Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shocking video of guards in Dublin today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

pablo128 wrote: »
    They are guards, not doctors.

And it just goes to show how poorly trained they are. When they can't even cope with or manage a seizure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

And it just goes to show how poorly trained they are. When they can't even cope with or manage a seizure.

Actually when a person has a seizure you are supposed to let them have it. You should not try to move them. You should ensure that they do not bang their head. If it lasts longer than a couple of minutes an ambulance should be called. The guards called an ambulance and did not move him. Also there was someone holding his head still so he would not bang it. What would you expect the guards to do different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bilko47

That is a very blinkered view.it wasn't a black and white situation.there was a protest going on,on a public street.the guy put himself in danger lying on a public road.priority had to be to remove the guy from the road.if the guy hadn't had an epilectic fit,the who!e situation wouldn't be blown out of proportion as it is.the guards did there job and obviously couldn't have for seen the guy having a
    fit.I don't see anything "shocking" about that video.

He didn't have d fit till someone said he's going to have one. It looks all staged ta me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bilko47

That is a very blinkered view.it wasn't a black and white situation.there was a protest going on,on a public street.the guy put himself in danger lying on a public road.priority had to be to remove the guy from the road.if the guy hadn't had an epilectic fit,the who!e situation wouldn't be blown out of proportion as it is.the guards did there job and obviously couldn't have for seen the guy having a
    fit.I don't see anything "shocking" about that video.

He didn't have d fit till someone said he's going to have one. It looks all staged ta me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

In my opinion they probably weren't sure if he actually was or just acting the maggot. Once they realised he was they called an ambulance and allowed others to his aid who knew exactly what to do and one guard helped put him in the recovery position. Seems fair enough to me

I've no problem with anything bar the head being dragged along the ground, which like I said before was a bit much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Duffff-Man wrote: »
    Actually when a person has a seizure you are supposed to let them have it. You should not try to move them. You should ensure that they do not bang their head. If it lasts longer than a couple of minutes an ambulance should be called. The guards called an ambulance and did not move him. Also there was someone holding his head still so he would not bang it. What would you expect the guards to do different?

Skipping the whole "dragging his puss along the floor" would be a good start anyway. I much prefer having my feet dragged, my head, not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Holy jaysis, watched another video of it. Would love to have these Polski's come over and give the guards a taste of their own medicine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78qO9T6E0is

Ironically enough, they're playing St. Pats in Dublin on Wednesday.

Skipping the whole "dragging his puss along the floor" would be a good start anyway. I much prefer having my feet dragged, my head, not so much.

Did you see what happened before the video started? No you didn't, so who knows if the chap was confrontational or not. The guards moved him and to me it looks like they lost their grip and he was dragged for a short distance.

When I said what would you expect the guards to do differently I was referring to the fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

gctest50 wrote: »
    it'd be easy for someone to lay off their medication beforehand and make themselves more prone to a fit

I highly doubt a person would bring on a seizure just for the sake of it some people develop bad after effects nobody would make themselves more prone to them

But he was acting like a díck if he had just done what the gaurds instructed him to do and get of the road and not kicked out at them and fling himself around and make the gaurds lose their grip, the gaurds are not to blame they were just doing their job

and yer one screaming at the gardai calling them árseholes she sounded peaceful alright I hope she was arrested making a bad situation even worse
    Show our gaurds some respect and you will get it in return

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Did you see what happened before the video started? No you didn't, so who knows if the chap was confrontational or not. The guards moved him and to me it looks like they lost their grip and he was dragged for a short distance.

When I said what would you expect the guards to do differently I was referring to the fit.

I don't hugely care what happened before. Regardless, i wouldn't drag A PERSONS head along a road, mainly as I am not a nasty piece of work. I'd realise pretty swiftly that it would not be a good way for someone to travvel and change my grip so their feet dragged. As opposed to their head. I'm guessing you don't drag your kids or family around with their heads dragging on the floor, right? Why is that?

SweetChaos wrote: »

and yer one screaming at the gardai calling them árseholes she sounded peaceful alright I hope she was arrested making a bad situation even worse
    Show our gaurds some respect and you will get it in return

Couldn't agree more with what you said. Respect works both ways.

