How were you at that age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

Snide comment Robert. How were you at that age?

Only a little snide - her "I haven't looked at PBP because I've been too busy" was lame, in fairness. She had time to learn enough about SF to be comfortable to align herself fully with them on national TV ?

My suspicion would be an SF family link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Only a little snide - her "I haven't looked at PBP because I've been too busy" was lame, in fairness. She had time to learn enough about SF to be comfortable to align herself fully with them on national TV ?

My suspicion would be an SF family link.

Your suspicion would be a SF family link.

Ok. Maybe you should take a day off from the intense political analysis Jack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I'm pretty sure she is in fact a he as they appeared to be wearing the uniform of the boys only secondary school in Castlebar St. Gerald's..could be wrong but don't think I am.

Anyway, good show and credit to Vincent and TV3. The thought of a show like this wouldn't even enter the minds of those in charge at RTE such is their disdain for a large proportion of the population, many of whom you see and hear speak on the people's debate. Mayo candidates let themselves down terribly with their positions on the repeal of the 8th and a possible referendum. I guess the FF candidates were appealing to their core voters but still disappointing to see such social conservatism in younger politicians. The Renua candidate I don't even think understood the concept of a referendum as opposed to his position on abortion. Dara Calleary simply thinks his position is the right one which is worse.

1. Ring
    2. Enda
    3. Calleary
    4. RC Walsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

Your suspicion would be a SF family link.

Ok. Maybe you should take a day off from the intense political analysis Jack.

Not saying it's true; just my suspicion, as someone interested in politics and left-leaning would presumably look at all the options, especially given SF's baggage.

I could be wrong. Hence the word suspicion, for the reasons given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Oh sweet Jesus, where did they find this audience?

As a Mayo man, can I just say there are some normal people down here, I swear!

I only caught the last hour, but yer man who mentioned the cat in the isle of man was it? was hilarious!

YOu can't buy that, although according to Vincent, he said on The Last Word after 5 today, that the RTE audience was polled by RedC & was paid €60 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Hitchens wrote: »
    ah geez, look at this, they're very hip in the Wesht :p

Makes the East with Mick Wallace & Ruth Coppinger look like Saville Row!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Canadel wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure she is in fact a he as they appeared to be wearing the uniform of the boys only secondary school in Castlebar St. Gerald's..could be wrong but don't think I am.

Anyway, good show and credit to Vincent and TV3. The thought of a show like this wouldn't even enter the minds of those in charge at RTE such is their disdain for a large proportion of the population, many of whom you see and hear speak on the people's debate. Mayo candidates let themselves down terribly with their positions on the repeal of the 8th and a possible referendum. I guess the FF candidates were appealing to their core voters but still disappointing to see such social conservatism in younger politicians. The Renua candidate I don't even think understood the concept of a referendum as opposed to his position on abortion. Dara Calleary simply thinks his position is the right one which is worse.

1. Ring
    2. Enda
    3. Calleary
    4. RC Walsh

St. Joseph's uniform is the same color as St.Geralds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Makes the East with Mick Wallace & Ruth Coppinger look like Saville Row!

Ruth looks like she was kitted out in Harry Corry remnants.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Xenji wrote: »
    St. Joseph's uniform is the same color as St.Geralds.
    Don't think so. Josephs' top is blue whereas Geralds is navy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Ruth looks like she was kitted out in Harry Corry remnants.:eek:

I mean it was a bit of a novelty having Ruth,Ming,Wallace and Clare Daly coming in to the dail looking like they had all slept in a skip but come on the novelty has worn off. Bad enough that their policies (where they have them) are pure looney but the state of them!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭blackcard

I would say Ruth Coppinger is mighty craic

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Enda being kept under the covers tonight, he's sending out Leo to keep the profile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,278 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Leo just owned Coppinger. Nice to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭blackcard

Enda being kept under the covers tonight, he's sending out Leo to keep the profile...

None of the leaders there

blackcard wrote: »
    None of the leaders there

I thought he might have come out because Vincent isn't there.....;)

Leo seems to have a permanent tan.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Did Leo say that just because you haven't got a home, that doesn't mean you're homeless?

Leo's mantra is "it's not good enough"....

It's actually not good enough.

He's playing the game empathising......

What nursing homes?

