Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Notes in OP 24/08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,428 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Fairly hedging his bets there...

Are those lads total bluffers though?
    I could guess and have as much accuracy as they have had in the past I feel.
    Anyway didn't Wenger say we will/might see some action after the 15th?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

He may as well just say, it might rain tomorrow. Well, it might...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Arsenal seems to be a closed shop this year not much information getting out

These lads in the know are struggling big time in this window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Arsenal seems to be a closed shop this year not much information getting out

These lads in the know are struggling big time in this window

Yes the Debuchy deal was well highlighted but Chambers came from nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

They hinted at Sanchez this year before it happened.

As I said, this one is very wishy washy but there doesn't seem to be much coming out of anyone this year.

The journalists def have no clue

There linking us with enough people so when we sign someone they can point back and say as we reported two months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

In fairness only chambers really came out of nowhere, Sanchez, Ospina and Debuchy were all called ahead of time by different journalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Jaafa wrote: »
    In fairness only chambers really came out of nowhere, Sanchez, Ospina and Debuchy were all called ahead of time by different journalists.

the debuchy rumours were helped along by the man himself given that he removed all the newcastle stuff from his official twitter and the likes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Jeremy Wilson and David Ornstein are both very good when it comes to Arsenal transfers. Get it right alot.

And Jeremy Wilson wrote an article in April linking us with Chambers. He defiently knows what hes talking about.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/arsenal/10783605/Arsenal-eye-move-for-Southamptons-Calum-Chambers-with-continuing-doubts-over-future-of-Bacary-Sagna.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

The only 3 I pay attention to are geoffarsenal Dean and adamarsenal

The rest don't even pay attention to.

David Ornstein is reliable but get his news directly from the club and usually just confirms what the above three have already said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

The only 3 I pay attention to are geoffarsenal Dean and adamarsenal

The rest don't even pay attention to.

David Ornstein is reliable but get his news directly from the club and usually just confirms what the above three have already said.

I never came across adamarsenal, will give him a follow. Darren is also fairly reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Raf32 wrote: »
    I never came across adamarsenal, will give him a follow. Darren is also fairly reliable.

Sorry got them confused long day my baby daughter arrived last night.

Meant darrenArsenal but adamarsenal is worth a follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Congrats! Get her indoctrinated in the Arsenal way early :cool:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

And that fellow Gooners is dedication to the Arsenal thread

Congratulations!

Congrats man, another Gooner so!

Well done Marty. Best wishes to all.
    A good Arsenal related name now required, maybe Denise after Bergkamp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Well done Marty. Best wishes to all.
    A good Arsenal related name now required, maybe Denise after Bergkamp?

Or Henry-etta :pac:

Congrats Marty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Congrats Marty.

Alexis is a popular name atm :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Congrats Marty.

Remember sons wreck your house daughters wreck your head.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Congrats Marty!

Gunnersaurus McFly has a good ring to it. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭ronjo

Congrats Marty, I have 2 of them and now live in a pink house !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Congrats Marty! How about Thomasina after Mickey Thomas?! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Congrats Marty.

Lauren has a nice ring to it :)

Some poor fecker following the thread will be expecting a new arrival with all the sudden activity.

They will get what the were looking for but not what they expected :)

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Congratulations Marty!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

Brilliant, congrats and you're even on here so soon.....who said men can't multitask! (Although I guess mother and baby are obviously still in hospital so enjoy the calm before the storm!). Ive a 2 week old at home too.....although I really wish I had thought of some of these fantastic arsenal name suggestions ;-)

Congrats Marty! How about Thomasina after Mickey Thomas?! :p

Which Mickey Thomas?:p

One of them known as a hero to Gooners for his 1989 exploits in a certain match and the other known as the man who put us out of the 1992 FA cup with Wrexham.

Thomas.jpg
    mickey-thomas_802794c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Paj

Congratulations Marty, may young YayaSanogo McFly be as passionate a gooner as every there was!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Paj wrote: »
    Congratulations Marty, may young YayaSanogo McFly be as passionate a gooner as every there was!

