Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Notes in OP 24/08

• Moderators Posts: 8,726 ✭✭✭x PyRo

We've signed Welbeck. Got a feeling he's going to surprise a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Just been made official. Welcome Danny Welbeck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Raf32 wrote: »
    BwfCF_DIgAAlXdA.jpg

Yes, we have the weakest out of all those teams.. But Chelsea's aint that great.

Yes Costa beats - Giroud,Welbeck and Sanogo.
    But Giroud Beats - Drogba and Remy.

I'd also say long term Welbeck beats Remy and he's defo better than Drogba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    So you're basically saying you'd prefer Sonago over Welbeck?
    For your own sake you probably shouldn't answer.

Someone other than Welbeck.

I'm trying to get phsyched for him, but we can't lie to ourselves.

Deep down we all know he's probably going to be a disaster and a bench warmer at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Ya, Giroud who got 2 more goals while playing 10 more league games.

Arsenal missed a trick and about 8million in not signing Remy, especially over welbeck.

Im a but meh about Remy but at that price its pretty cheap to what you're getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Y2KBOS86 wrote: »
    Someone other than Welbeck.

I'm trying to get phsyched for him, but we can't lie to ourselves.

Deep down we all know he's probably going to be a disaster and a bench warmer at best.

A bench warmer to who? Sanogo?

I do believe youre talking out your arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Have a feeling Welbeck will do very good for Arsenal, sad to see a homegrown player leave united, but with game time I reckon he could turn out to be a nice surprise for you lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Best of luck to Welbeck, he divided United fans but it's a sad day to see an academy player leave the club;

2f62ebd0-6c90-430d-98b5-c7ef94e5eee2.jpg

NUTZZ wrote: »
    Welbeck done officially! 15-16 million long term deal on SSN now

He is going to frustrate the **** out of us, he will make Giroud look a world class finisher.

I won't say any more and will give him this season.

But **** he's going to be like a young Adebayor only 10 times worse, will be getting caught off side all the time, miss sitters, won't be able to trap a bag of cement.

It's going to be a long painfully season.

Arsene will have some job polishing Danny up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Ya, Giroud who got 2 more goals while playing 10 more league games.

Arsenal missed a trick and about 8million in not signing Remy, especially over welbeck.

Im a but meh about Remy but at that price its pretty cheap to what you're getting.

In fairness I've been a critic of Giroud but I'd have him every day of the week over Remy.

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    A bench warmer to who? Sanogo?

I do believe youre talking out your arse

Giroud is not going to be injured forever, Campbell will prove his worth too.

Do you see Danny playing on the wing for us?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

F*ck it, he's better than yaya.

Himself theo and alexis will be pacey, he'll make runs and offer us something different to OG.

Welcome Danny, better than no signing.

(wenger still should have got a proper defensive Midfielder in)

In fairness I've been a critic of Giroud but I'd have him every day of the week over Remy.

Giroud is a very good player, improving all the time, not that much between himself and Benzema.

It's not his fault the likes of Ozil, Ox, Cazorla don't do enough.

Only Theo and Ramsey are at the required level in terms of goals and assists, Sanchez will be in with them and I hope Campbell gets the chance to prove himself.

He could be a 10 goal/ 5 assists a season guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

We signed Di Maria and Falcao and I'm just left feeling a bit gutted ye got Welbeck.

He's got pace to burn and is a work horse. He's also intelligent. His finishing has been stunted by erratic starts and being shunted out onto the wing. The finishing will improve by starting up front.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Never mind Welbeck. 2 senior centre halves until January at the earliest is appalling mismanagement.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Some of the reactions here are a bit unfair on Welbeck, he is most certainly not useless. His goal record is skewed by the fact he rarely played in his preferred position up front, and when he did it was usually short lived. When he actually did get a prolonged run up front he had a decent scoring spell. I think starting up front for Arsenal regularly, with the supply he'll get from your midfield, he'll do very well and surprise alot of people. Alot of people look at his goals record and automatically think he's poor, which is nonsense. His all round game has developed very well, but his finishing has let him down, but this should improve when he plays up front regularly. I'd have much rathered sell Hernandez and loan out Welbeck than the other way around.

