Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do with a found medal..

Options
  • 18-07-2014 10:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭

Hi everyone, it's my first time posting in the military forum so apologies if this is in the wrong thread/section!

So basically, I was out doing a bit of work on the farm last week, picking up stones that had been dug up from recent digging when I noticed something glaring in the corner of my eye.. I went over assuming it was just a piece of glass cursing my ancestors when I saw it was something round and silver sticking out of the ground.. I thought it was a coin from 1918 but when I cleaned the dirt off it and saw the 1914 inscribed I realised that it must be a medal.. I'm flabbergasted how it ended up here in rural Roscommon! I did a bit of research into it and it turns out that its a silver GEORGIVS V BRITT : OMN : REX ET IND : IMP medal. (Not sure how to upload an image and I'm not allowed post links as a new user but its the one on the 'British War Medal' wikipedia page)

Apparently the medal was awarded to an E.Follows, a gunner. It gives a number on the side of the medal but I'm not sure what that refers to. How could I find out more about this man and possibly how the medal ended up in Roscommon? (it wasn't someone local as far as I'm aware). Any help in pointing me in the right way would be appreciated :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭johnny_doyle

number 175235?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,222 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Ths is the only E. Follows on the Commonwealth Wargraves site: