Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Even if it was 100k then that is still only 2% of the population. Last time I checked that's a fairly tiny minority

Can I ask you a question ?

Do you work for Irish Water ?. Now be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,027 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Originally Posted by rte
    Organisers estimated that up to 100,000 people took part.
    It is understood gardaí estimated the attendance at up to 30,000

Media speak, but I don't object. When I read it though it is just mumbo jumbo, doesn't give any real indication of the actual number. It is understood, what is that supposed to mean? But then nobodys knows so no point in making up something either.

In other news Paul Murphy has been elected. The revolution is definitely on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Phoebas wrote: »
    They'll continue to support the democratically elected government.
    Anyone who thinks otherwise is deluded.

Which is probably why they vastly underestimated (lied) on today's attendance figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Glock Lesnar

Great turnout today by people from all walks of life and from all corners of the country. Not just people playing to the tune of the lefties as some would say. If this crowd stay true to their word the plan to charge people for will fail.

Well done to all who got out and marched. The pro Irish water lads can pipe down a bit with their confidence that only a minority don't support the water charges. There are many more who couldn't make it to Dublin today for all sorts of reasons. Momentum is gathering and no doubt FG and Labour are worried this evening.

Pictures emerging of the protesters on facebook,

50% are what I like to call the 'Sinn Fein left' these people are walking proof that you can identify someone who doesn't pay any tax just by looking at their photo, look for the 'confused resting face' it's a mixture between a squint and a gurn that's been embedded into their faces ever since they were introduced to long division back in 5th class. For some reason these people have brought their kids along, it's hard to tell who's more confused about the situation.

50% are ponytailed, poncho wearing pot smokers who in fairness are better informed than the shower above, but they'll all bottle it and pay so there's not much point to them being there and Enda Kenny couldn't care less about their opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

That just shows how big it was with more people on front and more behind.

March Image.PNG

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Bambi wrote: »
    Where did they say that?

I've been on marches where the gardai estimated 10k and I can tell you now there was well over three times those numbers out there today

Probably the biggest crowd since the anti war protest in 2002. Which RTE described as huge back then :pac:

It was reported on the RTE website.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1011/651606-water-charges/

Its common that organisers and protesters report a much bigger number than the Gardai, but I think its safe to assume that there is some kind of methodology to how they come up with the official figure.

Which is probably why they vastly underestimated (lied) on today's attendance figures.

The Gardai are lying about the figure at the behest of the government. Fair enough Banjo - is the tinfoil hat a comfortable fit?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Even if it was 100k then that is still only 2% of the population. Last time I checked that's a fairly tiny minority

Are you actually serious?

You're beyond pathetic at this point.

zanador wrote: »
    No, I don't. I can say that I choose not to blindly believe what one individual source says to me. I won't just listen to RTE to find about about something. I'll read a few papers, some articles online, come on boards.ie ;) and be able to make a much more informed opinion. Making an opinion based upon ONE source is what I'm arguing against - it wasn't me assuming RTE was corrupt that was other posters. (although I don't assume they're not)

Well if you wouldn't mind comparing RTE coverage with the other outlets to identify an example of what you think may be going on that would inform the debate greatly. Any topic you like. Any time you like. But I won't take an opinion you find somewhere on Boards as being the equivalent to a report by a professional media organisation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

keith16 wrote: »
    Since your so good at maths and percentages and stuff, explain how passenger numbers have "plummeted" and Irish Rail continues to be in trouble despite the recovery?

Because they are still carrying heavy debt from the bad years. They actually reported passenger number growth and a slight improvement in their balance sheet last year but their woes won't be fixed overnight, much like the woes of the public finances

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Pictures emerging of the protesters on facebook,

50% are what I like to call the 'Sinn Fein left' these people are walking proof that you can identify someone who doesn't pay any tax just by looking at their photo, look for the 'confused resting face' it's a mixture between a squint and a gurn that's been embedded into their faces ever since they were introduced to long division back in 5th class. For some reason these people have brought their kids along, it's hard to tell who's more confused about the situation.

50% are ponytailed, poncho wearing pot smokers who in fairness are better informed than the shower above, but they'll all bottle it and pay so there's not much point to them being there and Enda Kenny couldn't care less about their opinion.

