Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Registered Users Posts: 21,027 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Silly post DX.

Not if you look at the figures. He said the population is broke and can't afford to pay IW €500 million next year. That is at the high end of expectations. I asked how this made sense when the population spent €6.3 billion on booze in 2012. In the middle of the deepest recession of all time and the most cruel austerity ever visited on any people in the history of the world.

I think the population can afford to pay for water. The ones that don't drink are already quids in compared to their neighbours who like a tipple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Slowly the truth is oozing out.
    While the Garda press office could not give a figure for the numbers in attendance, one garda observing the march estimated they could be as high as 100,000.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/over-50-000-march-in-dublin-to-protest-against-water-charges-1.1960704

How is the population broke if they can afford to spend 12 times as much on alcohol as they will be paying for water next year?

Price of Bulmers in a pub in town €5.50

Price of Bulmers in a pub in UK £2.95

Price difference of €1.74 not to mention we pay more tax also.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,941 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not if you look at the figures. He said the population is broke and can't afford to pay IW €500 million next year. That is at the high end of expectations. I asked how this made sense when the population spent €6.3 billion on booze in 2012. In the middle of the deepest recession of all time and the most cruel austerity ever visited on any people in the history of the world.

I think the population can afford to pay for water. The ones that don't drink are already quids in compared to their neighbours who like a tipple.

Why not heroin? Loads spent on that too and other drugs.
    I actually spend a lot of money on legal drugs I need to live.
    Maybe I should stop buying them and put the money towards water instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

So ye refuse to believe garda and media figures... unless they support your opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,972 ✭✭✭✭listermint

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    So ye refuse to believe garda and media figures... unless they support your opinion?

And you are still going.

You are literally flying in the face of all evidence. And you refused to respond to my well rounded comment.

Utter Ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭adrian92

I am at a loss as to why a decision was made to spend 500 million putting in meters.

Presumably in the interests of the Irish people.

I suppose it was just spare change and no other use for such a sum of money

It would seem you are calling a kettle black arse ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The gardai usually underestimate numbers

The organizers usually over estimate, sometimes massively

30k is nonsense

Was it a 100k? I'm inclined not to believe that only because the organizers gave that number. Either way, the turnout was massive, a lot of folk who would normally never go out and protest showed up today

adrian92 wrote: »
    I am at a loss as to why a decision was made to spend 500 million putting in meters.

Presumably in the interests of the Irish people.

I suppose it was just spare change and no other use for such a sum of money

Take the long view. They will be working away measuring water consumption years after we are all gone. A sound investment based on a very common practice worldwide.

listermint wrote: »
    And you are still going.

You are literally flying in the face of all evidence. And you refused to respond to my well rounded comment.

Utter Ridiculous.

Apologies, completely miss your well thought out and very detailed post. I appreciate it.

My comment about waiting to see the news wasn't with regards to the amount of protesters, I was hoping for plenty of coverage so I could see for myself what it was like and to see some of the speeches. If you read my other comments you'll see that while I don't support the protest, I admire the people that went to the protest instead of sitting on their arses, complaining and getting no where.

My comment above is in relation to all the posters who say the media and garda are towing the government line but when a member of AGS supports their opinion then he is to be believed, just this member, not any of the others.

Apologies, completely miss your well thought out and very detailed post. I appreciate it.

My comment about waiting to see the news wasn't with regards to the amount of protesters, I was hoping for plenty of coverage so I could see for myself what it was like and to see some of the speeches. If you read my other comments you'll see that while I don't support the protest, I admire the people that went to the protest instead of sitting on their arses, complaining and getting no where.

My comment above is in relation to all the posters who say the media and garda are towing the government line but when a member of AGS supports their opinion then he is to be believed, just this member, not any of the others.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/organisers-claim-100000-attended-anti-water-charges-protest-644984.html

There's another 100k claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Take the long view. They will be working away measuring water consumption years after we are all gone. A sound investment based on a very common practice worldwide.

