Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Notes in OP 24/08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Sick of Ozil at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

Jack answering his critics today big time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Our pressing has improved immensely, Sanchez brings the right attitude to the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

wonga77 wrote: »
    Our pressing has improved immensely, Sanchez brings the right attitude to the team

Welbeck too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

omega man wrote: »
    Jack answering his critics today big time

Wilshere has been our best midfielder so far this season.

Wow

That looked bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Here goes our strength to in depth argument

We have no back up cb now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Ah its grand sure didn't we sign 2 centre backs on deadline day jus...........wait what ???..........Ah ****

Here goes our strength to in depth argument

We have no back up cb now.

Yep that could be a season ending injury. I pray not but if anything more than a month and we're already an injury away from absolute disaster

What a co@k up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Im amazed that ox hasnt been brought on yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Welbeck for the winner injury time, its a fairytale ending.

Flamini is ****en useless.

Pathetic finish to this game, really pathetic.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,409 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

That feels like a loss tbh.

That feels like a defeat. We could have made a huge statement of intent today.

In saying that with those late city chances we could easily have lost. Still some impressive performances so there are positives. We can't be written off just yet but the away games at city etc will be the real test.

Some good performances, some poor. Doesn't look like a turning point, more of the same really.

Debuchy injury could leave us just a little bit stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Plenty of positives out of today lads. Not the best result but main thing is we avoided defeat. This team has a bit of bite in it we will go very close this season.

Some good performances, some poor. Doesn't look like a turning point, more of the same really.

Debuchy injury could leave us just a little bit stuck.

Just a little bit??

Were ****ed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

I'm pissed we allowed a set piece let them back into it.

Nothing wrong going forward today - great goals and Welbeck looked decent.

Conceding that second goal from a set piece was criminal.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,409 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Plenty of positives out of today lads. Not the best result but main thing is we avoided defeat. This team has a bit of bite in it we will go very close this season.

Same as last season so far really, we played well at home to City last season too. Drawing at home to the big sides has been par the course (bar beating Liverpool), we need to turn those into wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ozil... wtf

Can't help but feel like that's two points dropped.

Still not a bad result and some good performances and a decent enough debut for Welbeck if only that chance had gone in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

The injury killed our momentum big time

Happy with the draw

That was an excellent game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

We just lack the killer instinct and can't seem to close out a big game.

Thought Chez was poor enough for their second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

That was a very weird game. Decent result and fair on the balance of things, but feels like a loss a bit. Some very good things but also some terrible stuff. Wenger doesn't seem to think he's allowed use substitutions any more.

Wilshere played well, even apart from the goal and assist. Everyone else was a bit all over the place, good one minute and bad the next. Our two goals were lovely but defending poor for the second City goal and we could have easily conceded more. The injuries to Debuchy and Welbeck were just what we needed. Down to no centre back cover now if Chambers has to play right back. Hayden may have to make a big step up.

It was the injury that ****ed us , Alot of our belief went out the window I felt after that, Debuchy was immense up to the injury , City would have been glad to see him off

85175027f04b709c3fe70ae67760caad.png

Hes really getting back to his best now, no surprise its when hes stayed fit for a number of games in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

showed a good bit of fight today. Disappointed but not too disappointed. The debuchy injury worries me. he was given oxygen and all

Has to be said - Ramsey was poor today. Granted he is back from a niggle but I expected that he would be better than he was, didn't have an influence on the game.

There the types of games you win to prove your title credentials. We just arent on that level yet and were hanging on at the end. 3rd/4th still looks the realistic target unless Wenger sorts his tactics out and signs the proper players needed. Wilshere looked incredible today.

Raf32 wrote: »
    There the types of games you win to prove your title credentials. We just arent on that level yet and were hanging on at the end. 3rd/4th still looks the realistic target unless Wenger sorts his tactics out and signs the proper players needed. Wilshere looked incredible today.

What was wrong with the tactics today?

HazDanz wrote: »
    Has to be said - Ramsey was poor today. Granted he is back from a niggle but I expected that he would be better than he was, didn't have an influence on the game.

It's worrying that he's been poor all season, he had no world cup so should have been well rested and raring to go.

Needs to cut out the photshoots and concentrate on football more.

Ospina might be getting a look in soon. Terrible distribution from Szc today and could have done better on the second goal.

jonny666 wrote: »
    What was wrong with the tactics today?

Ozil out the left. Either play him centrally or not at all imo

Ozil did move into the middle for the last 20 mins or so and looked a lot better

Ozil out the left. Either play him centrally or not at all imo

Ozil wasnt really on the left though. He popped up in the middle and on the right all match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Ospina might be getting a look in soon. Terrible distribution from Szc today and could have done better on the second goal.

Scez saved us today

Jaafa wrote: »
    Scez saved us today

He should have trusted the man on the post for the second goal though. Why have someone on the post if you are not going to allow him to head it clear when in his position? Frustrating watching what happened for the 2nd.

Yup, I'd now be of the opinion that Ospina should start.

City's equaliser gets worse every time I see it.

Also at 2-1 up why can't wenger close things up instead of playing the same out and out attacking play?? Nothings changed.......

If debuchy is long term then it'll be interesting hearing wengers explanation.

So Ospina should now start over Sczez.

Szcez is one of the best keepers in the league and has proved it time and time again.

How many calling for Ospina have seen him play regularly? He hasn't even played one game for Arsenal and people are calling for him to start over our long term no1 ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I dont disagree but jaysus he pulled an absolute worldy out of the bag from Dzeko, only for that save we were beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

So Ospina should now start over Sczez.

Szcez is one of the best keepers in the league and has proved it time and time again.

How many calling for Ospina have seen him play regularly? He hasn't even played one game for Arsenal and people are calling for him to start over our long term no1 ridiculous.

Ospina is good... But no way should he start over Szczesny.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I dont disagree but jaysus he pulled an absolute worldy out of the bag from Dzeko, only for that save we were beaten.

Oh agreed but his distribution was awful today and put us under so much pressure. Combined that with Citys second goal. I genuinely think he has been poor this season anyways.

He shouldn't be replaced, not a chance. I felt however for set pieces they should be his bread and butter in terms of positioning and awareness of what is expected from people who are on the line. If he didn't stretch across to save the second, it would not have gone in. Improvement needed there for games going forward from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Impressed with Welbeck and Sanchez is world class

Still more to come from this team we won't be far off I feel

Impressed with Welbeck and Sanchez is world class

Still more to come from this team we won't be far off I feel

We weren't far off today, one or two small things needed to change and we will be there.

From a goal down to grafting to 2-1 up was excellent. Such a shame we eroded that super attacking play for the lead for a bloody set piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

BT sport has gone to the rugby before Wengers interview :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

A draw was probably a fair result.. Debuchy Injury is worrying to say the least. Disappointed with Ozil today but Wilshere was excellent through out..