I don't hugely care what happened before. Regardless, i wouldn't drag A PERSONS head along a road, mainly as I am not a nasty piece of work. I'd realise pretty swiftly that it would not be a good way for someone to travvel and change my grip so their feet dragged. As opposed to their head. I'm guessing you don't drag your kids or family around with their heads dragging on the floor, right? Why is that?

Because I don't have kids. He started kicking out at the guards. They lost their grip. His head was dragged for a couple of seconds. The guards used reasonable force to move him, I'm sure his head would not have dragged if he didn't kick out at them or follow their instructions in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

If someone has an epileptic fit at any time when I'm in college, some of the instructors when carrying out first aid on them, would say that it is outside of their control to try and stop a seizure from happening to them.

They just have to let it pass and everything will be fine again if the seizure is not deemed to be too serious for the casualty. From a health and safety point of view though, it is not recommended to have other people surrounding the casualty from having a seizure because those other people can possibly get injured too.

Incidents like this can happen, to a small unfortunate group of students who I've known there who have these seizures, very regularly.

It's nothing new and not something to be ashamed of in this day and age.

It is just the way that the guards that handled the situation was unfair to the unfortunate individual involved as he could have gotten a higher chance of getting serious injury. And that is something that the Gardai should be thinking about when they 'dealt' with that incident today.

Police Brutality is also not the issue when regarding this video from the group of protesters as that is deemed irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

At 14 secs, the protester starts to sit down in the middle of the road

At 16 sec's, three guards begin to move protester, he resists immediately

From the 22nd second to the 25th second, two guards manage to successfully carry the protestor

At sec 26, the guard at his head, lost his grip of the protesters left slieve while trying to avoid the protesters leg and the other guard looks back to see where he's going, After this the guard can be clearly seen trying to get a better hold of the protester

The end of the 27sec to mid 29 sec is when his head is dragged, less than 2 seconds, on 30 sec's the guard at his feet places the protesters feet on the ground

Who should've done what differantly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Looks to me like the fit started pretty much straight away when the guards went to move him. They should have recognised what was happening, I presume they are trained in first aid. Looks like they panicked. Seen this happen a few times before brute force and ignorarance takes priority instead of recognising what is happening and dealing with it properly. Guards I know see protesters as a nuance rather than people exercising their democratic rights and something that they should be facilitating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

dharma200 wrote: »
    listen lads, whatever about the Dublin says no campaign and freemen and all that... This is shocking treatment of a human being by guards... Do they not be trained in handling people? Watch the guys head on the ground... Wtf

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nQwpP8gwiz4&feature=youtube_gdata_player
    The whole thing looks staged by the same type of crusties that jump on every bandwagon going!
    dharma200 wrote: »
    Unless that guy was waving about a weapon or acting in a way which was going to cause immediate physical harm to anyone or a guard I can't see how dragging him along the ground by the head can be in any way proper order... I know these protest groups are contentious, but even the way they are around him afterwards, big guilty hands all around him.. That's. Not on I don't think for any force to behave like that unless the guy was endangering life like...
    Scary ****
    The guards were dragging him along nicely till he started squirming and kicking out at the Guards.
    Super-Rush wrote: »
    Ladies and gentlemen i would like to welcome you all to the Saturday night garda thread.

I will be your host and the ever lovely Whoopsadaisydoodles will be your referee.

Snacks will be served shortly, please take your seats and switch off all mobile phones.
    I need my phone to record the whole thing.
    --LOS-- wrote: »
    ye they were doing such a good job controlling the crowd?! They seemed totally clueless as to how to act at this guy having a fit.
    I don't believe his fit was real, I think from my many years of seeing fits on an almost weekly basis that it was staged for the you-tubers in the protest!
    Fcuk that I've a race in the morning. I'm off to bed :pac:

Mod

Ladies and gentlemen. I'm trusting ye all to behave yerselves.

Do you understand? I am giving you this opportunity to prove that you can be left alone for a few hours without wrecking the place. Please don't let me down.

