Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

fat_sam wrote: »
    so you think its wrong for a woman not to be more fond of womens sport ?

No.

I think poor attitudes to women in sport extends to both men and women.

Just because a lot of women aren't interested in women's sport, it doesn't justify men from having bad attitudes about it.

Lapin wrote: »
    She didn't disagree with him though.

And we know Vincent hasn't a clue.

The last time a Limerick team won anything in Croke Park (before yesterday), Richard Nixon was busy getting ready to tell the world he wasn't a crook.

I have no interest in male or female GAA but maybe VB had a good suggestion about them being held on the same day.

Who knows, it could increase the popularity of the women's final.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

No.

Just because a lot of women aren't interested in women's sport, it doesn't justify men from having bad attitudes about it.

Which men have bad attitudes to women's sport.

Most blokes I know love their sport regardless of who is playing. Its got feckall to do with who is playing and more to do with how a game is being played that interests fellas.

In my experience men are more interested and knowledgeable about women's sport than most women. And women are usually the one's with the negative attitude (as Sindo hack Niamh Horan's recent articles on women's rugby attests).
    I have no interest in male or female GAA but maybe VB had a good suggestion about them being held on the same day.

You obviously have no interest and not a clue either.
    Otherwise you might have picked up on some of the debate about holding the men's hurling replay on a Saturday evening in order to accommodate women's football final the following day.
    Who knows, it could increase the popularity of the women's final.

It would have the exact opposite effect.

The women's game would be allocated less tickets due to the higher demand for men's tickets. And they would have to pay the full price of €80 for them too and not the tenner they paid to get in yesterday.

This would rule out the large numbers of schoolgirls (and lads) that attend the women's finals from all over the country.

Finally - The vast majority of those attending the women's final would only get to see the last five minutes of it as they arrive in Croker to take their seats for the men's game.

Holding the women's final on the same day as the men's would be detrimental to their game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 fat_sam

No.

define " bad " attitude to womens sport

fat_sam wrote: »
    define " bad " attitude to womens sport

Not even watching it or giving it a chance because women are playing.

Which men have bad attitudes to women's sport.

Most blokes I know love their sport regardless of who is playing. Its got feckall to do with who is playing and more to do with how a game is being played that interests fellas.

In my experience men are more interested and knowledgeable about women's sport than most women. And women are usually the one's with the negative attitude (as Sindo hack Niamh Horan's recent articles on women's rugby attests).

You obviously have no interest and not a clue either.
    Otherwise you might have picked up on some of the debate about holding the men's hurling replay on a Saturday evening in order to accommodate women's football final the following day.

It would have the exact opposite effect.

The women's game would be allocated less tickets due to the higher demand for men's tickets. And they would have to pay the full price of €80 for them too and not the tenner they paid to get in yesterday.

This would rule out the large numbers of schoolgirls (and lads) that attend the women's finals from all over the country.

Finally - The vast majority of those attending the women's final would only get to see the last five minutes of it as they arrive in Croker to take their seats for the men's game.

Holding the women's final on the same day as the men's would be detrimental to their game.

This is just plain wrong.

And you may have a point with the other stuff, but to dismiss the suggestion out of hand because the notion of equality bothered you, is just silly. The men's final sells out, the women's final doesn't come to close to selling out. Some people would like to see this change. Attitudes to sport with women in it from men and women is the main problem. The idea that some men don't have a bad attitude to women's sport is just proposterous (excluding your male friends of course whose opinion on women's sport you seem to know).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 fat_sam

And you may have a point with the other stuff, but to dismiss the suggestion out of hand because the notion of equality bothered you, is just silly. The men's final sells out, the women's final doesn't come to close to selling out. Some people would like to see this change. Attitudes to sport with women in it from men and women is the main problem. The idea that some men don't have a bad attitude to women's sport is just proposterous (excluding your male friends of course whose opinion on women's sport you seem to know).

Why do you feel the need to 're_educate people, it's incredibly arrogant how the left wish to reengineer people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Simple solution: Why don't you buy a ticket for the Ladies All Ireland Football Final in two week's time then? Let's see you lead by example, rather than just your empty rhetoric?

You highlight this part of my post....

And come back with this....

How do you know about the sporting interests of people I know? How can you tell me I'm wrong? Are you present when I get together with friends of mine?

The idea that some men don't have a bad attitude to women's sport is just proposterous (excluding your male friends of course whose opinion on women's sport you seem to know).

Of course I know the opinion of my male friends when it comes to sport. Its not like its some kind of taboo subject to be swept under the carpet for Christ sake. I didn't block my ears when I sat between two lads at the Camogie final in 2011 or in my local pub when watching the women's Rugby team play in France during the Summer. Most of the support in the same pub for Katie Taylor in London 2012 was from men. And I only know of one woman regular in the place who followed the Solheim Cup when it was in Meath despite most of us lads being glued to it.

So park your arrogance and quit telling people they are wrong when they relay their own personal experiences just because it doesn't tie in with your own ignorant utopian idea that everything is equal in sport.

