Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Beef General Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Willfarman wrote: »
    Was the last one a late calf or a bad un?

reared on a teat ,always struggling .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Kovu wrote: »
    You got a good price there!
    Will she still have to be blooded for the factory? Am also waiting on two other cows, if they repeat, they can join her.

ThAts an outstanding price imo best I heard for a R grade cow is €4.10, would you not mart her? Could be better off, good cows very much so in demand, looks fine for flesh to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

simx wrote: »
    ThAts an outstanding price imo best I heard for a R grade cow is €4.10, would you not mart her? Could be better off, good cows very much so in demand, looks fine for flesh to me

Cost of blooding, mart fees, day spent in the mart.....easier to send her one way with a haulier who builds up loads to send in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have often sent the odd cow to factory with haulier ,sometimes i am happy and more often not
    That cow could carry more weight imo and would fly in the mart at the moment
    As far as i know bruc. testing is to be done away with shortly ,vet told me only waiting for our minister coveney to anounce it.
    I have a few to mart myself and am holding tough until then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Kovu wrote:
    Cost of blooding, mart fees, day spent in the mart.....easier to send her one way with a haulier who builds up loads to send in.

yeah but the dealer will get a better price than you for himself in factory. so he can give more in the mart iykwim? sometimes you get more in the mart for a factory fit animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭mf240

visatorro wrote: »
    yeah but the dealer will get a better price than you for himself in factory. so he can give more in the mart iykwim? sometimes you get more in the mart for a factory fit animal

Ya but unless theres someone to bid against him he wont .

In the local mart the dealers stand back for each other for every other lot.

That plus the cost of blooding and call out fee for vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Kovu wrote: »
    True, but I think she'd go overfat very quick as she's put up that on grass alone while feeding a brute of a blue heifer. Ask and let me know though! I suppose I could feed her in the field for a few weeks with a bucket. Save hardship of the shed.

Well fleshed facory fit cows are a great trade in the marts atm. There's is a big variation in the price you will get for cows in different factories. Some specialise in them. Others don't want to know. My advice for what it's worth, is It will pay you well to blood her and sell hard through the ring.

Factory in Moyvalley, among others, is good for cows. Dealers buying through the ring will put a few together and get them going on a load. They can afford to pay you more than you would get selling direct to your local factory.

Also she could just as easily go north with your marts proximity and the strong sterling against the euro.

Some very good points for both. Damn.....I was expecting to be told outright what to do :pac: I suppose I could get onto a vet who's a mate of mine and ask him to blood her when he's in the area. Would save us a call out fee as he expressed an interest in her calf last time he was here, kill two birds with one stone.
    Going to put them in today and wean her, calf is Nov so well fit, reckon she's about 340kg or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 keysersoze1

do not send a cow to the factory that's suckling a calf...you'll get her price in the mart at the moment dealers or no dealers

I know that, hence her being weaned. Both the father and myself have experience working in factories but not for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭leoch

are the factories that dodgy that a dealer will get more for ur cattle in the factory than urself i thought the grading machine would be the same for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

leoch wrote: »
    are the factories that dodgy that a dealer will get more for ur cattle in the factory than urself i thought the grading machine would be the same for everyone

A dealer who can put a lorry load of cows together might get 420c/kg but a farmer bringing one cow might get 400c/kg. It's nothing to do with the grading machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Are prices gone this crazy have not been in a mart in ages. But looking at DD at present some lads that are buying are going to get a scalding. Both lots of cattle are more than likly 2017 factory cattle. Some lads are buying for the sake of buying

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/fr-bulls/9925977?offset=22
    http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/9-british-frisian-bulls/9973619?offset=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Are prices gone this crazy have not been in a mart in ages. But looking at DD at present some lads that are buying are going to get a scalding. Both lots of cattle are more than likly 2017 factory cattle. Some lads are buying for the sake of buying

Hopefully they are as I've a few going tomorrow.
    Both sets would have been got for 480 last yr. B&W will be first to take hit in a slump. We bought an 20mt old well made frx for 815 last yr. Will know the result of that by Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/9-british-frisian-bulls/9973619?offset=9
    Would anybody really pay those prices. Is it more a case of lads chancing their arm? The country must be full of fr bull weanlings like above, many of which were kept on to drink milk. These will surely hit the marts in the coming months and early next year and the a#$e (if they have any) will fall out of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Seems they are from talking to lads going to marts. Absolutely crazy. I have a lanky HEX that was thrown in from dealer this year. He would be around 400kg. I am thinking of letting him go soon as prices seem mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Don't think that is happening. Was in Gort mart last night.

Ch hf 300kg €940 - Nice animal
    Aax nov/14 355 €985
    Bax jan/15 280 €850

They're mental prices alright but there was value in year and a halves. A pen of lovely CH heifers came in, 8 together about 450kgs. They went for 1050 which was actually good value for their quality. Though it was ridiculous to put 8 in the ring together, how many lads were there for 8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Don't think that is happening. Was in Gort mart last night.

Ch hf 300kg €940 - Nice animal
    Aax nov/14 355 €985
    Bax jan/15 280 €850

They're mental prices alright but there was value in year and a halves. A pen of lovely CH heifers came in, 8 together about 450kgs. They went for 1050 which was actually good value for their quality. Though it was ridiculous to put 8 in the ring together, how many lads were there for 8?

All you need is two

Lmx feb 14 540kg 1340
    Bbx apr 14 520kg 1350
    Lmx jan 14 505kg 1390
    Bbx apr 14 530kg 1240

Lmx feb 14 540kg 1340
    Bbx apr 14 520kg 1350
    Lmx jan 14 505kg 1390
    Bbx apr 14 530kg 1240

These your own? Bullocks? Any pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Lmx feb 14 540kg 1340
    Bbx apr 14 520kg 1350
    Lmx jan 14 505kg 1390
    Bbx apr 14 530kg 1240

Great money , were you in headford ? I've a fr cow there today but i haven't heard from yer man that brought her down yet

AP2014 wrote: »
    These your own? Bullocks? Any pics?

