Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Phoebas wrote: »
    But apparently the manufactured lies propagated by SF in this instance is no problem at all (as long as you put your hands up as soon as you get caught).

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

So to imply Mary Lou knew she was sharing bogus info is disingenuous.
    She either knew exactly what she was doing or she was willing to casually circulate very damaging (and clearly very suspect) information about a rival in the middle of an election campaign without checking it at all.

I'm not sure which of these she has apologised for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

But apparently the manufactured lies propagated by SF in this instance is no problem at all (as long as you put your hands up as soon as you get caught).

Did you read the article?

Here's what Paul murphy said.
    At 2.26pm yesterday, Mr Murphy wrote a message on Ms McDonald’s Facebook page calling on her to disown the message, which was originally sent by a Sinn Fein supporter, who Mr Murphy claimed last night has since “accepted this did not come from Paul”.

In his message to Ms McDonald, Mr Murphy said: “Mary Lou, the picture that you posted appears to be a photoshop or else is a false account.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    What?

Unless she's going to be sanctioned by her party for this 'lapse'...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Meh, in one hand, yeah it's bad form from those involved trying to undermine each other with dirty tricks.

On the other hand, there's absolutely no question that Mary Lou or any other senior member of the party knew what they were sharing was a fake screenshot. Paul murphy seems unsure of the actual source of it, saying himself it is either a photoshop, or from a bogus Paul Murphy Facebook account.

So to imply Mary Lou knew she was sharing bogus info is disingenuous.

Further proof politician's should just stay off Facebook and leave it to amazingballs teens, frapping each other with 'I love dicks' on their page.

The sindo with another "if only" fantasy.

Did you read the article?

Here's what Paul murphy said.

Exactly.
    Paul Murphy obviously knew it was a fake, but Mary Lou and others on SF circulated it as the truth.

You could keep spinning Banjo, or just accept that it was a dirty trick.
    Mary Lou herself has no problem apologising for her part in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Unless she's going to be sanctioned by her party for this 'lapse'...
    Ms McDonald quickly took down the offending item from her Facebook page and issued a swift apology.

What would you suggest as a sanction for a simple mistake, send her to a super salary post in Europe? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Happyman42 wrote: »
    What would you suggest as a sanction for a simple mistake, send her to a super salary post in Europe? :rolleyes:

It doesn't matter what salary she is on. She only gets to keep about €30,000. Just about enough to fly cattle class whenever she has to go out foreign.

Exactly.
    Paul Murphy obviously knew it was a fake, but Mary Lou and others on SF circulated it as the truth.

Paul murphy (obviously) knew it was fake because he (obviously) didn't have the conversation he was linked to. How can Mary Lou have known it was fake though?
    You could keep spinning Banjo, or just accept that it was a dirty trick.
    Mary Lou herself has no problem apologising for her part in it.

Face palm Phoebe.

It was the first thing I said on this thread today.......
    Meh, in one hand, yeah it's bad form from those involved trying to undermine each other with dirty tricks
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92481983&postcount=3484

• Registered Users Posts: 24,115 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Satriale wrote: »
    Larbre, is that second hand from the journal? I cant find a link anywhere and the numbers seem out of whack. They didnt have those kind of figures when the revenue jackboots were clicking for the hhc

No what I mentioned originally is in the indo today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

It doesn't matter what salary she is on. She only gets to keep about €30,000. Just about enough to fly cattle class whenever she has to go out foreign.

Cheaper than using the private jet at every opportunity like that great 'labour' socialist Gilmore.
    What's 'cattle class'?
    Ah, the reference is to her trip to Australia recently, where she upgraded to business class for a 12 hour flight, paid for by party fundraisers.
    The feckin cheek of her, she'll have a car and driver paid for by the taxpayer next....
    How desperate are you people getting now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Larbre34 wrote: »
    No what I mentioned originally is in the indo today

thanks, found it.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/one-in-five-insist-they-will-not-pay-their-water-bills-30639018.html

"research carried out by Irish Water has found"

only line that needs to be read lol

Paul murphy (obviously) knew it was fake because he (obviously) didn't have the conversation he was linked to. How can Mary Lou have known it was fake though?

[URL="http://"][/URL]

Mary certainly has questions to answer about how exactly she came into the possession of the fake Facebook conversation and why she (and others in SF) chose to circulate it as if it was the truth without doing any checking on it.