Many thanks.
    Whoopsadaisydoodles

Super-rush - you know what to do in case of Emergency :)

Night night :pac:
    WRECK THE GAFF!

but tidy up afterwards:D
    muddypaws wrote: »
    The first time I watched it, I thought the Gards were really out of order, but watching it again, I think he'd already started to fit, and thats why he ended up with his head on the floor, they were carrying him, and the the thrashing caused them to drop him. They should have stopped though, and not dragged his head along the ground.

How did the woman know he was about to have a fit? She was saying "he's going to have a fit now".

Also, what were they doing while he was having the fit, was that man trying to put something in his mouth? I thought now that you just clear everything around the person, put something under their head to stop them hurting themselves, and observe. Putting something in the mouth isn't recommended anymore.
    A person having a fit should be left to have it in peace and not surrounded by dozens of screaming jackass protesters. Nobody should hold their head as this can cause serious whiplash type injuries and NEVER anything in their mouth as their tongue will heal in a few days, a lot faster than it takes their their teeth to grow back!
    An ambulance is not really needed unless the person has fallen badly and badly cut themself or broken something, the best thing after the seizure is to get the person home to their own bed so they can sleep and wake up in familiar surroundings.
    bilko47 wrote: »
    I have seen fits regularly all my life and this one does looks staged for the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

foxy06 wrote: »
    Looked like he was having his fit before they even started dragging him

If that's the case it's a pity the cameras didn't catch it. Maybe neither guards nor protesters recognised the start of the epileptic fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

muddypaws wrote: »
    Why? If I'm not breaking any law, why should I not question it? I respect the Gards, and I believe they have a very tough job, but putting on a uniform does not automatically make them right every time.
    As someone else pointed out it is an offence.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91352497&postcount=111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

The guards need to be retrained .was stupid way to handle it.if you look at video you notice that some guards saw his head dragging and didn't care. Making excuses for they way they handle it is poor.
    More bad press to come for guards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

While they should have stopped sooner when the garda lost his grip it was a situation easily avoided. Although he wouldnt have a video on youtube showing how "the man" oppresses him and get his "Dragged away by police" protester badge if he decided not to act like a bollocks.

The guards need to be retrained .was stupid way to handle it.if you look at video you notice that some guards saw his head dragging and didn't care. Making excuses for they way they handle it is poor.
    More bad press to come for guards
    The actions of the 2 guards involved suggested they did care they cared enough to stop after about 1.5 seconds, thats how quick it happened, how do you know that on looking guards didn't care

This is Ireland, if they want to protest then they should go the Gaza or to Israel then they would witness brutality and I doubt if they would be so mouthy with the local police or militia there either.

That's too facile and fails to recognise rights that protestors have in law and in the constitution.
    Having said that, this video does not show us how the whole business began. It seems that once the guards realised the protestor was having a fit, they dealt with the situation as best they could, and a small number of the protestors were less than helpful, being more concerned with the blame game than remedying the emergency. The recriminations about the guards' lack of medical expertise were the height of absurdity.
    My sympathies are with the Palestinian people, but what a pity that there are usually a few among those who agitate for good causes who are less concerned with contesting the injustice than with pushing their own narrow political agenda, and in the process damage the case being made by sincere people of conscience.
    For OP to use the word "shocking" in the heading would suggest that the intent was propaganda rather than reporting. If the camera doesn't lie why can't we be left to decide for ourselves? Must we be guided by Big Brother?
    That said, I hope this has/had a good outcome for the unfortunate epileptic.

20Cent wrote: »
    Looks to me like the fit started pretty much straight away when the guards went to move him. .
    They started to move him just as he sat down in front of them, at 16 seconds, what did you see at this point to suggest he was having a fit?
    They should have recognised what was happening, .
    When? as in what time on the video ? and how should they have recognised it at this time?
    Looks like they panicked..
    Which guard panicked and what did you see to make you think he panicked?
    Seen this happen a few times before brute force and ignorarance takes priority instead of recognising what is happening and dealing with it properly.
    Again who should have done what differantly?

Red21 wrote: »
    They started to move him just as he sat down in front of them, at 16 seconds, what did you see at this point to suggest he was having a fit?
    When? as in what time on the video ? and how should they have recognised it at this time?
    Which guard panicked and what did you see to make you think he panicked?
    Again who should have done what differantly?

