Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just two weeks to go!! [it's over]

• Registered Users Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Id wager most of the hundreds of thousands are people who aren't from Galway and who don't know what its normally like.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,152 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

MadYaker wrote: »
    If you want reasonably priced and relaxed then don't come to Galway for race week. If you want drunken morons in suits getting hammered, starting fights and puking all over the place then by all means come on down!

I never really understodd why so many people come here for it. It is without a doubt the worst week of the year for going out in Galway. Everywhere is absolutely packed, it takes half an hour to get a pint, there are assholes everywhere and to top it all off you're getting completely ripped off by every bar, restuarant and hotel in the place because they all up their prices, but sure its great craic :rolleyes:

I'm no drysh!te by any stretch of the imagination, I enjoy getting bolloxed drunk as much as the next guy but seriously, if people want a good night out in Galway don't come down for race week, come any other week. Come for the Volvo Ocean Race or the Arts Festival or any of the other multitude of festivals and events that happen during the summer. That said, I am glad that all these eejits waste so money here during the week, does wonders for the services industry.
    Talk about a grand generalisation, there are plenty of pubs that dont touch the price of drink during raceweek, if youre stupid enough to go into ones that do and to pay it then either you dont mind or youre just plain thick.

As for the hotels, there are plenty for in and around the €300 mark for two nights next weekend, from a quick glance, the Pillo, Menlo park, Connacht, Flannerys and Clayton. And loads of b&bs too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

As for the hotels, there are plenty for in and around the €300 mark for two nights next weekend, from a quick glance, the Pillo, Menlo park, Connacht, Flannerys and Clayton. And loads of b&bs too.

I'd be amazed if there are many bookings available for that weekend at that price point! I'd say everything is booked out now at this stage (at least everything with a reasonable cost.

The pubs and hotels will be like cattle marts all week anyway so if anyone is looking for a spa break with plenty of relaxation, galway is not the place to be that week.

zarquon wrote: »
    I'd be amazed if there are many bookings available for that weekend at that price point! I'd say everything is booked out now at this stage (at least everything with a reasonable cost.

The pubs and hotels will be like cattle marts all week anyway so if anyone is looking for a spa break with plenty of relaxation, galway is not the place to be that week.

They are available, i found various prices and available bookings on Trivago, hence why i posted it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'd love to know how far the demand stretches for hotel rooms in the county of Galway. Like, at what geographic point do people decide it's too far out?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Some serious exaggeration going on in this thread - to paraphrase, middle aged men and women pissing in Shop St. at 3 in the afternoon, morons in cheap suits starting fights on every corner and rivers of puke flowing down the streets.

Jesus Christ, some people have vivid imaginations... :rolleyes:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Some serious exaggeration going on in this thread - to paraphrase, middle aged men and women pissing in Shop St. at 3 in the afternoon, morons in cheap suits starting fights on every corner and rivers of puke flowing down the streets.

Yup, im fairly certain they also make themselves believe theyve seen these things too, otherwise it would just be silly really.

I saw it occur numerous times during race week. Last year there was a refined lady who was sitting in a puddle of her own urine outside the AIB bank at lunchtime. I've seen people have sex in very public areas during the day while the races are on. It is not an event which brings out the best in people.

The pissing and puke can be seen most weekends. The Chavs in suits is unique to race week though.

Nice strawman argument there with the rivers of puke hyperbole :rolleyes: - Some people really are in denial, either that or just spoofers who never actually go out in Galway and experience these things first hand.

Have seen people pissing and vomiting in the streets plenty of times, and i wager a lot who go out in Galway regularly experience this.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 MarysCurtins

I'd love to know how far the demand stretches for hotel rooms in the county of Galway. Like, at what geographic point do people decide it's too far out?

There are hotels in Ballinasloe advertising race week specials as it's only "35 minutes from the racecourse"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The pissing and puke can be seen most weekends. The Chavs in suits is unique to race week though.

