Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Brazil v Netherlands, World Cup 3rd/4th Place Playoff, 9PM 7/12/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

The graphic....'First goal in this football game' lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

"First goal in this football game"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Wow.
    No real analysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Is the Apres Match commentary meant to be funny?

Its not even as interesting as normal commentary, and thats saying something.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

"That's the difference between nappies and jocks".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Corholio wrote: »
    Part of it is that but the gaping openness about them isn't explained by that. Very poor teams keep it tight against very good teams all the time.

I think Scolari completely overrates his attacking players and plays so open that way.

And there are no midfielders at all.

Terrible team, badly positioned and with no idea what to do with the ball.

As much as I love to make jokes about Luiz, he is one of very few who make an effort. This will cost them more goals as a centre is the last player you want to make this kind of efforts.

Lorenzo!

Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

syklops wrote: »
    Is the Apres Match commentary meant to be funny?

Its not even as interesting as normal commentary, and thats saying something.

Sssh.. you can't say that about this "comedy" around here.

Very poor though allowing a 2 minute comedy skit pass as proper coverage for a full match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Lorenzo haha :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Brian Kerr's commentary is much more entertaining than the apres match analysis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Still a better defender than David Luiz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Anyone else get the feeling the Apres Match lads read boards? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Dose anybody have any insight into why PSG paid all that money on a waste of space, i mean what was their reason?

Trap impressions and all.. seriously, this nonsense is just cringeworthy!

That Lorenzo thing is one of my highlights of the whole cup.

Dose anybody have any insight into why PSG paid all that money on a waste of space, i mean what was there reason?
    Basically because they have loads of it.

See also: Schevchenko and Chelsea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Brilliant stuff. Anyone not finding this funny needs to check their pulse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭irishmays

Dose anybody have any insight into why PSG paid all that money on a waste of space, i mean what was there reason?
    Trying to bring back the perm obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Dose anybody have any insight into why PSG paid all that money on a waste of space, i mean what was their reason?
    6459964581_602ca310b4_z.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

David Luiz and/or Chelsea have scandalous information on the PSG money man. It;s the only reason I can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,606 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Ozil having his usual lacklustre game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

brilliant from Apres, brilliant the keeper pointing to Lorenzo hahaha

Tobyglen wrote: »
    Brilliant stuff. Anyone not finding this funny needs to check their pulse.

I generally like all sorts of comedy - from stand-up to spoofs to those really "just dumb" comedy films, but this just is not funny.. and certainly not for 2 hours!

Because they can.

Luiz is a decent player, he just found himself in wrong place at wrong time.

Didn't he score a beautiful goal not so long ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

He's not as much of a waste of space as Lorenzo! At least Luiz gets the odd goal

'He's the captain of the dutch people'

I dunno. He's made some good runs into the end zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Trap impressions and all.. seriously, this nonsense is just cringeworthy!

Back to Gordon Ramsay for me. If your going to do on the fly comedy, you need to be funny. Being funny with rehearsed stuff isnt easy, on the fly is very difficult. Commentating on a soccer game and making it funny is very very hard. Its no surprise they can't do it. So why are they on the TV?

"Eamonn talking through his hoop."

Priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

"Eamonn talking through his hoop"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,226 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I generally like all sorts of comedy - from stand-up to spoofs to those really "just dumb" comedy films, but this just is not funny.. and certainly not for 2 hours!

It's not for two hours though. Over the course of the two hours, the Apres Match lads are probably on for about 20-25 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Why don't people that want real analysis on a nothing game switch the channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

Old joke is old. And not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

syklops wrote: »
    Back to Gordon Ramsay for me. If your going to do on the fly comedy, you need to be funny. Being funny with rehearsed stuff isnt easy, on the fly is very difficult. Commentating on a soccer game and making it funny is very very hard. Its no surprise they can't do it. So why are they on the TV?
    Because they're hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Theres absolutely nothing wrong with neymar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭irishmays

wonski wrote: »
    Because they can.

Luiz is a decent player, he just found himself in wrong place at wrong time.

Didn't he score a beautiful goal not so long ago?

The man is a liability you sir are a Chelsea fan

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

I am going for 5 fouls for Fernandinho before he gets a yellow card.

Robin van Bersie

Fernandinho on for Gustavo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

J. Marston wrote: »
    The two of them are probably sitting there with a bag of cans.

Dutch Gold.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Seven Brazilian players in the penalty box for the second goal...and no-one less than 15m away from Blind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

It's for less than 30 mins and it's top class stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

It is funny and it's not for 2 hours, just the analysis.

People take things far too seriously.

Apres Match presenting this game is far better than that awful shyt that was on last night 'Callans kicks' or fecking mario rosenstock and they get 30 minute episodes

I guess I just don't see the "humour" in the same not-particularly-funny-to-begin-with sketch being repeated over and over.

Each to their own though!

irishmays wrote: »
    The man is a liability you sir are a Chelsea fan

No, I am not. I watch the game.

Who was the top player for the Brazil team in this game then, let's leave Oscar out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Whiniest thread of 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

"The Fry"

Whiniest thread of 2014.

id say the Garth Brooks thread in AH is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

BsX1aMAIAAAW2o0.jpg