The ones that cost a fortune or going down the very legal difficulty of the Fair Deal Scheme?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Leo's mantra is "it's not good enough"....

It's actually not good enough.

He's playing the game empathising......

Leo is not suited to a ministry he is more interested in show business.

Mary-Lou makes a fair point - the consulting diagnosis has to change regarding out of hours diagnosis....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

But, hasn't politics been described as "Show business for ugly people"?

Though he's a good looking fella...

He is an absolutely useless Minister Busted....

Lots of feedback from Medics have led me to believe he's a career politician...

Sinn Fein offering homes for everybody. Well, Jurry has at least three. Sure it's a start......

tampopo wrote: »
    But, hasn't politics been described as "Show business for ugly people"?

Though he's a good looking fella...

Presuming you're still there Leo.....

Leo sitting back there and letting it roll over his head............

Health needs a leader and, unfortunately, I can't see one in the near future....

Are we not supposed to pay water charges under EU Law?

coolhull wrote: »
    Sinn Fein offering homes for everybody. Well, Jurry has at least three. Sure it's a start......

I have followed some of your posts and enjoyed some of your jokes, but posting such childish stuff you let yourself down. Hopefully you will have a successful recovery.

Leo sitting back there and letting it roll over his head............

Health needs a leader and, unfortunately, I can't see one in the near future....

There is nothing in Leo's head except self-publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Are we not supposed to pay water charges under EU Law?

You're supposed to pay water charges under Irish law........(as passed by the Oireachtas.)

I have followed some of your posts and enjoyed some of your jokes, but posting such childish stuff you let yourself down. Hopefully you will have a successful recovery.

Why, thank you, Busted :D:D

There is nothing in Leo's head except self-publicity.

I think he's very self-centered Busted.

I can't think of one thing he has done in his Sports/Health Ministries.....

He upped his profile during the last referendum ;), I believe his eyes are on the "big job" in FG.........he's all about him regardless of his sfa lousy performance on health...

I'd watch my back Enda........

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ruth's being quite naive here, of course they'd up sticks. The bottom line is all that matters in business.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    You're supposed to pay water charges under Irish law........(as passed by the Oireachtas.)

I understand that Roger, but isn't there a mandate from the EU regarding water charges?....

I'm no fan of them btw.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Coppinger is so naïve when it comes to multinationals. Of course they will leave if they are forced to pay more tax. Our education system is average and we have no advantage with language. The language argument might have meant something 15 years ago.But not now. Most young people in Europe are able to speak multiple languages fluently while in Ireland most people just speak English.

I thought he might have come out because Vincent isn't there.....;)

I think his father is Indian.

sligojoek wrote: »

I have to say I met him a couple of years ago and he was as pale as me!!....:D:D:D

What? You mean he's not one of the Manorhamilton Varadkers? :D:D

You know you're getting old when the presenters look about 15.........

coolhull wrote: »
    What? You mean he's not one of the Manorhamilton Varadkers? :D:D
    Wouldn't you know by the accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Dolores O Riordan gets off without a criminal conviction........one law for the celebs?

Wouldn't you know by the accent?

OKay Yaaaaaa Sligo.....:D

Fancy a game of cricket any day this week?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Dolores O Riordan gets off without a criminal conviction........one law for the celebs?

The poor box is a great friend of celebs Roger........

I would imagine civil charges will be ongoing....

OKay Yaaaaaa Sligo.....:D

Fancy a game of cricket any day this week?
    Can I use a hurley?

Ah stop...........:D:D:D

You're very bold.......:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,677 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm liking Ivan Yates on the show, seems like a natural successor to Vinnie when he retires.

Aaaaaagghhhh ! I can't stand him. I never missed the Vincent Browne show, never. Now I switch off when I see Ivan Yates!

He thinks he's funny, he's not, he's arrogant . I don't like him at all on Newtalk he takes over every sound ite and makes it about him !

I'll really miss Vinny .....he's modest, self deprecating and naturally funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Aaaaaagghhhh ! I can't stand him. I never missed the Vincent Browne show, never. Now I switch off when I see Ivan Yates!

He thinks he's funny, he's not, he's arrogant . I don't like him at all on Newtalk he takes over every sound ite and makes it about him !

I'll really miss Vinny .....he's modest, self deprecating and naturally funny.

I like both.