50% of any the figures given here today is a big amount.....this comment by you is disgraceful to all those who legitimately protested today. most people in this country at the moment are struggling to pay bills and morgtages and you make a comment that because they cant afford to pay there bills they are either left wing sinn fein tax dodgers or weed smoking hippies. you obviously live in a different world to the ordinary hard working person of this country who are on their knees due to debt that was put on us by the former government

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

50% of any the figures given here today is a big amount.....this comment by you is disgraceful to all those who legitimately protested today. most people in this country at the moment are struggling to pay bills and morgtages and you make a comment that because they cant afford to pay there bills they are either left wing sinn fein tax dodgers or weed smoking hippies. you obviously live in a different world to the ordinary hard working person of this country who are on their knees due to debt that was put on us by the former government

ps i think the fact the garda wont give figures speaks for itself

http://www.thejournal.ie/water-charge-protest-in-dublin-1718557-Oct2014/?utm_source=shortlink

Can I ask you a question ?

Do you work for Irish Water ?. Now be honest.

No, I'm just sensible enough to realise that the government won't give a **** about maybe 2% of the population marching in Dublin on a Saturday afternoon

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Well regardless of the actual figure of people who protested, it looks a lot better than the 15 or so people I saw protesting in town yesterday who got bored and left after one loop around the Mall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Because they are still carrying heavy debt from the bad years. They actually reported passenger number growth and a slight improvement in their balance sheet last year but their woes won't be fixed overnight, much like the woes of the public finances

Oh THE BAD YEARS! THE SHOCKING BIG BOLD BAD YEARS.......:rolleyes:

Sure if they throw in another few fare hikes, that will make things better, won't it? WON'T IT?

Oh THE BAD YEARS! THE SHOCKING BIG BOLD BAD YEARS.......:rolleyes:

Sure if they throw in another few fare hikes, that will make things better, won't it? WON'T IT?

Well obviously, yeah, more money coming in would be good.

Are you an accountant or something? This is some next level ****

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Phoebas wrote: »
    The Gardai are lying about the figure at the behest of the government. Fair enough Banjo - is the tinfoil hat a comfortable fit?

Second time of asking, where did the gardai give a figure for the numbers?

The shills are working overtime today to combat this show of support against the unjust water charges throwing insults and lazy observations to any poster whose opinion differs from theirs. Keep going lads ye must be getting worried:pac:

No, I'm just sensible enough to realise that the government won't give a **** about maybe 2% of the population marching in Dublin on a Saturday afternoon

They certainly don't give a shit about the other 98% either.

Just like Irish rail / Irish pubs don't give a shit about 100% of their customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Thanks for your honest answer. In all fairness though, it's votes that count at the end of the day, and if there was 100,000 folk there, I think this is a big worry for the government.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

The shills are working overtime today to combat this show of support against the unjust water charges throwing insults and lazy observations to any poster whose opinion differs from theirs. Keep going lads ye must be getting worried:pac:

Worried about what?

And as I am always moved to remark on these occasions. Look, Mary Lou has sent her messenger boy along.

I already answered twice and provided a link.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

Well if you wouldn't mind comparing RTE coverage with the other outlets to identify an example of what you think may be going on that would inform the debate greatly. Any topic you like. Any time you like.

I think you are misunderstanding me, or are on the defensive about RTE?

With any topic at any time I look at multiple sources so I can make a more informed choice. That's all I meant. It is naive, and irresponsible, to look at one source and automatically believe it.

RTE was just the example given in this. It doesn't mean I disbelieve them, and in fact they are being impartial enough on this, and reporting numbers from both sides. However, I also looked at twitter, breaking news, boards, the IT, rabble, socialist worker etc etc..

They certainly don't give a shit about the other 98% either.

Just like Irish rail / Irish pubs don't give a shit about 100% of their customers.

So angry :(

Show me on the doll where the publican/train touched you

Well obviously, yeah, more money coming in would be good.

Are you an accountant or something? This is some next level ****

Wow. Ok, I'll end our conversation here.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

RTE website for one

zanador wrote: »
    RTE website for one

Oh, those shills! Don't believe anything they publish unless it supports my point of view, personally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

We've managed to keep it civil for the most part of this thread folks, let's keep it that way, thanks

Worried about what?

Worried that their dream Irish Water project will be scrapped. It will fail spectacularly judging by today's crowd if most don't pay. I can think of the other hundreds of thousands around the country who didn't march today. Word will spread back to them and they will be lifted by today's action and feel confident in not paying knowing there are thousands of others taking the same action.