Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Really? We only got a whole new bathroom but we are already thinking about taking out the bath

Yes. Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Gmol wrote: »
    With the new water charges, is there any point in keeping the bath in the house?

Well, I suppose by keeping the bath outside of the house it'd fill more cheaply, but you might have a bit of a wait having to depend on Mother Nature to provide. Maybe some type of cauldron set up for warming the water and you'd also need some type of screen to keep things decent for the neighbours. Food for thought for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

catallus wrote: »
    That's OUTRAGEOUS!!!!!

:mad:

€80 for a bath!? Did we lose a war?!
    Relax, €4.88/1000 L x 100 L is less than 49c, and that would be a huge bath. €80 would be one of those every other day.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

I wholeheartedly disagree.

I would sincerely like to agree with you.

Fact is, there has been minimal resistance.

The bills will be paid,and if IW decides to increase the charges in the future...

I don't see any any reason why this will not happen.

While I agree with opposition to to water charges, the opposition is weak.

And when even a miniscule of protest takes place, it is regarded as violent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My father in law's shower routine is to soak himself, turn the shower off, lather up then put the shower back on to rinse off. He hates waste and is so tight that if he was a ghost he wouldnt give you a fright

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Thats what they want you to think.

My uncle's friend heard from a guy in the local who works for Irish Water that a bath will cost you 80 euros.

My next bath is going to be in green diesel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I'm so riled up about water charges that I'm not even eating watermelon any more.

Goddam government

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Capped at €2.44 per thousand litres. Works out at 5 litres per 1.22c

That's water only. Water in + waste-water out (which is most of us) is double. 0.488c per liter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Conditioned individuals constantly bombarded with threats will lay down and say to themselves... I better do what I am told or someone will point a finger at me, but I am shy, and don't want to be an individual, so I will pay, as I am safer in the collective-group. I would rather be an attachment of the conditioned group of minds as they see.

If all reasonably intelligent Irish citizens all banded together and said NO, we're not paying it, then that would be the end of it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

We've had our meter installed. Being the decent people my neighbors and I are, we didn't assault them or shout abuse at them FOR DOING THEIR JOBS, but rather offered them refreshments.

And they didn't need a Garda escort.

Hah.

You're right, and Rosa Parks was a bitch for giving that bus driver abuse when he was just DOING HIS JOB, and that Chinese lad pissing off the tank driver who was just DOING HIS JOB, and don't get me started on all those feckin Jews screaming at the lads just trying to DO THEIR JOB by shoving them into the chambers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.R.

Irish Water will charge people depending on what services they use: 1. water supply AND wastewater; 2. water supply OR wastewater.
    What is wastewater?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

You're right, and Rosa Parks was a bitch for giving that bus driver abuse when he was just DOING HIS JOB, and that Chinese lad pissing off the tank driver who was just DOING HIS JOB, and don't get me started on all those feckin Jews screaming at the lads just trying to DO THEIR JOB by shoving them into the chambers.

Are you actually comparing ****ing water meters to one of the most important, if not the most important time in American history?

Are you ****ing serious?

S.R. wrote: »
    Irish Water will charge people depending on what services they use: 1. water supply AND wastewater; 2. water supply OR wastewater.
    What is wastewater?

Sewage.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What is wastewater?

Yes indeed sewage. A concept dreamed up by the English. Which they explain here.

http://www.thameswater.co.uk/cycles/accessible/sewage_treatment.html

Yes indeed sewage. A concept dreamed up by the English. Which they explain here.

http://www.thameswater.co.uk/cycles/accessible/sewage_treatment.html

From your link sewage - bath, toilet and washing machine. Excuse me, but are there people who don't use either bath, or washing machine, or toilet?!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

From your link sewage - bath, toilet and washing machine. Excuse me, but are there people who don't use either bath, or washing machine, or toilet?!

Don't worry about it. Even if they just leave their taps running into the drains it becomes sewage.

Are you actually comparing ****ing water meters to one of the most important, if not the most important time in American history?

Are you ****ing serious?

I think you're missing the point completely. Try reading it again, slowly.

Are you ****ing serious?

Dont worry, at the same time Rosa Parks was making her stand, similar disgusting excuses for humans, ( as some on here) would been denying her right to protest and hoping the police knocked ten bells of **** out of her.

Don't worry about it. Even if they just leave their taps running into the drains it becomes sewage.

Yeah, I got it, but do you understand the stupidity of Irish Water when they say "water supply OR wastewater"? Every household has wastewater, what was a point to say "water supply OR wastewater"? To make numbers look better for people?

One example from Irish Water:

Number of adults 1

Both services: water supply and wastewater €176

One service only: water supply or wastewater €88

Yeah, I got it, but do you understand the stupidity of Irish Water when they say "water supply OR wastewater"? Every household has wastewater, what was a point to say "water supply OR wastewater"? To make numbers look better for people?

Have you heard of private wells and septic tanks?

TheChizler wrote: »
    Have you heard of private wells and septic tanks?

No. What are private wells and septic tanks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Recondite49

Godwin's Law has been invoked. Discussion must end, I'm bowing out! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The obvious reason why this whole debacle of Irish Water is a failure to the Irish folk, is because if they were serious about water conservation, they would have fixed the leaking pipes out of every cent they were given by government from the household charge previously.

I just hope that folk can see through the bullsh!t forwarded to them, and just tell them to get lost. No-one can do much on their own, folk should stand together with this case scenario.

Just found article. In some parts of Britain householders pay close to 600 euro! F*cking hell!

The obvious reason why this whole debacle of Irish Water is a failure to the Irish folk, is because if they were serious about water conservation, they would have fixed the leaking pipes out of every cent they were given by government from the household charge previously.

I just hope that folk can see through the bullsh!t forwarded to them, and just tell them to get lost. No-one can do much on their own, folk should stand together with this case scenario.

If it was about water conservation, building regulations could have been changed to incorporate rain water harvesting at any time. Bull**** is exactly what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I love paying taxes.

MadYaker wrote: »
    I love paying taxes.

Of it was a fixed %age tax versus a charge I have some control over I know which one I'd pick.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

If it was about water conservation, building regulations could have been changed to incorporate rain water harvesting at any time. Bull**** is exactly what it is.

Agreed. It all stinks.

Grants should be available, tax benefits, and other incentives. But no. They dont want that. They want you to consume .

Its all about making the rich richer and the poor poorer. Same with the gas and oil.

Good luck in the next election FF FG. One big corrupt step to far.

I will be applying for any allowance. But good luck trying to get the money of me. I cant afford it. And they cant cut me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

MadYaker wrote: »
    I love paying taxes.

Good for you.

If only they had of made water charges an actual tax, they'd have been able to involve Revenue to collect it from the hundreds of thousands who possibly won't pay.