Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Saturday Night With Miriam - 19th. July 9.45pm

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

That's where we had the drinkies before we went into the SNS......

All that booze bill was used up on me & Co!....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Everyone always said he handled that very well Harry, I have to say I didn't think so......

What a sad day for the family, what would have been great fun and celebrations instead a day of sadness....

I thought he recovered quite well, having got off to an awful start, but was undoubtedly helped by the fact that there was a nun (and, I think, Brendan Kennelly) on the show at the time.

RayM wrote: »
    I thought he recovered quite well, having got off to an awful start, but was undoubtedly helped by the fact that there was a nun (and, I think, Brendan Kennelly) on the show at the time.

Do you remember when Brendan's daughter was on the SNS I think...Doodles or something like that....She was lovely and spoke so lovingly about her dad....:)

Ah It's nearly the time for the Lovely Girls Competition......

That will be a bit of craic!........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Ah It's nearly the time for the Lovely Girls Competition......

That will be a bit of craic!........

It comes round quicker and quicker every year!

Best craic ever Harry, little grey wants the set of cutlery the winners get but she will not be a good child and apply.....:mad:

Have you sent in your application for an Escort yet?? (no car pics please :D) :P

Christy is a bit dreary, the ROT song was a bit of a washout....

I used to drink in a pub called Nancy Spain's. It's gone now :(

Ahem, I may have lurked once or twice in the particular establishment Harry...

Were you the very handsome one in the corner with the lovely blond lady??....:pac:

Ahem, I may have lurked once or twice in the particular establishment Harry...

Were you the very handsome one in the corner with the lovely blond lady??....:pac:

I was more likely to be the fella in the other corner with the blonde beer :o

:D:D:D

Nah, I'm sure it was you with the sunglasses on your head and the leggy blond and beer.....

It's nice to put a face behind the name.....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

had guests- what ye watching now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

efb wrote: »
    had guests- what ye watching now?

'Extras' Christmas Special on GOLD :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Everyone always said he handled that very well Harry, I have to say I didn't think so......

What a sad day for the family, what would have been great fun and celebrations instead a day of sadness....

Oh grey I have to disagree.

The initial "and why did she die" was horrendous, horrendous, but after that I thought it was the most sad and awful situation and the most sad and awful tv to watch, but handled very well by Gay.
    "oh dear, oh dear I am so sorry"

Of course as s/one else said he was aided by the nun and BK.

It was just an awful moment - imagine live on tv ringing that lady, in the midddle of her grief, about a car she could potentially win, after her daughter had just died in a car accident!!! I cannot imagine any other broadcaster managing it as well as Gay did*.

Gay is not the deity that some people think he is! But for me that's one of the most moving clips (and handled as best it could considering the situation) I've ever seen.

*I certainly cannot imagine Ryan Tubridy managing it - I'd reckon he'd go ott/misery mode about it.

Ah, there's no doubt am he did handle the aftermath well with the nun and Brendan, the point I was making he always comes out with a strange "why did she die" and there was no doubt the lady in question was flummoxed by it as was everyone I think...

He got back on track when he regained his composure as only Gay could. His initial reaction was the point we were discussing last night, he said the same thing to Christy.

I shudder to think what Mr. T would have come out with..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Radio5

Tuned in for some of last nights show.

Same old same old RTE chat show. There has to be paint drying somewhere that would make a more interesting guest than Tommy Bowe.

Joe O'Connor. Nothing new to say either.

The couple from Roscommon with the ill children. Don't normally listen to those stories but by God they were articulate speakers.

The mother mentioned that the disease which their kids have is genetic. Did Miriam (top interviewer) as her a pertinent question for example

"Can people thinking of having kids take a test to see if they're carriers of the gene ( similar to CF) or do they just have to wait and hope their kids don't develop it?"

That was the 1st thing which occurred to me but clearly not Miriam or her researcher. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Radio5 wrote: »
    Tuned in for some of last nights show.

Same old same old RTE chat show. There has to be paint drying somewhere that would make a more interesting guest than Tommy Bowe.

Joe O'Connor. Nothing new to say either.

The couple from Roscommon with the ill children. Don't normally listen to those stories but by God they were articulate speakers.

The mother mentioned that the disease which their kids have is genetic. Did Miriam (top interviewer) as her a pertinent question for example

"Can people thinking of having kids take a test to see if they're carriers of the gene ( similar to CF) or do they just have to wait and hope their kids don't develop it?"

That was the 1st thing which occurred to me but clearly not Miriam or her researcher. :rolleyes:

The family with the children with the duchen (am not fully sure if spelling) muscular dystrophy had never heard of that variant of md.
    So it is fair to assume that a family member was not known to have had this in the past. Therefore they were totally unaware that this was a possibility for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Radio5

Yes I know they were unaware of it being a possibility for them and they'd had never heard of that variant of MD.

my point is - now that they are (unfortunately) familiar with the latest research around this illness, are they aware of any current test or one under development that other people can do to see if they carry a gene for this illness? Or is it something that's impossible to test for and 100% unpredictable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Radio5 wrote: »
    Yes I know they were unaware of it being a possibility for them and they'd had never heard of that variant of MD.

my point is - now that they are (unfortunately) familiar with the latest research around this illness, are they aware of any current test or one under development that other people can do to see if they carry a gene for this illness? Or is it something that's impossible to test for and 100% unpredictable?

I know if someone with cf in her family who got herself and her fiancé tested when they got engaged to see what the chances were.
    Thankfully he was not a carrier so they are ok.

But unless you know of a family history you would but know there was a need to rest for it.
    Or are you saying that every couple should test for every genetic disease prior to having kids?

Sometimes a disease can emerge and neither family would have had a relation with it in living memory.

For most genetic diseases both parent must be a carrier so it's easy to see how it could lie dormant for many generations. Sometimes people are very lucky. And like in this family some people are tragically unlucky.