I have of the two lmx will post later

Cheers, some prices and weights though infairness.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Great money , were you in headford ? I've a fr cow there today but i haven't heard from yer man that brought her down yet

Ya it was quite enough with stock but ring was busy. Hopefully will hold another month as last of my year and halfs lads will be ready for then. Well fleshed animals made good money. Cows won't be on for a while yet. You might do well as truckers will have half full loads. Let us know how she does.

Cheers, some prices and weights though infairness.

They have got a lb of nuts mixed with soya meal and barley since turnout every day. Just to keep them topped up with tue grass.

Lmx feb 14 540kg 1340
    Bbx apr 14 520kg 1350
    Lmx jan 14 505kg 1390
    Bbx apr 14 530kg 1240

Pics not great

Nice cattle with good flesh on them, they don't look exceptional though. Think ya cleaned up with prices. Fair play.

Nope. Just big heavy lumps

Ya it was quite enough with stock but ring was busy. Hopefully will hold another month as last of my year and halfs lads will be ready for then. Well fleshed animals made good money. Cows won't be on for a while yet. You might do well as truckers will have half full loads. Let us know how she does.

€890 she made . I'm happy with that , don't know her weight but under 500kg anyhow , purebred holstien

You'll find the weight on farming forum during week. Wouldn't ne many fr cows in Headford.

I just forgot to ask the lad that brought her down he will have it for me when i see him again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Sold 3 youngish dry cows at home yesterday for 1425, one Charolais x sim that had a good bit of flesh but still needed a small bit more feeding and 2 fairly storey red lims but all well made cows. I'd probably have averaged closer to 1500 in the mart but your man will blood them and by the time you'd have commission and a 50 mile round trip to the mart with them taken out of it I might be as well off. One of them had horns as well so wouldn't have got in with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

All you need is two

Remember being in the Box once and waiting to announce special sale over intercom, got chatting to auctioneer, he asked me had I many and what kind of money was I expecting, told him anyways, he looked around and said there's not too many about for this sale, I said sure we only need two, his reply back was "we'll make do with one too"

Sold 3 youngish dry cows at home yesterday for 1425, one Charolais x sim that had a good bit of flesh but still needed a small bit more feeding and 2 fairly storey red lims but all well made cows. I'd probably have averaged closer to 1500 in the mart but your man will blood them and by the time you'd have commission and a 50 mile round trip to the mart with them taken out of it I might be as well off. One of them had horns as well so wouldn't have got in with her.

Will the buyer pay to blood them ? That's not a bad deal at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Will the buyer pay to blood them ? That's not a bad deal at all

Ya, that's the way we always dealt with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭Dozer1

carried 2 culls to Kilmallock yesterday, prices seemed pretty strong
    I'd one nice red LM 655Kgs made 1215 and one screwball of a shorthorn that never had a calf 395kgs made 790, madness I thought anyway as there was no way she'll fatten and she wouldn't survive in a shed of cattle.

calves were still dear, month old whiteheads up 380 and week old angus making 180.

wouldn't like to be feeding them till next spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dozer1 wrote: »
    carried 2 culls to Kilmallock yesterday, prices seemed pretty strong
    I'd one nice red LM 655Kgs made 1215 and one screwball of a shorthorn that never had a calf 395kgs made 790, madness I thought anyway as there was no way she'll fatten and she wouldn't survive in a shed of cattle.

calves were still dear, month old whiteheads up 380 and week old angus making 180.

wouldn't like to be feeding them till next spring.
    HAD 2 lads ringing last week looking for calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    HAD 2 lads ringing last week looking for calves

Preordering ;)

Reggie. wrote: »
    Preordering ;)
    Ye i had told them earlier i would be calving in August. Cant imagine theres too many calves around at this time of year. Not starting calving til the end of August .

Not much of a break there so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

nenagh to day Lm bullocks

535 kgs €1335
    595 kgs € 1525
    473 kgs €1155

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

FR bull calves are still been shipped out. Never heard of it at this time of the year as it usually finishes in June. I presume it has something to do with the quotas going :confused:

orm0nd wrote: »
    nenagh to day Lm bullocks

535 kgs €1335
    595 kgs € 1525
    473 kgs €1155

Any pics?

Base price wrote: »
    FR bull calves are still been shipped out. Never heard of it at this time of the year as it usually finishes in June. I presume it has something to do with the quotas going :confused:
    I wonder what were the export figures like for this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

IrelandCattleLiveExportsByTypeYTD.gif?guid=20150729080919
    I wonder what were the export figures like for this year?
    http://www.bordbia.ie/industry/farmers/pricetracking/cattle/pages/livecattleexports.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

ganmo wrote: »

So there is 15k less calves exported so far this year and 110-120k extra calves born. Some people will get a serious burning come 2017.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    So there is 15k less calves exported so far this year and 110-120k extra calves born. Some people will get a serious burning come 2017.

Try explaining that to some people tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Cavanjack wrote: »

Not necessarily,the other side of the coin is the demand. There may bew a greater demand for beef then. We hope!

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Any pics?

no, belonging to a neighbour (unfortunately not mine)

classy stock mostly feb14. light red lm ex simmential x cows

orm0nd wrote: »
    no, belonging to a neighbour (unfortunately not mine)

classy stock mostly feb14. light red lm ex simmential x cows

Lim muscle with sim frames. Good mix.