Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going over to NZ

Options
  • 10-07-2014 8:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭

Done the whole oz thing, I would love to go back to oz but want to try my hand at NZ first. Just looking some advice , I am travelling alone although I've mates in Christchurch and Auckland , I am edging towards Auckland. I am a mechanic I am wondering what wages I should expect, I was able to save a fair bit in Sydney but I know New Zealand is different

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭ben10afc

Anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭on_my_oe

It all depends on whether or not you are diesel or petrol qualified, and length of experience, but in Auckland you are probably looking at $23-$27 p/hr. Mechanics usually work 8-5.30 m-f and 8--1 on Saturdays.

Have a look at trademe.co.nz (the Kiwi version of Boards/Adverts)... Lots have a telephone number or an email address, and as the time difference is 11hrs, easy for you to give them a call at night for a chat

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭ben10afc

on_my_oe wrote: »
    It all depends on whether or not you are diesel or petrol qualified, and length of experience, but in Auckland you are probably looking at $23-$27 p/hr. Mechanics usually work 8-5.30 m-f and 8--1 on Saturdays.

Have a look at trademe.co.nz (the Kiwi version of Boards/Adverts)... Lots have a telephone number or an email address, and as the time difference is 11hrs, easy for you to give them a call at night for a chat