Nah, it's got to be Miyaichi McFly.

Congrats!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Raf32 wrote: »
    Alexis is a popular name atm :P

Congrats Marty, Alexis Ramsey Mcfly wouldn't bad either...:D

Just go the whole hog.

Arsina McFly.

Congratulations fella!

No Denise McFly it is.
    It's prophetic and just what we needed.
    Look at her initials lads DMF (Defensive Mid-Fielder).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Sign her up Wenger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Does anybody think Wilshere could be transformed into a sort of modern day defensive midfielder? I think he has the game to sit deep and start our build up play, but I just don't think he has the discipline to hold his position and his distribution can be suspect at times. As much as I like Arteta I think he hasn't got the legs any more to play this role against the top teams in England and Europe. If Jack could evolve his game to play DMF it would free up that space in the centre for Ozil who is much better playing ahead of the midfield 2 in behind the striker and pulling the strings, instead of on the wing where he is wasted imo (doesn't track back enough for my liking).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Does anybody think Wilshere could be transformed into a sort of modern day defensive midfielder? I think he has the game to sit deep and start our build up play, but I just don't think he has the discipline to hold his position and his distribution can be suspect at times. As much as I like Arteta I think he hasn't got the legs any more to play this role against the top teams in England and Europe. If Jack could evolve his game to play DMF it would free up that space in the centre for Ozil who is much better playing ahead of the midfield 2 in behind the striker and pulling the strings, instead of on the wing where he is wasted imo (doesn't track back enough for my liking).

In a nutshell no.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I liked how we set up at he weekend with 2 "box to box" midfielders ahead of Arteta. Seemed to suit Jack and Ramsey really well and is a good alternative to our usual formation. Don't think we'll see Jack playing in the Arteta/Flamini role at any point.

(Yes I read the arseblog tactics column :P)

CatInABox wrote: »
    Nah, it's got to be Miyaichi McFly.

Congrats!
    Congrats Marty, Alexis Ramsey Mcfly wouldn't bad either...:D
    No Denise McFly it is.
    It's prophetic and just what we needed.
    Look at her initials lads DMF (Defensive Mid-Fielder).

Guys Guys Guys....It has to be Pascale (feminine version) after Cygan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Guys Guys Guys....It has to be Pascale (feminine version) after Cygan
    Or Nichola:D

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I liked how we set up at he weekend with 2 "box to box" midfielders ahead of Arteta. Seemed to suit Jack and Ramsey really well and is a good alternative to our usual formation. Don't think we'll see Jack playing in the Arteta/Flamini role at any point.

I like it too

But where do we put one mr ozil

Congrats man

Hope mother and baby are doing well

I like it too

But where do we put one mr ozil

I'd say we will revert back to the usual formation when he's fit, but could also see him play where Cazorla did on Sunday depending on our opponents. Did alright on the left during the World Cup too.

He really is wasted on the left and takes away our speed from there that Ox/Walcott/Sanchez would provide.

We have spent 40m on this guy we really have to play him through the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

If you have Arsenal Online (as part of your membership) watch the breakdown against City, Adrian Clarke does a savage analysis!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

,Just saw this on facebook, apparently a quote from pat holland 2 years ago

Soups123 wrote: »
    He really is wasted on the left and takes away our speed from there that Ox/Walcott/Sanchez would provide.

We have spent 40m on this guy we really have to play him through the middle

I agree but I don't see how else he would fit into that formation, I don't think he has the attributes to play where Jack and Ramsey did on Sunday. I've no doubt we'll be back to our regular formation when he's fit anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,118 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

A bit late to the party, but congrats Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    ,Just saw this on facebook, apparently a quote from pat holland 2 years ago

Nice call by Pat Holland

Wayne Veysey ‏@wayneveysey 31m
    Exclusive: Arsenal open talks with Olympiakos over a move for centre-back Kostas Manolos. #AFC quoted fee of £8m.

Wayne Veysey has been fairly spot on so far this summer as well. He does write for Goal.com so i would take it with a pinch of salt but id say there is definitely some interest.