It's a pity the subbies who installed them nearly ended up in the poorhouse trying to get money out of the main contractor/IW.

zerks wrote: »
    It's a pity the subbies who installed them nearly ended up in the poorhouse trying to get money out of the main contractor/IW.

This time I'm not going to google. Please explain.

Around 100,000 people have taken part in a mass demonstration against water charges in Dublin, according to the organisers of the rally.

Lads, I hope there was 100k, that'd be great to see. All I was saying was that I was waiting for a reliable source

Even if only 30,000 turned out, it was a good show. It seems to have gone off peacefully too, which is great. I was getting so fed up with those videos showing thuggish behaviour by protesters that I had no time for them! So, even though I don't agree with them, Well Done to all who showed up today.

This time I'm not going to google. Please explain.

I personally know a few who took on the job of installing meters,getting paid was like getting blood from a stone,even at that there were so many obstacles put in their way by IW that it would actually have been easier to bleed said stone.
    IW got mega bucks to get this thing up & running but are very reluctant to give any to the guys actually doing the hard work.As a result very many simply packed up their tools & cut their losses.

Looking good for SF in 2016 now. They will have to dig up all the meters. There is now way they could leave them in place. The suspicion would always be there that water charges could come back if their budgets ran into trouble on other fronts.

Lads, I hope there was 100k, that'd be great to see. All I was saying was that I was waiting for a reliable source

And not a tracker knacker in sight.Those expecting lads in Nike Airs & Celtic tops must be dissapointed.

I personally know a few who took on the job of installing meters,getting paid was like getting blood from a stone,even at that there were so many obstacles put in their way by IW that it would actually have been easier to bleed said stone.
    IW got mega bucks to get this thing up & running but are very reluctant to give any to the guys actually doing the hard work.As a result very many simply packed up their tools & cut their losses.

I'll take your word for it. There are lots of them round Dundalk this week so some must have persevered. I saw one man power washing the IW markings off the footpath in an estate. His car has been parked over the spot since. All his neighbours got a meter but he escaped. That is proper protesting. I don't know what he will do when he gets the first bill though.

Looking good for SF in 2016 now. They will have to dig up all the meters. There is now way they could leave them in place. The suspicion would always be there that water charges could come back if their budgets ran into trouble on other fronts.

And would you be back celebrating if charges did come in or would it be the wrong party?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Glock Lesnar

Why bother protesting if you just have to write 'no contract' on the envelope and send it back?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Has there been much coverage of the protests today on rte news?

Why bother protesting if you just have to write 'no contract' on the envelope and send it back?

Why bother paying to post it back. You have to pay because nobody is under any contract to return it for free. Same result, you still get a water bill next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

darced wrote: »

The ''real world'' always bites after hours regulars in the ass. :D

And would you be back celebrating if charges did come in or would it be the wrong party?

On an individual basis it doesn't matter to me. My wages came down €50 nett a week in 2010 so the property tax and water charges pale in comparison to that. Loads of people me included are on a wage freeze since 2008. Pensioners never got a rise since 2010, effectively reducing their income. And remember every worker in the country PS and private was looking forward to a guaranteed annual increase of 2% under Towards 2016. Much bigger things in my financial life and that of most PAYE people than water and property taxes.

I don't understand why so called socialists don't want to tax private property. It is one of the mainstay policies of socialists everywhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭adrian92

Am still not sure how it helps the Irish people to spend 500 million of our money putting items in holes outside our dwellings

Why bother paying to post it back. You have to pay because nobody is under any contract to return it for free. Same result, you still get a water bill next year.

Sounds very undemocratic tbh, hardly something any Govt party should be proud of concocting.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭achiman

If you really get fed up you could also make them work for their water by replacing your https://www.build4less.ie/eavesmaster-rwater-offset-bend-socket-p-6442.html with a 90 degree joint, if you have a runoff of course. Considering the fact that they are charging U to pump it back
    I am sure after this weeks weather in particular every house in the country has fed some load of water into the Uisce coffers