Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Registered Users Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

People say this like it's a sure thing. The provision allows for Irish Water to raise the price, having cleared it first, if they run at a loss due to low demand. It just takes account of the fact that we really have no idea how much it will cost to run a national water supply.

Doesn't matter how much it costs. Bottom line is profit. If we reduce our consumption by 50%, don't think for a second your bills will reflect this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Satriale wrote: »
    Ye might be better off not using the "just doing their job" argument. Give a quick google, it doesnt have a great rep.

I think you are trying to use the "just following orders" argument. If so it's a pretty ridiculous one to make.

Feck lad read it again, i wasnt using the argument , i was advising the protax side to stop using it cause it makes you sound like traffic wardens/clampers (or as you may be alluding to, nazis, three equally nasty groups in my eyes ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

People say this like it's a sure thing. The provision allows for Irish Water to raise the price, having cleared it first, if they run at a loss due to low demand. It just takes account of the fact that we really have no idea how much it will cost to run a national water supply .

Nor how much it will cost the user's per unit.

Yet they expect people to enter into a contract blindly.

I'm pleading to the gods their is mass civil disobedience on this one. Without Revenue, the chances are very likely.

Lots of people are underestimating the anger out there. I think the Govt are in for a short sharp shock though. The first dose to be administered on Oct 11th.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,555 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

EazyD wrote: »
    Wouldn't fancy the inevitable infraction, so no I won't.

If i wanted you to get an infraction i would have already reported your post for accusing posters of being shills.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    How about anyone who doesn't give their PPSN doesn't get any allowances? That's a fair way to do it, no?

That's exactly what will happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Gal2011

You will know the cost. It will be announced before you have to submit your application, and more than two months before you get your first bill.

I hope other people here will find your reasoning instructive. All that will happen to people who adopt the failed Don't Register, Don't Pay approach is that they will incur higher charges and make their lives complicated. And in the end they will all pay.

I went to do my registration over the phone yesterday and they jad no idea about how much it would cost they told me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

mfceiling wrote: »
    Doesn't matter how much it costs. Bottom line is profit. If we reduce our consumption by 50%, don't think for a second your bills will reflect this.

Well we can't expect a utilities provider to run at a loss. We'd just end up bailing them out. It's up to the Ombudsman, government and customers to make sure any required price increase is not simply due to inefficient running of a company.
    Satriale wrote: »
    Feck lad read it again, i wasnt using the argument , i was advising the protax side to stop using it cause it makes you sound like traffic wardens/clampers (or as you may be alluding to, nazis, three equally nasty groups in my eyes ;))

Like I said, ridiculous.
    Not how much it will cost the user's per unit.

Yet they expect people to enter into a contract blindly.

I'm pleading to the gods their is mass civil disobedience on this one. Without Revenue, the chances are very likely.

Lots of people are underestimating the anger out there. I think the Govt are in for a short sharp shock though. The first dose to be administered on Oct 11th.

No party will withdraw the charges. To think otherwise is lunacy.

Well, we'll have to agree to disagree I'm afraid.

Like I said. A lot of people are underestimating the level of anger out there. Bare in mind this charge escapes no one. Social housing, tenants, over taxed middle earners, etc etc.

I predict trouble and lots of it.

The media aren't reporting on it, but the Gards have been ran out of estates already Garda stations surrounded by mobs of angry disillusioned people. Thousands at marches, all going unreported.

Labour may be the loose link in the chain. Mark my words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

If i wanted you to get an infraction i would have already reported your post for accusing posters of being shills.

Except you'd have no leg to stand on, as I made a general statement, that in no way targeted any one particular poster. Better lob another bit of bait on the rod there.

EazyD wrote: »
    Except you'd have no leg to stand on, as I made a general statement, that in no way targeted any one particular poster. Better lob another bit of bait on the rod there.

Nothing to worry about so ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭lacco

bladespin wrote: »
    What about those who are trying to register (for or against) that are being obstructed by the pps nonsense? Having two kids entitled to their allowance and no way of getting it without handing over their pps numbers is a major hurdle for me and quite a fcuk up from those responsible for implementing the charge/bill.

I'm in the same boat as you. I looked at the data protection stuff on the water website and I am definitely not happy to hand over kids pps.I hope other parents are thinking the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Like I said, ridiculous.

I know, thats why i pointed it out, you are quite welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭S.O

Well, we'll have to agree to disagree I'm afraid.

Like I said. A lot of people are underestimating the level of anger out there. Bare in mind this charge escapes no one. Social housing, tenants, over taxed middle earners, etc etc.

The media aren't reporting on it, but the Gards have been ran out of estates already Garda stations surrounded by mobs of angry disillusioned people. Thousands at marches, all going unreported.

Labour may be the loose link in the chain. Mark my words.

I agree with your post' the thing with the water charge unlike the USC/lot is everyone is liable for the water charge! Whether they work or not work" in rented accomdation or in social housing thus the government is taking on everyone at the one time" the very mistake thatcher made with the poll tax which led to her downfall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Bare in mind this charge escapes no one. Social housing, tenants, over taxed middle earners, etc etc.

Ahem! Aren't you forgetting the many thousands of households who've been paying for their own water supply for many years either via private wells or group water schemes.

