Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER CHARGE RELATED POST HERE***

• Registered Users Posts: 33,967 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Thousands go through the courts every year for not paying their TV licence. Hardly a word about it except occasionaly when some martyr decides not to pay the fine and ends up in prison.

The TV License is a tax, The Water Charge is not, it is a charge to a private entity. Does that not make is a civil matter ?

What does prison have to do with this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

Thousands go through the courts every year for not paying their TV licence. Hardly a word about it except occasionaly when some martyr decides not to pay the fine and ends up in prison.

No revenue boot boys to collect the TV (pravda) license either.
    It's collected by another lot of semi state trough swillers, An Post.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,021 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

listermint wrote: »
    No im afraid DX, you are wrong.

This has nothing to do with lefties or righties or anyone in between.

We are witnessing a robbery on the ordinary tax worker. I am an ordinary PAYE worker and we have to challenge this.

Lets sat they lose the CEO, lets say they write it into law that this entity cannot be sold without a return to the electorate to give a mandate for sale.

These things may go some way to alleviating the complete contempt we have received with its setup.

And your snide remarks about calling someone a freeman because they dont agree with complete nonsense shows more about the intelligence of your argument than you shall ever know.

Freemen pick and choose what laws they will obey. That is what you are doing, so that makes you a Freeman. Use the democratic process to change the government and to change the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

I mean a glorified taxi driver was a board member!??

They have not even started charging and they are already at it.

Grubby dirty back room politics.

Freemen pick and choose what laws they will obey. That is what you are doing, so that makes you a Freeman. Use the democratic process to change the government and to change the law.

Thats complete horse crap. Would you say the same to people on the streets in Hong Kong or are they all Freemen too ?

Absolutely hilarious the levels you are going to convince yourself that NORMAL people actually disagree with what is going on here.

And if there was an election tomorrow i know who i wouldn't be voting for. But hey it will be too late by the time the next one comes in. So if peaceful civil disobedience is the method people need to use to get their voices heard then so be it.

But sure no that would make them freemen again, sure wouldn't it..... according to you're logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The end is nigh.
    Finance Minister Michael Noonan has warned Fine Gael TDs against pushing the party into a general election as anger rises with Taoiseach Enda Kenny.

At a crunch party meeting, Mr Noonan was described as delivering a "very strong speech". He said the political narrative was drifting away from the economy and needed to be brought back on to the recovery.
    http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/noonan-warns-fg-rebels-get-back-on-to-the-economy-30630854.html

Noonan attempts to turn all the talk of cronyism and corruption around, and remind the plebs that the economy is improving.

Won't work Mick. Your party's been rumbled.

But that's completely misleading.

Loads of groups have been calling for protests tbh. United left alliance, people before profit, socialist party, Sinn fein, various non political groups.

All you've did was post a link to a webpage, one that suited your agenda, that has a photo of two people holding a placard, who quite frankly could belong to any of the groups I listed above, said photo used on the website you linked to. Hardly evidence tbh.

I'm not convinced.

In the local paper today they are pictured at water meter installations in two different estates. With their RNU placards and with Gardai present. Believe what you like.

The TV License is a tax, The Water Charge is not, it is a charge to a private entity. Does that not make is a civil matter ?

What does prison have to do with this ?

It's a simple civil matter.
    A debt owed on a contract, that's if you signed or consented to the contract.
    Some contract law lawyers should clear that up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

Signed up today like a mug, got a few trips up my sleeve to save water to keep the bills down

Thats complete horse crap. Would you say the same to people on the streets in Hong Kong or are they all Freemen too ?

Absolutely hilarious the levels you are going to convince yourself that NORMAL people actually disagree with what is going on here.

And if there was an election tomorrow i know who i wouldn't be voting for. But hey it will be too late by the time the next one comes in. So if peaceful civil disobedience is the method people need to use to get their voices heard then so be it.

But sure no that would make them freemen again, sure wouldn't it..... according to you're logic.

So what other laws do you break to uphold your high principles?

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    It's a simple civil matter.
    A debt owed on a contract, that's if you signed or consented to the contract.
    Some contract law lawyers should clear that up.

Now that is proper Freeman nonsense.

Interested to hear why people are signing up today ?

There is alot more to come from this whole thing i believe. And personally i think this is finally enough to bring down the government.

I believed all the crap labour spouted about a change in government when i gave them my mandate. and secondary votes for Fine Gael.

Here is what i didnt expect. Scandal after scandal after scandal. Poor decision followed by poorer decision. There have been so much croynism and nepotism in the last 2 years it would make your head spin. And Enda himself standing there like he its all someone elses fault. The FF blame game is well past over.

Sick of it.

Signed up today like a mug, got a few trips up my sleeve to save water to keep the bills down

Should that be drips?

Now that is proper Freeman nonsense.

So it's not a civil matter?
    Revenue are involved in debt collection for commercial operations now, are they?

