Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farewell Bill O'Herlihy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

All the best Bill, you've been an entertaining host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

George Hamilton paying a nice tribute to Bill in his final handover there, classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

briany wrote: »
    What are the odds on Eamon breaking down crying?

And john leading a sing song.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Ha ha ha ha

I'll miss that laugh :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

"let's ask the senior analyst"

he'll be missed. an institution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Skid X wrote: »
    George Hamilton paying a nice tribute to Bill in his final handover there, classy.

Just as he said it, the camera cut to the Argentinian players crying. They were obviously aware of tonight's significance

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Cmack

Jaysus didn't realize this was going to be it for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

looks like he's getting a decent send off.
    Well done Bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

So long Bill. End of an era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

OFkCTpO.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

That surprise was so fake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Oh this is actually very sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

Absolute legend :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Its dust, I fcuking swear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Cryinggifs_01_1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Quite sad actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Aw fcuk! Where's me bloody tissues. Happy retirement Bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

The mans a legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Dunphy 'just watch...baby'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Just caught the end of that ... Was lovely.
    Thank you Bill for so many years of understated service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

sneaky with the grandkids at the end, nearly set off bill's waterworks. but he's too much a pro to let that happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I'd say they will have some piss up tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Can't stand Bill, said nobody ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It'll be hard to replace that fellow. Fair play Bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I think I have something in my eye... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Any videos of the farewell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

Sad times. End of an era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

and we'll leave it there

a true legend, gonna be missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Thanks for all the memories bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭flutered

thanks for the memorys bill, you will be a hard act to follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭murphzor

Thank you Bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

I'm going to miss that man on the TV. Great sense of humour & interactions with the panel over the decades (Decades! Jaysus!). I can't remember a time when he wasn't on the TV!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Only downside to the montage was Enda Kenny, can't stand him. Probably switch now since Bill is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

nuxxx wrote: »
    Only downside to the montage was Enda Kenny, can't stand him. Probably switch now since Bill is gone

Not the time for ****e like that, it's a farewell montage don't go criticising anybody in it. The videos for Bill, not you, and I'm sure Bill is delighted to receive a congratulations from the Taoiseach.

This thread is about Bill, not your views on other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

In a sort-of "J'accuse" mode, I never particularly liked the way that Bill acted as a gom, and pretended that he knew less than he knew. He seems to constantly reference this, as if it's a positive trait. For me, it's just dumbing down for the sake of dumbing down. Still, I'm gonna miss the cute Cork hoor.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Humpty Dunphy, Bill, Giles and the other fella can't think of his name right now look as if they all broke out of some old folks home last time I saw them on tv :eek:

Anyone remember Giles old saying "grand job 100%" ?

That other fella you can't think of is Liam Brady!! The most technically gifted Irish player ever. One of the top players of his generation in Europe, oh and he was part of the Irish team's set-up until a couple of years ago so I don't think you need to worry about giving your opinion as you must know as much about football as me granny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

You a mod around these here parts Bobby? I can give my opinion and and that's what came to my mind watching the montage besides the emotional aspect to it. I wish Bill, the man, all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Not the time for ****e like that, it's a farewell montage don't go criticising anybody in it. The videos for Bill, not you, and I'm sure Bill is delighted to receive a congratulations from the Taoiseach.

This thread is about Bill, not your views on other people.

Exactly. And now that Arthur's day is finished, I say we have a one off Bill's day. To Bill :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

TallyRand wrote: »
    That other fella you can't think of is Liam Brady!! The most technically gifted Irish player ever. One of the top players of his generation in Europe, oh and he was part of the Irish team's set-up until a couple of years ago so I don't think you need to worry about giving your opinion as you must know as much about football as me granny.

And a man who was shamefully left out of Jack Charlton's set-up because he had a mind of his own and had more natural talent in his little finger than the rest of them put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

TallyRand wrote: »
    Steady on there granddad, I know it's only your second post and all but the rules are attack the post not the poster ;)

Bill collecting his notes for the last time

BsdUrOcIMAEuwC4.jpg:large

Bill collecting his notes for the last time

Aw, Jesus... :(

DazMarz wrote: »
    Aw, Jesus... :(

It is fairly sad. I've grown up watching football and every time Ireland played or there was a tournament, it was Bill who would greet me on the TV.

:(:(

It is fairly sad. I've grown up watching football and every time Ireland played or there was a tournament and it was Bill that would greet me on the TV.

:(:(

Same here. It's the proper end of an era. He's been doing this since before I was even born. Bill was a huge part of my growing up and watching football.

It's been great. A wonderful presenter and I hope he has all the happiness in the world in his retirement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

KungPao wrote: »
    Being a 33 year old who grew up watching Bill and the boys from 1990 onwards (don't really remember 1988), I was very sad too see Bill finish up tonight. I love the WC and always feels grim when it ends, but to also see Bill having his last hurrah made me feel a bit frown.png Thanks Bill, we'll never forget you and your winding up of the panel...for many years! Enjoy the retirement smile.png

I should have posted this here...Thanks Bill for the memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

46 years.....jaysis