These people have been paying twice all this time, first in their general taxes for a service the state can't or won't provide and then second to fund the supply themselves.

The new water charges just even things up a bit!!

BarryD wrote: »
    Ahem! Aren't you forgetting the many thousands of households who've been paying for their own water supply for many years either via private wells or group water schemes.

These people have been paying twice all this time, first in their general taxes for a service the state can't or won't provide and then second to fund the supply themselves.

No, I'm not forgetting you folk either.

In saying that though, you haven't been paying all along. Neither have we, (us connected to the mains)

Not according to many on this thread who support the charges.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Garda stations surrounded by mobs of angry disillusioned people.
    If this actually happened, big chunks of the media would be all over it like a rash. Whatever about RTE and their occasional wink/nod agreements with the government, Denis O'Brien's stations tend to be very happy to pick up this kind of stuff, not to mention the gutter press of the Sun and the Daily Mail.

Do you even have a link to a dodgy and poorly laid out crank site to back this up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

mfceiling wrote: »

Look, this super quango has been set up to be a profitable company so it can be sold to the highest bidder.

It has nothing, absolutely nothing, to do with improving water services in this country.

Sure the LA's are charged with maintaining the system for the next 12 years FFS.

'tax non dom' obviously has something on the blueshirts because they're bending over backwards to facilitate this man.
    This has 'phone license' written all over it.
    They even wrote €100 million of the debts of siteserv before they sold it to him and awarded him the meter contract.

That's €100 million that the Irish taxpayer will have to cough up.

It's a scam.

seamus wrote: »
    If this actually happened, big chunks of the media would be all over it like a rash. Whatever about RTE and their occasional wink/nod agreements with the government, Denis O'Brien's stations tend to be very happy to pick up this kind of stuff, not to mention the gutter press of the Sun and the Daily Mail.

Do you even have a link to a dodgy and poorly laid out crank site to back this up?

Will youtube suffice:confused:

This is before bills arrive on door mats (immediately after Christmas)

Hardly evidence of

That's what seamus wanted evidence of. ( It's right there in his the post I quoted.)

That's an angry mob, outside a Garda station. The Govt should be anxious. Troubles brewing.

That's what seamus wanted evidence of. It's right there I the post I quoted.

That's an angry mob, outside a Garda station. The Govt should be anxious. Troubles brewing.

Bollox

You claimed gardai in riot gear being "escorted" out of estates among other claims. Show that video.

Well, it'll be a different type of protest if their water supplies run to a trickle. Trust me, we know all about that - one of the disadvantages of having a well, apart from paying for drilling, pumps and filters etc - is that they can and do run dry, particularly in summers like this.

I actually wouldn't mind paying a few hundred € for a water supply that was clean, reliable and runs all the time :)

Think about it.

The guy who owns and controls most of the media in this country is also the guy who benefits most from the set up of this super quango.

Why do the blueshirts continually bow down before this person???

Bollox

You claimed gardai in riot gear being "escorted" out of estates among other claims. Show that video.

Here you go. Btw. That's not what was asked of me earlier by seamus.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10203137401698805&set=vb.1319915454&type=2&theater

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Just curious... has anyone handed over their PPS numbers? I haven't and don't want to - I will only hand those numbers out to revenue (which I feel, are the only people I should deal with). October next week - and still no clearer on what to do re water charges???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

BarryD wrote: »

Im also someone with my own well and tank.

I have absolutely no problem supporting all of my fellow citizens with my taxes for their water. I did away with my landline as i can not get broadband, no bin service, I do have electricity, and the roads are maintained, i am probably a net gainer, but im not sure but im not interested in keeping score.

The part i despise is we are giving up an asset. Has anyone mentioned where we are going to spend all this money we are saving by privatising the water? No, reason being we will save nothing. The only efficiency is in making profits.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

De peeples are angry. Backs to the wall, put to the pin of their collar. De Govmint are quaking in their boots. It's a revolution.

Me arse. The Celtic Tiger is dead, long live the Toothless Tiger. So many mad rebels on social media. Just like when the Property Tax was due, which the vast majority are now paying.

Plates wrote: »
    De peeples are angry. Backs to the wall, put to the pin of their collar. De Govmint are quaking in their boots. It's a revolution.

Me arse. The Celtic Tiger is dead, long live the Toothless Tiger. So many mad rebels on social media. Just like when the Property Tax was due, which the vast majority are now paying.

Only, this isn't a tax.
    They haven't got, nor won't have, revenue to enforce this.

Revenue aren't in the business of collecting money for commercial setups.

Just curious... has anyone handed over their PPS numbers? I haven't and don't want to - I will only hand those numbers out to revenue (which I feel, are the only people I should deal with). October next week - and still no clearer on what to do re water charges???

But are you not happy to hand over your PPS when it suits? Like if you are in a position to claim child benefit or dental benefits or unemployment money, open a bank account etc etc? Your PPS number is not exactly highly sensitive information.

The purpose for which it's being sought here is to avoid people abusing the allowances and claiming multiple times in different residences. The allowance idea was set up the gov of the day to meet peoples wishes as far as I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    Only, this isn't a tax.
    They haven't got, nor won't have, revenue to enforce this.

Revenue aren't in the business of collecting money for commercial setups.

Not yet.