Nice strawman argument there with the rivers of puke hyperbole :rolleyes: - Some people really are in denial, either that or just spoofers who never actually go out in Galway and experience these things first hand.

Have seen people pissing and vomiting in the streets plenty of times, and i wager a lot who go out in Galway regularly experience this.

Well, it would be a strawman argument if I hadn't taken the phrase from here, and if you actually understood what a strawman is...
    snubbleste wrote: »
    I'm surprised that no-one has penned a song about the Races and the interesting antics it attracts,
    lines might include 'traversing the rivers of puke', 'hookers hoisting their colourful sails', 'cemented in a traffic backlog'..

FWIW, I've been out and about during race week for many years now, and have seen about 10 fights (one a year or so), and no more puking or public urination than one would expect from a crowd that size on a session. Now maybe I've just been lucky and been sheltered from the worst excesss as described by others on here, but I do think there's a lot of exaggeration going on. To read some posts you would swear it was a week-long pitched battle waged by "chavs" who don't wear good enough suits, fuelled by mindless amounts of booze and coming here in their thousands.

Let's put it in perspective - it's a week long race festival attended by thousands of ordinary people, many of whom have saved up for it, the vast majority of whom have a good time and don't cause any hassle, and who bring a lot of important revenue into the city. And like any event, there are always a tiny minority who can't handle their drink and cause trouble. It's a tiny minority but you would never think that from some posts here. And as for the posters slagging off the cheap suits and small bets, well that says a lot more about the posters than the people in the cheap suits.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭irish_major

Can.Not.Wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Tetra

There was another thread "Name One Good Thing About the Recession"...

Someone answered with "Galway doesn't look like the fall of Saigon during Race Week anymore".

I can't find it now but I thought it was very funny :D

I saw it occur numerous times during race week. Last year there was a refined lady who was sitting in a puddle of her own urine outside the AIB bank at lunchtime. I've seen people have sex in very public areas during the day while the races are on. It is not an event which brings out the best in people.

This did not happen. You only made yourself believe that you saw this, otherwise you are just making other posters look silly! Much like the other race week proponent who admitted he once saw people do cocaine on the street. He made himself believe they were doing this. Really they were just knocking back sherbet and cans of apple juice ;)

Pubs are not like marts - You only make yourself believe this if you are against race week. They are really very spacious

Pubs and restaurants are not overpriced - You only make yourself believe this if you are against race week. They are really very cheap this week.

People do not vomit or fight, ever! Especially during race week. You only make yourself believe this if you are against race week. Irish people are excellent at handling their drink.

There are no chavs in suits. You only make yourself believe this if you are against race week. Everyone who participates is a sophisticated socialite.

52809265.jpg

What I can never understand is why it is that people who attend the races think it acceptable to get as drunk as they can. For some reason a lot of those attending the races will think that drinking till they puke is just having "the craic. It's the kind of attitude you'd expect from a child and each year you see people acting in a deplorable manner and then it being excused as "sure aren't they just having some fun".

I was out a number of nights over the past week and drank more than a few pints but was still able to walk home each night and never felt the need to piss or puke in the street. It's amazing that the Arts festival can pass so quietly and free from trouble yet the races can't. By all means, people who attend should enjoy themselves and have a good time but if you are puking in the street, or you piss in the street or yourself, then you should feel ashamed of yourself. There's no need for it, especially not in the middle of the afternoon.

One thing that people need to move away from is all the snide remarks about "chavs in suits" and "those in suits bought in Penny's". It's unnecessary and nasty for the sake of it and it's often the case that it's the more sophisticated of attendees who act the worst. You're just as likely, if not more so to see some 50 year old in an expensive suit puking in the street as you are some 24 year old lad whose out of work.

What I can never understand is why it is that people who attend the races think it acceptable to get as drunk as they can. For some reason a lot of those attending the races will think that drinking till they puke is just having "the craic. It's the kind of attitude you'd expect from a child and each year you see people acting in a deplorable manner and then it being excused as "sure aren't they just having some fun".

