Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tekken 7 Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Yup, there used to be quite a few of them in Dublin. On and off I've thought about doing a wee documentary on them, as I still remember the physical buildings of quite a few.

That said we had no malls, they were just in the city centre or bowling alleys, usually.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

PC version confirmed, nice. Will probably just buy a PS4 anyway when T7 gets released and play it on that. Pity we have to wait until next year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,021 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Yup, there used to be quite a few of them in Dublin. On and off I've thought about doing a wee documentary on them, as I still remember the physical buildings of quite a few.

That said we had no malls, they were just in the city centre or bowling alleys, usually.

Maybe you filthy north side peasants had no malls, but on the glorious south side, we had The Square, Tallaght which had the Atari Expo in it.

Would have had at least one cabinet for every version of Tekken until T5 I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Tekken 7 Soundtrack here on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9TtG4ps4dAYmZNYGoimktlqmZazURqTE Some pretty good tunes in there.

Nice one. Downloading a few and converting them to flac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

nice, they'll sound fantastic in flac

Just didn't want to compress them anymore than they already have been by youtube. I made mp3s to send to a friend of mine on extremely bad internet connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Doodleking

It was announce it would be a new feature in this installment- Power Crush. Has anyone unsderstood what it's all about?

Doodleking wrote: »
    It was announce it would be a new feature in this installment- Power Crush. Has anyone unsderstood what it's all about?[/

From what I understand, a power crush is a move that will continue uninterrupted despite being hit by your opponent during the move itself. It will crush high and mids, but not lows and throws (you still take damage from any attacks that you suffer during you power crush move however). I think King's shoulder tackle, f 2&3 is his power crush move. Here's a vid that will explain it better than me lol: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Ai432qdzN4

Ye I downloaded all of them. It's a pretty solid soundtrack overall.

Akuma death combo:

I really hope combos like these don't make it into the final build of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Akuma death combo:

I really hope combos like these don't make it into the final build of the game.

It's counter-hit, super situational regarding wall placement, and requires 2 meter to finish.

And still a better combo to watch than anything with 2x Bound.

^ Yes that's a highly situational combo. Right level, right placements and angles, full meter + full rage because remember rage still has a small damage boost. In a real match this would likely not have all the variables set up and even if it did the person would have to be 100% on point with execution and reaction. There were death combos in TTT2 but I only ever saw one actually executed correctly in a real match. Link

In other news, Harada the absolute madman!

https://twitter.com/Harada_TEKKEN/status/750717331966271489

https://twitter.com/FGCTrump/status/750833352580558849

^ Yes that's a highly situational combo. Right level, right placements and angles, full meter + full rage because remember rage still has a small damage boost. In a real match this would likely not have all the variables set up and even if it did the person would have to be 100% on point with execution and reaction. There were death combos in TTT2 but I only ever saw one actually executed correctly in a real match. Link

In other news, Harada the absolute madman!

https://twitter.com/Harada_TEKKEN/status/750717331966271489

https://twitter.com/FGCTrump/status/750833352580558849

Ye you're right, getting tagged by a death combo would indeed be rare. I just hope that all of the characters will have one, not just Akuma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Doodleking

Looks like more of a console game than arcade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Scavenger XIII

Doodleking wrote: »
    Looks like more of a console game than arcade

What does that even mean??? :pac:

I'm diggin' Master Raven. Dayum she applied her lip gloss about 10 times if you look at her closeup. Will definitely be trying her out since I played a bit of Raven in the past and always wanted to improve. Bob... funny but a bit boring imo. Waste of a character slot considering they're on a tight limit. Would've preferred Lee, Lei, Zafina or Eliza... anyone really.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 MickalausCage

Long-time Tekken aficionado, first-time poster. Never realised there was such a vibrant FGC in Ireland. Have been playing since the glory days of Tekken 2 and 3. Had a long hiatus after that until Tekken 6 and really got back into it again since Tekken Tag 2 came out a few years back. Quite looking forward to Tekken 7 and have been enjoying the likes of Evo as well as the green arcade streams from the land of Tekken gods that is Korea. Enjoy 'fisting' opponents with a classic Paul/Laws combo. Anyone looking for TTT2 casuals on PSN can find me at hurler91.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Glorious!

A quick Google search has informed me that Tekken 7 will be released on march 18th. I'm dying to get back into Tekken. I've been invited to go to a T7 launch party in Poland when it's released but it hasn't been confirmed yet. Are you lads gonna organise something similar here?

It's quite likely we'll be running a launch event for Tekken 7.

Sound. So the XGC is no longer a viable place to hold sessions? Is there any other place that we could use? I could probably hold a mini session in my place every Saturday or so, but I could only have 3-4 people over max. Not really a great number, especially for tournies.

Casuals - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057659352

I'm sure Tekken could be ran at the Wednesday Weeklies What are in Wig Wam too: https://www.facebook.com/events/142955072827428/

Casuals - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057659352

I'm sure Tekken could be ran at the Wednesday Weeklies What are in Wig Wam too: https://www.facebook.com/events/142955072827428/

Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Just had a few games of Tekken 7FR in an arcade in Shibuya here. Hadnt a breeze what I was doing but managed to beat some random Japanese online.
    It seems good - mechanics slightly changed with unreal engine so takes a little adjusting.
    This might not be final version!

batman_oh wrote: »
    Just had a few games of Tekken 7FR in an arcade in Shibuya here. Hadnt a breeze what I was doing but managed to beat some random Japanese online.
    It seems good - mechanics slightly changed with unreal engine so takes a little adjusting.
    This might not be final version!

I have a friend in Poland who told me pretty much the same thing. He said there was some input lag though that would randomly pop up but other than that it's a solid game. On another note, what's the craic Aaron? Haven't talked to ye in years.

Any predictions for characters yet to be released? I'm betting on Anna and Jun.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 MickalausCage

I reckon they will announce Lei and Kuma or maybe Ganryu and Julia. They'll probably save a big announcement for the Tekken global tournament out in Japan in December. Maybe they might even announce 4 new characters at once. Think they were running the EU qualifiers for that tournament off in Poland and Paris the last week or two, there is one down to be played in London as well this month. Winner of each goes through to face the might of Japan and Korea.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Dwy

Can't wait for the game to be released.