Any eejit reading that conversation would ask themselves if it was real. Mary Lou is no eejit - she either knew it was fake or didn't care sufficiently if it was or not.

What exactly did she apologise for?

Yaaaaawwwwwwwnnnnnnnnn:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Rinse and repeat. It's almost the same post from the previous page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Quastion for people. As my housemates don't have PPS numbers as there international students as they never got them where do i stand with water rates in my place ?. Will i only get water for myself or will i get water for all of us ?.

You only need one PPSN to claim the household allowance. Assuming none of your housemates are under 18 you don't need numbers for them.

Mary certainly has questions to answer about how exactly she came into the possession of the fake Facebook conversation and why she (and others in SF) chose to circulate it as if it was the truth without doing any checking on it.

Any eejit reading that conversation would ask themselves if it was real. Mary Lou is no eejit - she either knew it was fake or didn't care sufficiently if it was or not.

What exactly did she apologise for?

I didn't see the conversation, seriously.

You don't actually think I follow Mary Lou, Paul Murphy or any other political representative on Facebook do you?

Anyone a link to the manufactured script?

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    Rinse and repeat.

I'm sure I saw that leitmotif Rinse and repeat somewhere before. It is up there with the metaphorical trough and the super duper quango.

Probably best to read the story before jumping in with the pre-packaged defense.

SF have been busy deleting it from anywhere they can. I linked to it a few pages back.

You don't actually think I follow Mary Lou, Paul Murphy or any other political representative on Facebook do you?

Anyone a link to the manufactured script?

If you go onto Murphy's FB page there's something about it there.
    I was going to copy and paste but I'm not sure how the mods would react.

I'm sure I saw that leitmotif Rinse and repeat somewhere before. It is up there with the metaphorical trough and the super duper quango.

Rinse and repeat.
    You don't quite get it, do you? I'll put that there whenever you and your mates are just regurgitating the same old posts.
    Rinse and repeat is pointing that out, it's not part of the argument/discussion.
    Understand now?

Rinse and repeat.
    You don't quite get it, do you? I'll put that there whenever you and your mates are just regurgitating the same old posts.
    Rinse and repeat is pointing that out, it's not part of the argument/discussion.
    Understand now?

I think I do yes. Would it be like someone keeps mentioning a trough every time they refer to Public Service workers? Or someone who calls Irish Water a Super Quango all the time?

Larbre34 wrote: »
    The charges arent even for water, they are calculated based on an amount needed to RUN Irish Water.

Probably best to read the story before jumping in with the pre-packaged defense.

SF have been busy deleting it from anywhere they can. I linked to it a few pages back.

I read the story, but I've no idea how anyone would know it was fake unless I had some idea of how badly manufactured it was.

It's like a counterfeit note, some are obviously fake, some are almost fool proof.

As for the prepackaged defense.....

Once again....
    Meh, in one hand, yeah it's bad form from those involved trying to undermine each other with dirty tricks. 
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92481983&postcount=3484

Some of your fellow brethren would do well to openly criticise a member of Govt like I have just did to a member of the opposition.

I think I do yes. Would it be like someone keeps mentioning a trough every time they refer to Public Service workers? Or someone who calls Irish Water a Super Quango all the time?

Irish Water is a quango though, it qualifies on all aspects of being a quango as I shown you the other day on this very thread.
    As it is trying to affect everyone in the country, that makes it a super quango.
    The trough is quite a common expression when it comes to the money pot that PS, CS and semi state expect to be continually filled to keep them as one of the highest paid groups of public workers in the EU, even though the country is running a massive deficit,
    It's all quite basic stuff this you know.......

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Ilovemyusername

There's a poll on the Journal website I can't post the link because I'm a new user.

Can't believe the amount of people voting yes though, it's shocking. I spend enough money on bottled water already because we can't drink the muck that comes out of our taps ha!

There's a poll on the Journal website I can't post the link because I'm a new user.

Can't believe the amount of people voting yes though, it's shocking. I spend enough money on bottled water already because we can't drink the muck that comes out of our taps ha!

The last poll I seen on the journal had 'yes' to pay at 10%is this the poll?

The sindo I think it is has some figures from the super quango where they expect over 20% not to pay at all.
    Seems there isn't a whole lot they can do either, maybe get a judgement for a few hundred euro at most.