I was out a number of nights over the past week and drank more than a few pints but was still able to walk home each night and never felt the need to piss or puke in the street. It's amazing that the Arts festival can pass so quietly and free from trouble yet the races can't. By all means, people who attend should enjoy themselves and have a good time but if you are puking in the street, or you piss in the street or yourself, then you should feel ashamed of yourself. There's no need for it, especially not in the middle of the afternoon.

The difference is people come to the arts festival to experience and enjoy the events. People that come to Galway for race week, come for the drinking primarily, with showing themselves off in their glad rags as a secondary point and with participing in the actual racing a relegated consideration. If the races were removed and the week was called "dress up and get pissed week" the same level of excitement would exist on this thread.

The Irish are infamous for having an immature atitude to alcohol so it should be no surprise. Some of my non Irish colleagues find it incredible that the Irish react to alcohol in much the same way as a child in a sweet shop - lacking self control and maturity

The difference is people come to the arts festival to experience and enjoy the events. People that come to Galway for race week, come for the drinking primarily, with showing themselves off in their glad rags as a secondary point and with participing in the actual racing a relegated consideration. If the races were removed and the week was called "dress up and get pissed week" the same level of excitement would exist on this thread.

The Irish are infamous for having an immature atitude to alcohol so it should be no surprise. Some of my non Irish colleagues find it incredible that the Irish react to alcohol in much the same way as a child in a sweet shop - lacking self control and maturity

It's not just an Irish issue and the vast majority of Irish people are not mad drunks who have to drink till they can't stand up. Some people treat events such as this as an excuse to drink but they are the minority. I've seen Germans, French, Americans, etc all drink to excess at the drop of a hat

Some people treat events such as this as an excuse to drink but they are the minority.

I have to strongly disagree with that statement. I think the majority treat race week as a week for drinking. I doubt the excitement in this thread has anything to do with a passion for actual horse racing!

I would say it's a minority who are only interested in the horse racing itself with little or no interest in using it as an excuse to get drunk.

I have to strongly disagree with that statement. I think the majority treat race week as a week for drinking. I doubt the excitement in this thread has anything to do with a passion for actual horse racing!

They still just make up a minority of the Irish population.

A minority of the population perhaps, but a large majority of those in attendance. It's basically just rag week for the larger population anyway. A lot of people mature beyond needing the rag week thrills after they graduate but some cling onto such things desperately. Most of my peers who would have party animals during race week back in the noughties and nineties can't be arsed with it anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Oh I love race week, I love Galway. I'm smiling even through the snide comments in this thread because they still won't ruin it. I used to live in Galway and I'm gone a few years now. I have lived in many counties in Ireland and there is nowhere like Galway during race week. To the point where I've been to 'the races' in other counties where the locals think their races are the bees knees and I've just laughed and told them the need to go to the Galway races. I'm actually moving back to Galway a couple of weeks after the races which probably adds to the excitement of it all.

Just incase anyone thinks I must be one of those hooligans if im that excited, im actually the opposite, im a mom to a 3 year old and I go out once a month. I just manage to enjoy the craic with my friends during the races and ignore the hooligans (like I do any night im out - they are everywhere)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

One thing that people need to move away from is all the snide remarks about "chavs in suits" and "those in suits bought in Penny's". It's unnecessary and nasty for the sake of it and it's often the case that it's the more sophisticated of attendees who act the worst. You're just as likely, if not more so to see some 50 year old in an expensive suit puking in the street as you are some 24 year old lad whose out of work.

Hear, hear.

A large part of the problem with Race week is just the sheer amount of people who are there in relation to the size of the city. It's also an event that's much more focused on the socialising/drinking aspect of things rather than the actual event. Those two factors are what makes it different from the Fleadh and Arts Festival. I couldn't give a shít what suits people want to wear, it's really not the issue for anyone who's not a nasty snob.