Sad to see him go, but realistically he wasn't going to start much up front for Utd this season, and Arsenal is a good move for him. I just fear he'll blossom now and Arsenal will get the best years of a Utd youth product. I'm not saying he'll do as well as Sturridge is at Liverpool, but I definitely see parallels in their situations before leaving their clubs, and Welbeck can benefit from a move in the same way Sturridge has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

This thread is so different on deadline day. Cannot wait for normal activity again.

shrewdness wrote: »
    Some of the reactions here are a bit unfair on Welbeck, he is most certainly not useless. His goal record is skewed by the fact he rarely played in his preferred position up front, and when he did it was usually short lived. When he actually did get a prolonged run up front he had a decent scoring spell. I think starting up front for Arsenal regularly, with the supply he'll get from your midfield, he'll do very well and surprise alot of people. Alot of people look at his goals record and automatically think he's poor, which is nonsense. His all round game has developed very well, but his finishing has let him down, but this should improve when he plays up front regularly. I'd have much rathered sell Hernandez and loan out Welbeck than the other way around.

Sad to see him go, but realistically he wasn't going to start much up front for Utd this season, and Arsenal is a good move for him. I just fear he'll blossom now and Arsenal will get the best years of a Utd youth product. I'm not saying he'll do as well as Sturridge is at Liverpool, but I definitely see parallels in their situations before leaving their clubs, and Welbeck can benefit from a move in the same way Sturridge has.

This Arsenal your talking about.

Not Villa!!

If he's not good enough for the worst United team in 20 years, he's not good enough for us.

Sorry I am coming across aggressive.

We act so small time, it's sickening

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

At least we didn't grt shafted like chelsea did to us last season with ba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Not Villa!!

If he's not good enough for the worst United team in 20 years, he's not good enough for us.

What qualifies you to make a statement like that? The United fans are, for the most part, gutted to see him leave. They've seen 10x more of him than us I reckon, so why would they be disappointed to see him leave if he's as bad as you make out? The transfer window is closed, thank christ, and we have our extra striker, so let's move on and hope Welbeck does a job for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Not Villa!!

No he wasn't good enough to cement a starting forward spot for Utd, but he did have Rooney and Van Persie ahead of him! He's only 23 and will only improve.

The glaring weaknesses in the team were further back, hardly Welbeck's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

He has looked better than RVP over the last year and has easily been amongst our top 5 best players which isn't bad with Mata and Rooney in your squad. He just was never given the chance that Wenger will give him sadly.

His link up play is excellent and he will compliment your midfield from the get go I have no doubt. And the goals will come.

dorgasm wrote: »
    What qualifies you to make a statement like that? The United fans are, for the most part, gutted to see him leave. They've seen 10x more of him than us I reckon, so why would they be disappointed to see him leave if he's as bad as you make out? The transfer window is closed, thank christ, and we have our extra striker, so let's move on and hope Welbeck does a job for us.

I was sorry to see Aliadiere and Quincy go as well, young lads, full of pace, energy.

They weren't good enough, odds on Welbeck is the same.

We all have seen him play numerous times.

I watch a lot of United, for laugh the days ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

His goal on his league debut...not bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Welbeck will give his all, you got a good player, he moved for the right reasons, he wants to play.
    I hope he does well for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

RobertKK wrote: »
    Welbeck will give his all, you got a good player, he moved for the right reasons, he wants to play.
    I hope he does well for ye.

Think your right, he's like Sanogo but with ball control and experience.

Last season we looked so static and slow with Carzola and Podolski out on the wing and Giroud up front.

Walcott, Welbeck and Sanchez = pace to burn and a lot of potential to do damage there.

Especially with guys like Ozil, Carzola, Wilshere and Ramsey supplying them.

Future looks bright if we can avoid defensive injuries till January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

United fans not really happy about it, arsenal fans not really happy about it.

He's not really of the quality to take us to the next step, that said he's not as awful as people are making out, finishing is poor but he can also hit a hot streak, I think 16m is a decent price.

The fact a lot of United fans the people who would have seen Welbeck most aren't happy with him leaving has to mean something.

There disappointment at him leaving has somewhat made me more enthusiastic about his arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭kevinroche3333

6 first team defenders as per club website
    Just one injury at centre back and we are going to have a 19yr old on the pitch and completely inexperienced 19yr old on the bench
    It's a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

omega man wrote: »
    What decent CBs were available that would have been willing to sit on the bench for most of the season?

We've had our fair share of absolute stinkers in the past as 3rd/4th choice CBs remember, which cost us.