I've seen people having fits before first thing that happens is they fall to the ground. Was he trying to sit on the road or was that the start of the fit. Can't tell from the video. The persons eyes roll it's very recognisable. Dragging him off the road with his head on the ground looks like they wanted to move him as quickly as possible. I'd suggest taking a fraction of a second to evaluate what's happening instead of dragging the guy straight away head along the ground. They should also have put a jacket under his head when it was clear it was a fit.

Take a few seconds be patient it's an emotive issue for a lot of people think and see what's happening before using violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Pro-tip: don't lie down in the middle of the road when the police tell you to move away. Also, if you're an epileptic who is prone to having fits you shouldn't be putting yourself at risk like that.

I also love that the video opens with a title describing it as "brutality". I can make my own mind up, thanks. Love the protesters shouting and roaring at the gardai trying to do their jobs as well.

Rent a crowd knobends.

I am delighted that this post got so many thanks. I couldn't have said it better myself.

That video and the way it is presented on Youtube is completely biased and completely lacking evidence and facts.

The people shouting and roaring in the video sound like your bog standard knobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I've seen people having fits before first thing that happens is they fall to the ground. ..............The persons eyes roll it's very recognisable. ,,,,,,,.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

They say jump you say how high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

They say get off the public roads , you do .

In a fraught situation that's about it, within reason. You can question the reasonableness of the direction afterwards. Have you never experienced something simiar with traffic cops, say when there's been an accident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Why is it it's taking them 3 hours to respond to my car being robbed? yet a massive group of guards appear on youtube abusing people every week..

Btw... if they introduce that fitness test every few years for Guards that group in the video are ****ed lol..

Was he trying to sit on the road or was that the start of the fit. Can't tell from the video.
    Seriously???
    Dragging him off the road with his head on the ground.
    This didn't happen, this is what happened
    At 16 sec's, three guards begin to move protester, he resists immediately

From the 22nd second to the 25th second, two guards manage to successfully carry the protestor

At sec 26, the guard at his head, lost his grip of the protesters left slieve while trying to avoid the protesters leg and the other guard looks back to see where he's going, After this the guard can be clearly seen trying to get a better hold of the protester

The end of the 27sec to mid 29 sec is when his head is dragged, less than 2 seconds, on 30 sec's the guard at his feet places the protesters feet on the ground
    They should also have put a jacket under his head when it was clear it was a fit..
    Not a single item of clothing offered up from any of the protesters or photographers

Take a few seconds be patient it's an emotive issue for a lot of people think and see what's happening before using violence.
    When and who should have taken a moment? Tell me the guard or guards on the clip who should have taken a moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

carzony wrote: »
    Btw... if they introduce that fitness test every few years for Guards that group in the video are ****ed lol..

???? thats the new PPE safety vest ;)

The actions of the 2 guards involved suggested they did care they cared enough to stop after about 1.5 seconds, thats how quick it happened, how do you know that on looking guards didn't care

Are you serious. Are you saying its acceptable behaviour by guards when you clearly see he's having a fit.
    A bit of cop on wouldn't go astray with the guards .
    Most people could see he was having a fit !

carzony wrote: »
    Why is it it's taking them 3 hours to respond to my car being robbed? yet a massive group of guards appear on youtube abusing people every week..

It was an organised protest, I'm sure if they had notice on your car being robbed they'd be there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

gctest50 wrote: »
    ???? thats the new PPE safety vest ;)

no mate that's fatness.. look at the video again lol

Are you serious. Are you saying its acceptable behaviour by guards when you clearly see he's having a fit.
    When could you tell he was having a fit and how can you tell at that point?
    The clip is there so you can be very specific

That's bull. As soon as they touch him he has a fit, how were they to know if he was having a fit or resisting? While watching the vid myself I thought he was resisting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

I also noticed they got annoyed when the ambulance didn't show up it was probably caught up in the backlog of traffic that they were causing in the first place

When could you tell he was having a fit and how can you tell at that point?
    The clip is there so you can be very specific

Look again and watch the guy head and movements before and after he was lifted off the ground.

most people who see video will have there view but first thing most will see is the guys head dragging along the ground..fit or no fit. There's no excuse for that by trained guards .is there ?