The age of many of the people making a nuisance and show of themselves is also something that you notice. Fair enough there's fighting and puking in Galway every week, but the amount of it, and the profile of the people doing it changes dramatically for during the Races-seeing a bunch of 20 year olds throwing punches after too much to drink is one thing, seeing 50 year olds do it is another. If you think that pointing that stuff out and not enjoying it makes people begrudging, whining, paranoid fantasists who don't enjoy anything (all stuff that's been said in this thread), then seriously, cop on to yourselves. If you enjoy the races and think it's the best bloody thing since sliced bread, grand, good for you. Other people don't enjoy it and have valid reasons for that. It doesn't have to be a case of it's either objectively and definitively the best week or worst week of the year, it's going to be different for different people.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It's not begrudgery to point out the many negatives of race week. Saying anything negative about anything on this website and you get labelled a begrudger. Maybe it isn't as apparent to people who come here from out of town because they are part of it, but for people who have to live and work in the city it causes a lot of problems. But then again, it brings in a lot of money so maybe it's worth it. I'll be avoiding the town centre at night as I almost always do for race week. It's ten times nicer and more enjoyable any other week of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭evil_seed

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Thinking of going to the races with the girlfriend who's from Brazil. I've haven't been in about 6 years. Last time I was there it was with one of the lads and we stayed in a hostel. We went specifically for a p1ss up. This time, I'll be looking for something way more relaxed. The girlfriend has never been before.

So what can I expect for the Saturday and Sunday of the August bank holiday? Looking for a nice hotel with a reasonable price, preferably with a nice pool and spa. Maybe look to go to the races on the Saturday and then do something nice and quiet outside the city center on the Sunday - does anybody have any recommendations? Do most people wear suits to the races on the Saturday?

The Connacht Hotel fits what you're looking for best. Dunno if there's anything available

MadYaker wrote: »

I never really understodd why so many people come here for it.

Because its an absolutely amazing week. You wont get a week like it anywhere in the world and people have the best week of their year every year here.

Being from co. Galway I'm going racing every year since primary school so I've been brought up with it as have all my friends who all love it. Some like myself love both the racing and the going out,others just the going out.

I also have friends from Italy and Brazil to name two places, they came once a few years ago for a one day and night and have been back every year since and increased the number of days each year. They think its absolutely brilliant and something you won't find anywhere else. From the craic at the course and the excitement of the betting and a few pints to the craic and banter on the streets, the fantastic atmosphere created by the massive crowds and of course whats not to like about spending hours drinking on the streets of the best city in the world :D.

But no, all some care about is a bit of puke and piss (which doesn't bother me in the slightest). Fighting is extremely rare, I've probably been out during race week as much as anybody (5 night in a row ,thurs - sun, for years) and I can remember only a handful of fights of the top of my head, no more than Id have seen on a random saturday night.

If there is one bit of advise I'd give anyone not from Galway its try to get to Galway during race week if you ever have the chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭irish_major

I think I had the best week of my life up here in 2011. If you hate how busy shop street is go to the clayton or something, a great spot as well, great atmosphere there I went there 2 nights to break up the week a bit and avoid the busyness of town for 2 nights.
    If you really hate the races just avoid them! You'll see drunks and fighting everywhere you go!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Cant wait for Race Week to start. Have been going every year since i was about 4 yrs old. Meeting old friends that come to Galway for the week. Having a bit of flutter on the horses and enjoying the atmosphere around the place. Most people who come to the races are just here to enjoy themselves especially those of us who's passion is horses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

JillyQ wrote: »
    Cant wait for Race Week to start. Have been going every year since i was about 4 yrs old. Meeting old friends that come to Galway for the week. Having a bit of flutter on the horses and enjoying the atmosphere around the place. Most people who come to the races are just here to enjoy themselves especially those of us who's passion is horses.

you don't have a passion for horses you have a passion for horse racing.

http://www.horsedeathwatch.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭maki

Tugboats wrote: »
    you don't have a passion for horses you have a passion for horse racing.

http://www.horsedeathwatch.com/

Are the two mutually exclusive?

By that logic anyone who isn't a vegetarian couldn't possibly love animals.