It isn't - And it isn't for a reason. Check out those reasons before making an eejit of yourself on here again.

You highlight this part of my post....

And come back with this....

How do you know about the sporting interests of people I know? How can you tell me I'm wrong? Are you present when I get together with friends of mine?

Of course I know the opinion of my male friends when it comes to sport. Its not like its some kind of taboo subject to be swept under the carpet for Christ sake. I didn't block my ears when I sat between two lads at the Camogie final in 2011 or in my local pub when watching the women's Rugby team play in France during the Summer. Most of the support in the same pub for Katie Taylor in London 2012 was from men. And I only know of one woman regular in the place who followed the Solheim Cup when it was in Meath despite most of us lads being glued to it.

So park your arrogance and quit telling people they are wrong when they relay their own personal experiences just because it doesn't tie in with your own ignorant utopian idea that everything is equal in sport.

It isn't - And it isn't for a reason. Check out those reasons before making an eejit of yourself on here again.

Someone can't handle having their opinion challenged.

Simple solution: Why don't you buy a ticket for the Ladies All Ireland Football Final in two week's time then? Let's see you lead by example, rather than just your empty rhetoric?

I would rather watch paint dry, but that goes for the men's final as well.

Someone can't handle having their opinion challenged.

I have no problem having my opinion challenged....
    I would rather watch paint dry, but that goes for the men's final as well.
    I have no interest in male or female GAA...

By people who know what they're talking about.

I have no problem having my opinion challenged....

By people who know what they're talking about.

I think you misunderstood my points completely. Your version of debating is to assume a greater degree of intelligence on issues and put down/insult if a person disagrees with you with a false sense of peudo-wisdom, often based on what your "friends" think.

Not a good way of debating man.

I think you misunderstood my points completely.

What are your points?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

this standing at the beginning is just weird!!!! the camera is too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

When Vincent says "What!" that close to the camera it is even more terrifying.

this standing at the beginning is just weird!!!! the camera is too close!

Amateur to say the least. Terrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

This close-up camera work only started when Vinnie came back last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

So everyone take their money out of the bank and invest in in bonds.
    I've lost all respect for this guy.
    He's an interest in this also.

Amateur to say the least. Terrible.

well I admit I may have over used the exclamation marks but u don't need to outright insult me! ;p

I'm constantly amazed at the stuff these guys spout.
    As Vinny said the financial world is a dodgy cake.
    Someone has to lose.
    From what I can see it's just a casino where the house always wins.

What's Groucho Marx doing there?

well I admit I may have over used the exclamation marks but u don't need to outright insult me! ;p

I was talking about the TV 3 production, agreeing with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Vinny's old chestnut......,"why can't everyone be paid the same?"....... utter nonsense.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Vinny's old chestnut......,"why can't everyone be paid the same?"....... utter nonsense.

Yeah he's not furthering the debate with his trolling ****e.

Peter suddenly looking terrified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Someone should answer him by asking if he has requested management at tv3 pay him the same as the lowest paid worker there.

Or someone should ask him if ALL the staff should be paid the same as him?

Go on Collette.

Jaysus this camp guy is annoying.

The three of them are squashed together, Vincent is clinging to the edge of that seat

Have TV3 eloped ax ex-porn camera person to do these close- up shots?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Oh FFS, is that Paddy Manning?

Jaysus this camp guy is annoying.

For a camp guy, I heard he left Fine Gael because it was not right wing enough!

Odd character.

FFS Colette tell Paddy to STFU and stop talking over you like an obnoxious pain in the arse.

I was talking about the TV 3 production, agreeing with you.

lol! I know that! I was kidding!

Odd character.

He seems to have been wheeled on as the televisual equivalent of a shock jock.
    I sincerely hope to never have to hear or see him on telly again. He's odious.

He really is one extremely rude individual talking over her like that.

Who the hell is he anyway?

I first seen him wheeled out as a token "gay against gay marriage".

He really is one extremely rude individual talking over her like that.

Who the hell is he anyway?

Maybe they'll be the best of friends off-set but she genuinely looked offended.

I shuddered when he condescendingly put his hand on hers.
    She should have told him to keep his hands to himself.

He's condescending to everyone who's not some sort of bizarre conservative Catholic libertarian. He's quite shrill when it comes to abortion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Odd character.

As the fella said, he's a bit contrary.

****er just won't stop talking over people.
    Surely this is telly 101.
    Asshole.

****er just won't stop talking over people.
    Surely this is telly 101.
    Asshole.

And a moron!

My dog just ran out of the room in terror.

She probably thought Vinnie was going to headbutt her, poor thing.

no seriously guys what's the story with the camerawork????? back up ffs!

I've just followed my dog out of the room in equal terror.

The sight of Marie Louise O'Dramatic talking shíte has that effect on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

no seriously guys what's the story with the camerawork????? back up ffs!

Thank god it is not be n HD

Back to Newsnight in Scotland for me.