Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v 4.0 (08/07/14 to date)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

It's not exactly a national tragedy that Steph didn't win.........?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

We all know that the Labour old guard such as Rabbitte, Gilmore, Quinn, Lynch etc. will all jump ship like rats before the next election. They'll scoot off with their big ministerial pensions rather than suffering the ignominy of losing their seats.

Ah no Harry, I'd like one more election to cook the Rabbitte's goose...

That girl looks like Morticia.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ireland at the backfront yet again.

At least 230 words per minute.....

VB seems to be very fond of the Journal.ie journalists these days?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    VB seems to be very fond of the Journal.ie journalists these days?

I think he's running out of options Roger!....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

First time I've ever seen an ecig advert I think.

I think he's running out of options Roger!....:(

Yea, that could be it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Ah no Harry, I'd like one more election to cook the Rabbitte's goose...

The low life will deprive you of the pleasure.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Can you say "Bull****ters" on Boards??....:pac:

Or is that one T??

I thought maybe the Irish SH*te Independents League.

ISIL.... No, wait, better think it out again

The low life will deprive you of the pleasure.

I'd love to have a go at his "sure you have to say that in elections" utter bull............

His arrogance and smirk that night must have lost Labour tons of support...

higgen's gibbons jiggens......

Ladies, get it right!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

coolhull wrote: »
    Noel Whelan's father was a FF Councillor in Wexford for many many years. I agree with g-s-w, he's a brilliant statician, and in fairness, he doesn't take sides.

IIRC, didn't he try to build up hype for the Reform Alliance last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Ain't nepotism great? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Is this the same Vincent Browne that gives out about Fianna Fail cronyism?

John seems to have forgotten about the massacre at the 1972 Munich Olympics....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

The guy is such a monumental PRICK it is quite unbelievable. The most obnoxious commentator in the the media today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

John needs to look at a few history books. These events didn't just spring up from nowhere in the last few months.

John seems to have forgotten about the massacre at the 1972 Munich Olympics....

Lot of El Al hijackings as well..

I dont recommend that execution of the syrian soldiers for anyone, other than Adolf Hitler I guess..

Gemma O'Doherty got sacked from the Irish Independent for attempting to expose the penalty points issue.

She won her case in the High Court today.

Free press my ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Very amateur panel tonight with poorly developed and poorly informed arguments, sad really .

Oops69 wrote: »
    Very amateur panel tonight with poorly developed and poorly informed arguments, sad really .

Yeah, could Vincent not get someone better than John McGuirk to disagree with him.

Gemma O'Doherty got sacked from the Irish Independent for attempting to expose the penalty points issue.

She won her case in the High Court today.

Free press my ass.

Which wasn't even mentioned by Denis O'Brien's Newstalk during their news bulletins or talk shows on the day in question. Harry Browne is 100% correct when he said that freedom of the press is only for those who own the press.

The lack of attention given to the Prince Andrew allegations by the British broadcast media is another form of censorship.

They are unwilling to annoy the British Royal Family.

I thought Vincent's nephew was a poor contributor.. I suppose you could give him some slack for the fact that it's his first time on live TV (I think), but the guy is a journalist so you would expect him to be better able to form and deliver his thoughts... Everything he said was interjected with "aaahhh... emmmm"...

And when he was giving out the free plug for his website/twitter at the end, they showed one address at the bottom of the screen showing reported.ly@somethingorother as he was explaining that reportedly was "all the one word"... I'm not even sure which address he was talking about.. You think that the one goal you would have when you get this big opportunity, would be to say your web address clearly and consisely at the end of the show. People can connect to everything else from there..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Good loser

The guy is such a monumental PRICK it is quite unbelievable. The most obnoxious commentator in the the media today.

You mean McGuirk?

I find him a breath of fresh air - he's young and very bright; got the better of the argument with Harry Browne tonight. He's not one for the lazy, left biased boring consensus.

He over eggs things at times. Expect he will do very well in the years ahead.

Incredibly perverse introduction of the topic by VB. Whataboutary run riot!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Good loser wrote: »
    You mean McGuirk?

I find him a breath of fresh air - he's young and very bright; got the better of the argument with Harry Browne tonight. He's not one for the lazy, left biased boring consensus.

He over eggs things at times. Expect he will do very well in the years ahead.

Incredibly perverse introduction of the topic by VB. Whataboutary run riot!

i like him. hes cynical and a straight talker. says it as it is

Strap in and have panadol at the ready.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Vinnie comes on, explains something about a cock up, apologises, then says he's going to speak on behalf of the government for the people of Wickla.

Don't blame him for taking a break already.

Is every constituancy called the microcosm of the country?? They say it about Tipperary too. (Previously north)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Is this it. Then two of them .

The way the audience laughed at the 'Continuity Fine Gael' quip, you'd think they had been locked in a barn for the previous week.

We heard they have no hospital in Wickla, but do they have TV and radio there? Interweb even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I think I'd like to attend one of these debates, it could be a bit a craic.

The skill set speak makes me cringe something awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I can bring my skill set to the table, going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

This is a bit like the teacher sketch from D'unbelievables.
    "Is that ri...iight?"

If Stephen Donnelly names his party the raving loony party I will vote for him.

Code for - I'm chancing my arm.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I think I'd like to attend one of these debates, it could be a bit a craic.

I'm trying to get for tickets to the Galway West one but can't find the email address to apply.

As soon as yer muppet said the words 'skill-set' there, I knew Vinnie would put him in the toaster.

This is a bit like the teacher sketch from D'unbelievables.
    "Is that ri...iight?"

If Stephen Donnelly names his party the raving loony party I will vote for him.
    I'd love to know what his plans are, he says he won't join Lucinda or Shane. I wonder if he'll start something himself.

Lapin wrote: »
    I'm trying to get for tickets to the Galway West one but can't find the email address to apply.

As soon as yer muppet said the words 'skill-set' there, I knew Vinnie would put him in the toaster.
    You can apply here.

http://www.tv3.ie/vincent_browne_form.php

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I think Stephen Donnelly is one of the better T.Ds (there's not much competition)

Profit before people. :D
    Gotta love Vinny

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I hope the Skill set guy sees a doctor, looked like he was ready to collapse when under pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

People before profit, equals less profits, more cuts, less people.

Subtitles please?

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'd love to know what his plans are, he says he won't join Lucinda or Shane. I wonder if he'll start something himself.

I would have thought himself and Shane Ross were natural enough bedfellows (so to speak).

Incidentally just on Shane Ross. Little known fact is he suggested Seanie Fitz would be a good central bank governor.

Stand up boy!!! Geddup!!

Cloud Cuckoo Land. People before profit are a bunch of mutters.

So is this shiner. Nicely answered VB :D

Go way out of that. This guy is fecking loaded. He was in a band that cleaned up in the sixties.