I believe any CB we bring in would have to be competition to kos and mert and then there's the risk of any of them wanting out as like with TV.

Just a thought.
    Well how comeost other teams can manage to find someone but we can't?

Liverpool have agger, skrtel, sakho and lovren.

omega man wrote: »
    What decent CBs were available that would have been willing to sit on the bench for most of the season?

We've had our fair share of absolute stinkers in the past as 3rd/4th choice CBs remember, which cost us.

I believe any CB we bring in would have to be competition to kos and mert and then there's the risk of any of them wanting out as like with TV.

Just a thought.

Had Agger.

Agger is gone to Bronby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Don't see what Wenger has against Podolski. 28 goals in 70 games and he signs Welbeck who has 29 in 142!

Now the dust has settled, a few general thoughts I have about the transfer window, and team in general:

- Although people always want more spent (including myself) , we ended up with the second highest net spend.

- Realistically, the writing was on the wall regarding a specialist DM when Arteta was made captain.

- Too much hope has been put in Joel Campbell by a lot of people. He's far from being a prolific goal scorer, and he isn't the speed merchant a lot of people make out. I'm still glad we held on to him, though.

- I really think Welbeck will do well. I know stats can be deceiving, but his scoring rate per 90 minutes played is above Rooney, RVP....and of course well above Giroud.

Overall, I'm happy enough with the team, just a little short at the back.

L'prof wrote: »
    Don't see what Wenger has against Podolski. 28 goals in 70 games and he signs Welbeck who has 29 in 142!

In fairness there two completely different players in terms of how they play. I like Podolski excellent finisher but he has been tried numerous times as our CF and it hasn't worked.

I'm suprised he is still here was sure one of him Campbell or Gnabry would have been loaned or sold.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Not mind blowing but Welbeck can do a job. We were too slow at times last season and with Welback, Alexis and the return of Theo we will add loads of pace.

All of Wengers great teams have had pace. Windows closed time to get behind the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

L'prof wrote: »

In Welbeck's 6 games up front last season he had 6 goals. Mostly played on the wing and you know, been very young for those appearances. A lot of them would have been sub appearances too and not getting a run of games at that. I think he's going to be an absolute star for Arsenal if played through the middle.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

What squad number did Welbeck get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

The number of goals he's gonna get this season

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Welbeck to outscore falcao and balotelli

Hon Danny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Moat_Cailin

Not Villa!!

We would have said the same about Sturridge too. We aren't in a position to go crazy like other teams. We've got our stadium and through a rough patch. We've now signed Ozil and Alexis the last two seasons. So we are steadily growing in that department.

Our British core of players is superb. Ox, Walcott, Ramsey, Wilshere, Chambers and now Welbeck. This guy is far from the finished article, but, he's a talent and I think he will score goals and will be a great contrast from Giroud when he returns.

There's negatives to all teams ours included. I'm looking at the positives, because, I think there's plenty.

Yeah nothing we can do now might aswell get behind him and the team now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

Yeah nothing we can do now might aswell get behind him and the team now.

Exactly.. We all know it's not what we wanted but the more I think about, the more I'm hopeful he can do well for us. I'm just gutted we didn't strengthen defensively as I can see us getti grilled over again in the big away games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

I'm excited about Welbeck yet very annoying about our CB situation.

6/10 window for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

TBH I am not overly unhappy with this transfer window. We have signed a World Class player in Alexis, we replaced Sagna with Debuchy the man keeping him out of the French team, Chambers looks like he could be a super star, Ospina is an international keeper and now Welbeck who could come good for us and at worst if sold on should recoup his fee.

The problem as everyone else has identified is the CB cover. If Per or Kos get injured then it's going to be squeaky bum time unless Wenger is going to convert Sanogo into a Defender (ekkkkk, he'll probably start scoring ogs!)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I hope Hayden gets his chance in the league cup and he takes it looks to be a proper player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Wenger has really given his detractors serious ammunition this window.
    Finish 20 points behind the league winners and its, if x or y hadnt got injured, if only he'd reinforced our defence and not left us thin on cover.
    Finish 2 points behind the league winners and its, if x or y hadnt got injured, if only he'd reinforced our defence and not left us thin on cover.

The only way he will survive this is if he somehow manages to win the league, even his most loyal backers seem to be having a few doubts now