Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Im at Trinity College and there are still people at The Garden of Rememberance. Its the biggest in decades for sure. Possibly over 100k id say.

Well done to all.

All walking in Indian file, then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    http://m.rte.ie/news/2014/1011/651606-water-charges/

Up to 50k is the estimate so far from RTE, good turn out I'd say!

I think everyone is surprised at the turnout tbh. It's much bigger than anyone expected.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,027 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

RTE updating quite quickly! Up to 100k now

"Organisers have estimated". That is what is being reported.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

RTE updating quite quickly! Up to 100k now

They're saying that's the organisers estimate. 'Gardai won't be commenting on numbers' made me laugh - perhaps they've lost count!

I think everyone is surprised at the turnout tbh. It's much bigger than anyone expected.

How do you know who is surprised and what people expected?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    You're having a laugh.. RTE has long ago been shown to be little more than a government mouthpiece - I'd expect minimal coverage of this on tonight's news with a few seconds of video.
    No they aren't. RTE are an independent body. I'm sorry if that negatively affects your claims of bias but that's the truth.
    As for the Gardai... have you forgotten that Shatter and Callinan were both (rightly) forced to resign because of the handling of the Whistleblower affair? Then there's the countless scandals and corruption they've been involved in over the years (the Donegal stuff, money disappearing from stations, penalty points etc)
    All absolutely irrelevant to the fact that the gardai are an independent body with no incentive to misreport the numbers.
    The fact is that we'll never know how many people actually turned up but your faith in the 2 bodies in question is misplaced
    True but the protestors have an incentive to lie, RTE and the gardai do not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Good on ye lads!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I know it's organisers but I would imagine there is some substance behind it if RTE are reporting it. I'm sure accuate figures will come from somewhere, why AGS won't release them is a strange one

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

They didn't close Dawson street until just before the protest. There are cars on Dawson street that haven't moved in an hour and a half. I'd say that could be seen as a sign that there was a far bigger turnout than expected

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    No they aren't. RTE are an independent body. I'm sorry if that negatively affects your claims of bias but that's the truth.

All absolutely irrelevant to the fact that the gardai are an independent body with no incentive to misreport the numbers.

True but the protestors have an incentive to lie, RTE and the gardai do not.

The fact that you are so naive about rte & the government of the day leads me to rubbish anything you have to say !!
    Oh I'm not on either side when it comes to Irish water so I have no agenda either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I know it's organisers but I would imagine there is some substance behind it if RTE are reporting it. I'm sure accuate figures will come from somewhere, why AGS won't release them is a strange one

They haven't released figures yet, but they're sure to in due course.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Ya can knock the "usual suspects" hippies and scumbags meme. Crowd at march are citizens from all walks of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Phoebas wrote: »
    They haven't released figures yet, but they're sure to in due course.

Sorry, I've a serious case of the stupid today :/ dunno how I read that as not releasing numbers at all.

I read it the same way!

hawkelady wrote: »
    The fact that you are so naive about rte & the government of the day leads me to rubbish anything you have to say !!
    Oh I'm not on either side when it comes to Irish water so I have no agenda either way.
    What is RTE's incentive to lie? What are the Gardaí's incentive to lie? The organizers have an incentive to lie, the other two bodies do not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

What is RTE's incentive to lie? What are the Gardaí's incentive to lie? The organizers have an incentive to lie, the other two bodies do not.

Government shills, Enda111!!!!1111111

/readjusts tinfoil hat

Government shills, Enda111!!!!1111111

/readjusts tinfoil hat
    Apparently we're now assuming any organization funded by the government must be government shills.

You can't assume they don't - and I'm not saying that they do. Just that people need to search for multiple sources of information and make a decision based on that. Blindly following just one is naive to the extreme (and that goes for both sides)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

FFS the chairman of RTE Board is the Director of the PR company that advise Fine Gael.
    Do you think they will be advising Enda to say this was a great success?

zanador wrote: »
    You can't assume they don't - and I'm not saying that they do. Just that people need to search for multiple sources of information and make a decision based on that. Blindly following just one is naive to the extreme (and that goes for both sides)
    The burden of proof lies on the people making the accusation of corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Satriale wrote: »
    FFS the chairman of RTE Board is the Director of the PR company that advise Fine Gael.

Who cares either way, as it is already a huge success, just look at the turnout, it's insanely huge. Well done folks.

The burden of proof lies on the people making the accusation of corruption.

That wasn't my point - my point was that don't believe one single source, look at multiple sources. For eg RTE and the Irish Times are saying 50k. The Socialist workers are saying 150K. Some protesters are saying 100K.

The truth is somewhere in the middle of all that - and if you believe something just because you disagree with the opposition then you are the same as them.

Tom Savage? Go on.

Are you accusing him of breaching the Code of Business Conduct for Board members?

http://www.rte.ie/documents/about/code-of-business-conduct-board-members.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

The latest from RTE

"Organisers estimate up to 100k.....Gardaí estimate up to 30k.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1011/651606-water-charges/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Have the water charges been cancelled yet?

zanador wrote: »
    That wasn't my point - my point was that don't believe one single source, look at multiple sources. For eg RTE and the Irish Times are saying 50k. The Socialist workers are saying 150K. Some protesters are saying 100K.

The truth is somewhere in the middle of all that
    RTE have claimed 50k? I haven't seen that. The gardaí are claiming 30k.

RTE, the Gardaí and the Irish Times have no incentive to message the figures. The socialist workers and the protesters themselves do.

So far the only number from any official body I have seen is 30k.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,002 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I'd find it a lot easier to believe 30-40k than 100k from looking at those pictures.

No matter who you want to trust it is all just an estimate and everyone has an agenda to make the number bigger or smaller so more than likely it is somewhere in the middle.

The latest from RTE

"Organisers estimate up to 100k.....Gardaí estimate up to 30k.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1011/651606-water-charges/

And SWP say 150K - have to say they irritate me because their extremes serve to take away from the validity of the march as much as underestimations do.

VinLieger wrote: »
    I'd find it a lot easier to believe 30-40k than 100k from looking at those pictures.

No matter who you want to trust it is all just an estimate and everyone has an agenda to make the number bigger or smaller so more than likely it is somewhere in the middle.
    What agenda do RTE and the Gardaí have?