If it's yellow, let it mellow. If it's brown, flush it down!

So what other laws do you break to uphold your high principles?

None, I am a law abiding tax payer. I am a Paye worker. I went to college. I work harder than you i can imagine. I have a good family. I am not a freeman.

But i cant abide by this. And if you think that this whole thing is 'ok' you need a lobotomy. (no seriously)

None, I am a law abiding tax payer. I am a Paye worker. I went to college. I work harder than you i can imagine. I have a good family. I am not a freeman.

But i cant abide by this. And if you think that this whole thing is 'ok' you need a lobotomy. (no seriously)

I'd rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

Interested to hear why people are signing up today ?

There is alot more to come from this whole thing i believe. And personally i think this is finally enough to bring down the government.

I believed all the crap labour spouted about a change in government when i gave them my mandate. and secondary votes for Fine Gael.

Here is what i didnt expect. Scandal after scandal after scandal. Poor decision followed by poorer decision. There have been so much croynism and nepotism in the last 2 years it would make your head spin. And Enda himself standing there like he its all someone elses fault. The FF blame game is well past over.

Sick of it.

You have my vote

I'd rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

Nice play on words, and i congratulate on lasting one post without calling someone a freeman. Makes a refreshing change from the very common tripe that has been posted of late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Its definetly not ok. Im similiar to yourself and at tipping point. The corruption and cronyism of FG is the last straw. Our outlook is bleak and I want to go to the streets.

Nice play on words, and i congratulate on lasting one post without calling someone a freeman. Makes a refreshing change from the very common tripe that has been posted of late.

Too kind.

Its definetly not ok. Im similiar to yourself and at tipping point. The corruption and cronyism of FG is the last straw. Our outlook is bleak and I want to go to the streets.

Me too, I have not been to anything before this but the straw is broke. I cant open the papers any day without a new headline coming out about the government, and what is more incredible is that labour are sitting through all this and saying absolutely nothing. I dont get it?

I am seriously considering heading into this march on the 11th. I think we need a change at the top and i think we need peaceful declaration of protest to show our unhappyness.

Is it mad that i even hate the word protest! i mean i feel like its lost its meaning.

I am just so disillusioned with this and angry. very angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Is it mad that i even hate the word protest! i mean i feel like its lost its meaning.

I am just so disillusioned with this and angry. very angry.

I know. Protests use to mean something. Now the word has been hijacked by thugs who have no understanding of anything they shout and have no issue attacking, verbally and physically, anyone who disagrees. It makes me angry too.

Me too, I have not been to anything before this but the straw is broke. I cant open the papers any day without a new headline coming out about the government, and what is more incredible is that labour are sitting through all this and saying absolutely nothing. I dont get it?

I am seriously considering heading into this march on the 11th. I think we need a change at the top and i think we need peaceful declaration of protest to show our unhappyness.

Depending on your circumstances you could be paying as little as €9 per quarter. According to the woman from IW on the radio this morning. Before this a €5 charge for septic tank registration was going to herald the end for rural Ireland. There won't be a word about this in a couple of years time and you might have calmed down by then. Your ESB bill is probably multiples of what water will cost you. Stop paying that, it will save you more money.

Did even bother to read anything i wrote about my reasons not to pay. It has nothing to do with my personal ability to pay.

I stated i had no issue paying for a water service. but not THIS water service and not THIS government. Stop trying to legitimise all that has gone into this over the last 2 years. It has to stop. This crap cannot be continued to be tolerated with the your alright jack politics and the usual ah sure we didnt know it was wrong until we were caught.

two words fk that!

I mean i wouldnt get away with an ounce of what goes on in goverment in my job. Accountability counts for NOTHING at the moment. And accountability was the manifesto.

Change was the manifesto

Where is it ??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭micosoft

The protesters in Hong Kong don't have an opportunity to vote for a new government every four years. You do. A simple distinction that may be lost on you but significant enough.

I know. Protests use to mean something. Now the word has been hijacked by thugs who have no understanding of anything they shout and have no issue attacking, verbally and physically, anyone who disagrees It makes me angry too.

LOL, that's what you lads have been doing here all week.

micosoft wrote: »
    The protesters in Hong Kong don't have an opportunity to vote for a new government every four years. You do. A simple distinction that may be lost on you but significant enough.

Nothing is lost on me at all. Dont be so condescending. And use some intelligent thinking will you.

Hong Kong have a semi democracy but its not working. Its broken and the people want change. But sure there change is ok to protest about.

But when an Irish person a normal irish person is upset about a government who completely u turned all of their manifest proposals they are labelled a freeman, an idiot a shinner and real lateral thinking is 'lost on them'

Get real my friend. And dont be so condescending to people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    LOL, that's what you lads have been doing here all week.

I haven't been attacking anyone. I've been laughing a lot and countering a lot of ridiculous arguments that were in support of violent protests and illegal activity.