Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Boxing himself into the corner. Just admit it Leo, you used it as an elect me stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

For the love of God, will someone please take the shovel off Leo. Talk about digging a massive hole for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Leo fighting back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

"We can talk about it tomorrow"...is Leo on again tomorrow night?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

Middle Ireland? Athlone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

For the love of God, will someone please take the shovel off Leo. Talk about digging a massive hole for himself.

Where were you last Saturday night when I wanted to slag you over the hurling?

I'd not be a fan of the left in this country but the more leo talks the more I want to vote left .... I won't though :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

People use this phrase about leo representing the people who get up in the morning to knock him but I'm thrilled we finally have someone who claims to represent people who work instead of people who don't

I'd like Fionnan & Vinny to kiss and make up tomorrow night :D

M

Is Leo on for the full show?

M

Vinny hoping for some gems from the Twitter Machine.

JMNolan wrote: »
    People use this phrase about leo representing the people who get up in the morning to knock him but I'm thrilled we finally have someone who claims to represent people who work instead of people who don't
    What about lads on nightshift

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Is Leo on for the full show?

I hope so...this is comedy gold:)

sligojoek wrote: »
    Where were you last Saturday night when I wanted to slag you over the hurling?
    I was drowning my sorrows Joe :( Ye need to sort out yer full back line and if ye do, ye have a great chance of retaining yer title.

M

I'd like to see BurgerLand reopened and 99's to be resized to their 1980's greatness...

?width=552&version=431566

What about lads on nightshift

Perhaps I need inverted commas around the word morning?

Everything is a crisis to Vincent. Sure we have a Vincent crisis too after tomorrow night

I was drowning my sorrows Joe :( Ye need to sort out yer full back line and if ye do, ye have a great chance of retaining yer title.

Agreed. We need Darren Gleeson back too. 3 goals let in. We'll chat again. Don't want to derail the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I thought Leo would get a mauling from Vinny but so far it hasn't happened.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

Interesting about Enda not responding to Leo's ideas for health and subsequently moving him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I thought Leo would get a mauling from Vinny but so far it hasn't happened.

Didn't need to Vinny gave him enough rope

Vinny letting him away with trite spin IMO. I can sense a bevvy of handlers in the background.

gizmo81 wrote: »
    Interesting about Enda not responding to Leo's ideas for health and subsequently moving him.
    Leo's request for money

Not sure if that casts him in a positive light

I'm tearing up lads

M

They will need some exit music for Vin departing tomorrow.

The whole thing is very mild. Bit like 2 lads having a chat in the pub

Result of the interview:-
    Leo 1, Vinny 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭technocrat

Bit of a lovein session really

'We don't want to see men and women getting married' :D

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Result of the interview:-
    Leo 1, Vinny 0.

I'd go a 1-1 draw. (Own goal by Leo)

*and not long enough Taoiseach for real fireworks, all hope and glory spin tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

sligojoek wrote:
    The whole thing is very mild. Bit like 2 lads having a chat in the pub

Because Leo is talking sense...the man wants to give people more welfare invest in public services and tax reliefs...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

not 1 question about the gardai or the nama scandal?

Marie Louise likes the young fellas?

No criticism of Leo from MLOD. Quelle suprise.

Looking for her job security , and the next nut to hug.

Another break. They just came back from the last one

M

Enda should have come on in de tracker...

Enda1-1024x1024.jpg

That would be like Mary Lou criticising Gerry Adams..........doesn't happen in politics!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

We needed a no-nonsense type on the panel like Hook or Dunphy or even Yates to tell Vinny he went too easy on Leo

M

Any ideas who is on tomorrow nights show?

This is my final clip of the evening....

It's from Vincent's People's Debate from Co. Clare back in 2015. I was in the audience, it was my birthday and I got to chat with Vinny.... I was thrilled :o:D

The guy talking in this clip is a retired CIE Bus Driver, he is real character, I went to school with one of his sons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Why weren't the people moaning that E100 dole for under 25s wasn't enough for travellers because "they marry earlier than settled people" called out on this, getting married and popping out kids is a choice, can't afford em use a condom.

The fella saying ambulance personnel didn't call to his house, instead parking down the driveway a bit should have been asked why and also why Gardai had to be present.

The mother and daughter looking for the council (taxpayer in other words) to do up the houses with the graffiti on them and no doors or windows should have been asked how they got in this state considering they were only built in 2001. I'd reckon the reason refuse companies told them they won't collect the rubbish is because they know they would never be paid for doing the job. Sure it's easier to let it pile up until the council eventually clear it for free.

Why weren't the people moaning that E100 dole for under 25s wasn't enough for travellers because "they marry earlier than settled people" called out on this, getting married and popping out kids is a choice, can't afford em use a condom.

My thoughts exactly. His refusal to ask such clear and obvious questions belies his worth as a journalist whose job is to get to the truth of matters. Instead we ended up with a sentimental piece on a culture at odds with the mainstream. It seems everything is the fault of everyone else. What are the reasons there are no bin collections on that site? Why do police have to be called? Why marry so young without having an education? Why have so many kids at such a young age? Why doesn't that young man in dunsink lane drive a car? Simple, straightforward questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The end is near, whose on tonight?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    The end is near, whose on tonight?

Conor Lenihan, Joan Burton, Regina O'Connor, and Jerry Beades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It must be years since I watched Vincent before last night ... it was never as entertaining for me after Fianna Fáil and the IMF left the stage and I found myself shouting at Vincent, not the guests.

But back in the day it was great, eloquent economists and commentators coming on every night informing us of the approaching menace of the meltdown and the meddling IMF ... and Vincent had a great skill of giving hot young female journalists some exposure on Television :p

This was a great thread in those days, lots of great posters passed through ... (and some are still here!). Then there was the Spin Off 'Friday Late with Vincent Browne' where he interviewed Jedward on the first night ... and some nights he would extend the show until 1am just for the hell of it.

A truely Groundbreaking show that will be remembered and I hope Vincent stays healthy and pops up again somewhere soon.

M

Jerry "Bog Standard House" Beades, lol...

No Fionnan Sheehan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I thought TV3 news said it was an all female panel tonight and showed the 4 clips ^^ CL, JB etc as a tribute to the show.
    So expect a total babefest from Irish politics.

M

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    I thought TV3 news said it was an all female panel tonight and showed the 4 clips ^^ CL, JB etc as a tribute to the show.
    So expect a total babefest from Irish politics.

Yes TV3 News said all female, just looked back on the 3 Player.

M

The Journal have his guests as...
    Sinn Fein’s Mary Lou McDonald
    The Irish Independent’s Dearbhail McDonald
    Independent TD Catherine Connolly
    TheJournal.ie‘s Sinead O’Carroll.

Glenda Gilson and comedian Oliver Callan will be on the tweet machine.

http://www.thejournal.ie/vincent-browne-last-show-liveblog-3518169-Jul2017/