Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Notes in OP 24/08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Does anyone else here expect some serious transfers now that CL is secured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Jaysus need a beer after that lads. We were brilliant there in the second half but have to single one player out who was fantastic, he gets an awful lot of stick but I thought Nacho Monreal was outstanding tonight. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Never in doubt lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

^^^^You have that ready to go??? ��

Delighted here tonight. Massive effort from the team.

When's the draw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    I hate that Ref.. :mad:

He went yellow crazy. Chambers one was pure crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

HazDanz wrote: »
    He went yellow crazy. Chambers one was pure crazy.

You get a card, you get a card, you, you and you... Everybody gets a card!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Quazzie wrote: »
    more hopeful now - time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

That ref was rubbish, loved that out of Wilshere at the end, missed seeing that drive in him. Good old Arsenal always taking years of our lifes :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Not me, I said a few weeks ago we'll get a backup centre half and that would be it, I still think the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

That's a good Besiktas team, the gave it everything.

Delighted to get through and the effort of the boys. Excellent performances from Ozil, Wilshire, Sanchez, Debuchy ( until the card) and special mention to Cazorla who was immense.

Should be able to push on from this.

Nacho Monreal was brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,467 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

In a word NO. (but we should).

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Jaysus need a beer after that lads. We were brilliant there in the second half but have to single one player out who was fantastic, he gets an awful lot of stick but I thought Nacho Monreal was outstanding tonight. Delighted.
    he was poor at times last season, but he's stepped up a level this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Phew thank fcuk for that nerves are shot.

Besiktas gave us a good game.

But most fluid performance so far this season.

Bright spots Sanchez and Wilshere but do him and Ramsey almost try occupy the same space and do the same things? They haven't clicked as a pair yet.

Debuchy despite the sending off was brilliant and has so far shown me enough to have full confidence we have upgraded our RB.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Have to agree, I'm on of his biggest critics but fair play to him he had a brilliant game. Cazorla was absolutely outstanding!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,411 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Thought Jack was like a different player in the 2nd half and Sanchez really came alive after his goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

I think Wenger still doesn't know his first 11.

So much choice in midfield. Good dilemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,417 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Christ brown trousers time, defense was good Debuchy was my motm before his early finish. Loving Alexis work. Wilshere had a solid game and Ozil looked a lot better although wasted out wide. Flamini was throwing himself into some questionable challenges I thought especially with a card happy ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

First thing in the morning lads ill be sticking a tenner each way on Besiktas for the Europa Lge, there a decent outfit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Alexis' work rate is incredible. Santi put in a hell of a shift defensively too.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Thought Jack was like a different player in the 2nd half and Sanchez really came alive after his goal.

Alexis seemed to just loosen up after it. Really looking forward to seeing him in the next game to see what he can do to build on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

That was nerve racking.

Wilshere was good tonight I thought. Santi was brilliant tonight. Worked his ass off when we went down to ten.

We seem to be slowly improving. I'd be much happier with some defensive cover though.

HazDanz wrote: »
    Alexis seemed to just loosen up after it. Really looking forward to seeing him in the next game to see what he can do to build on this.

One good thing about playing these qualifying games, the team is really warmed up for the season now.

Bilic is a top manager, his tactics over both legs were so good. I say we will be seeing him in the premiership soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

If they can continue on with a similar performance at the weekend Leicester could be in for a tough game on Sunday!

Right lads I'm off to bed, need to get the heart rate back to normal :pac:
    Bitta luck we get a decent group tomorrow, C'mon the Gunners!! :D

gandalf wrote: »
    If they can continue on with a similar performance at the weekend Leicester could be in for a tough game on Sunday!

Zigic will be fit and rearing to go, we will smash them :P

When's the draw?

Tomorrow at 5 pm i think.

Knowing our luck in the last few draws, we'll get Dortmund, Bilbao and Roma/Monaco

League cup draw in 5 minutes. Handy home game will do.

Napoli out, Higuain anyone?

January confirmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Phew thank fcuk for that nerves are shot.

Besiktas gave us a good game.

But most fluid performance so far this season.

Bright spots Sanchez and Wilshere but do him and Ramsey almost try occupy the same space and do the same things? They haven't clicked as a pair yet.

Debuchy despite the sending off was brilliant and has so far shown me enough to have full confidence we have upgraded our RB.

On ramsey and wilshere! I agree they get in each other's way far too much! One or the other I think!

Reminds me of Gerard and lampard for england

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

So giroud out til December/January. In other words March/April.

Nice to hear wenger confirm he bought Sanchez as a CF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

I don't think Debuchys second yellow was even a foul. They were both at each other and he made a great tackle.

Raf32 wrote: »
    Zigic will be fit and rearing to go, we will smash them :P

Feck off I expect Arsene to present a giftwrapped Cavani to us at the Friday Press Conference ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Raf32 wrote: »
    Napoli out, Higuain anyone?

If Napoli have a bad start to the league season then Rafa will be gone.

Higuain will cost £40 million....you have the cash! but will Wenger splash the cash, based on his interview there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

About to go to bed as the sun comes up. Its a champions league night alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Wilshere played well. But Ramsey is a huge loss. I would say he is Arsenal's most important player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,467 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

omega man wrote: »
    So giroud out til December/January. In other words March/April.

Nice to hear wenger confirm he bought Sanchez as a CF

Did he say that because he has no intention of buying a striker though?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

Jack was class tonight. No surprise though with Ramsey not playing. Pity for jack that his competition is close to being a world class player.

He did say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

So relieved after that. Thought jack was very good, delighted with the players efforts in closing down and trying to get the ball back especially sanchez, it's something we've been badly lacking.
    ref was a pillock too

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭kevinroche3333

Arsenal vs Southampton Capital Cup 3rd Round

omega man wrote: »

Nice to hear wenger confirm he bought Sanchez as a CF.

Yeah that's interesting. I did think that might have been the plan when we signed him, he's got a lot of similar attributes to Suarez. He played well tonight but still not convinced if he's suited to it when there's no space to run into. Isn't much of a focal point, even if he does have a good leap and good strength. Sanogo as our only legitimate striker until the new year is not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

jonny666 wrote: »
    I don't think Debuchys second yellow was even a foul. They were both at each other and he made a great tackle.

I'm not his biggest fan, and I've been saying for a long time that he's prone to mental lunges, but I'd agree there. Definitely should not have been a yellow, that's for sure.

As for performance wise, I wouldn't be worried if I was Arsenal (in terms of only going through 1 nil, etc). Qualifiers are nervy enough and its not like the opponent were piss poor.

Must be nice seeing Sanchez grow into the game like he did though.

He seemed very convincing that we are definitely not signing a CF.

So I'm getting excited now ......

Feck Giroud had surgery earlier, confirmed out until Jan :(

Merson talking a lot of sense.

I think so. He might be creating a Wenger smokescreen though.

He has said he will only buy a striker who is better quality than what he already has and if they are available in the market. So that means a very small pool of players.

I like bilic.

Lot of class.