Most people would be sad to see how guards handled it
    while you look at video
    Look how guards deal with it after being told several times he's having a fit
    only one guard seemed to know what to do with guy having a fit.the rest of guards were clueless

Look again and watch the guy head and movements before and after he was lifted off the ground.

most people who see video will have there view but first thing most will see is the guys head dragging along the ground..fit or no fit. There's no excuse for that by trained guards .is there ?

Most people would be sad to see how guards handled it
    while you look at video
    only one guard seemed to know what to do with guy having a fit.the rest of guards were clueless

When they realised he was having a fit they called an ambulance, allowed the lads friends who knew what to do in to tend to him and then put him in the recovery position. I'm not excusing the head dragging, that was uncalled for and disgusting to see but with regards to the rest of the video I think they did a perfectly good job.

They aren't trained EMTs, the only medical training they have is very basic and even if they were trained it's been pointed out more than once in the thread that there's not much you can do bar put something soft under their head and even that was called into question

When ? what time on the clip? he was lifted several times

first thing most will see is the guys head dragging along the ground..fit or no fit. There's no excuse for that by trained guards .is there ?
    The video is selective enough already you want to narrow it to about 2 seconds why would anyone not take all the video into account

What exactly do you believe should've happened at this point? Who did what wrong? for all you know anyone of those other guards may have to deal with a child or family member at home who has fits everyday. How could you possibly tell they were clueless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

In a situation like this when tensions are high you do. Question the order afterwards but non co-operation at the time will earn you a pair of handcuffs and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Is it just me or is the subject of the 'brutality' always have some ailment or another? Every one of them asthmatic, epileptic, MS - you name it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    In a situation like this when tensions are high you do. Question the order afterwards but non co-operation at the time will earn you a pair of handcuffs and rightly so.

Comply then complain. Correct approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

I hate the pigs as much as the next person, but it can be hard to know that someone would have an 'eppo'.

Having said that, they were very, very careless in the way they dragged him with his head in contact with the ground.

How mature :rolleyes:

Remind me who you will be phoning when you become the victim of a crime?

Conveniently the video was devoid of any context (like what are they protesting for example?)but it was fairly obvious that people were not following basic instructions from the guards to move to the other side of the road and later on became more of a hastle for the guy having the sezure than the guards were.

Also try to remember that guards are unarmed and do a tough job-usually in the service of a cynical public.

When ? what time on the clip? he was lifted several times

The video is selective enough already you want to narrow it to about 2 seconds why would anyone not take all the video into account

What exactly do you believe should've happened at this point? Who did what wrong? for all you know anyone of those other guards may have to deal with a child or family member at home who has fits everyday. How could you possibly tell they were clueless?

So your saying it's ok for guards to drag a the guys head along the ground ! As they did in video !
    And
    Are you saying the guards are not trained to deal with it
    if you saw people dragging a guy with his head scraping along the ground.you think it be ok

Is it different for guards !!
    Are you saying it ok ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

Brutality? pffft, amateurs - needs more water canon, nightsticks and tear gas if you ask me

As you look at video more and more.
    Those guards should be reported.
    You can clearly see guys head dragged along the ground.. If guards couldn't see they dragged his head along the ground .then they should go specsavers !!. when you can see guards seeing what was happening .They should have picked him off ground and also holding him up side down from time they pick him up was very in responsible guards or not.
    Some cop on was needed. By guards.
    It's not acceptable if anyone dragged anyone like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

As you look at video more and more.
    Those guards should be reported.
    You can clearly see guys head dragged along the ground.. If guards couldn't see they dragged his head along the ground .then they should go specsavers !!. when you can see guards seeing what was happening .They should have picked him off ground and also holding him up side down from time they pick him up was very in responsible guards or not.
    Some cop on was needed. By guards.
    It's not acceptable if anyone dragged anyone like this

Need a hand moving those goalposts or do you got this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The dragging of the guys face across the pavement is seriously out of line.