Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland U20 2015 6 nations and junior world cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,378 ✭✭✭✭phog

Wales U20s v England U20s game is on S4C now if anyone is interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

There is a Carlos Olivera in the Ireland u20 profile page. Any info?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kingofthekong

Hagz wrote: »
    There is a Carlos Olivera in the Ireland u20 profile page. Any info?

Ye saw that hahaha , looks like a mistake

Perhaps ment to be Conor Oliver haha

That must be it :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 44 leinster blue boys

Bridge93 wrote: »
    He's overage for the team this year but I thought this might be the place to post. I've heard that Dylan Donnellan one of last years hookers has recently joined Biarritz.
    Best of luck to him.
    If you are sayin Callum sheedy is overage he is not ,hes 19 dob 28/10/95 according to Bristol website ,for who he plays his rugby ,and was selected for wales 20s ,really interested why lad pulled out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

Had a flick through the player profiles there.How can Fergal Cleary and Nick Timoney be only just out of school when they are born in January 95 and March 95 respectively?That makes Timoney 20 already and Cleary nearly 20.Sure they were doing there leaving cert like 8 months ago no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

funtime93 wrote: »
    Had a flick through the player profiles there.How can Fergal Cleary and Nick Timoney be only just out of school when they are born in January 95 and March 95 respectively?That makes Timoney 20 already and Cleary nearly 20.Sure they were doing there leaving cert like 8 months ago no?
    The age grade for schools cup rugby is under 19. Timoney was underage for schools senior cup in 6th year by 8 days as he was born 8/1/95 when the eligibility date for last years schools senior cup was 1/1/95
    They both turned 19 within the 6 months prior to doing their leaving cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

The age grade for schools cup rugby is under 19. Timoney was underage for schools senior cup in 6th year by 8 days as he was born 8/1/95 when the eligibility date for last years schools senior cup was 1/1/95
    Still seems very odd. Most kids born in early 95 would have done the leaving in 2013 I would have thought.

Wouldn't say very odd but they both would have been very much near oldest in their years doing exams...
    The age grade being under 19 and not under 18.5 allows youngsters like them still play schools cup while 6th years and not have to look/find a club to play club rugby while in 6th year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I thought Timoney was born in August.

Some of the Dates of Birth on the website are incorrect

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

That is interesting. There was a study done in the states on age of players who make it as pros in hockey. Lads at the older age of the spectrum more likely to make it. comes down to being bigger-coach gives attention-players pass to the star-his skills/decision making improves etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 MagicF

Timoney's dob is 1 August 1995 not 8 January - must be American style dates you saw.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Bigbellyman

What determines the under 20 age limit - in other words what date is the cut off?
    Can anybody clarify?

What determines the under 20 age limit - in other words what date is the cut off?
    Can anybody clarify?
    For club or representative competitions as they differ.
    This season to play on the under 20 national team the eligibility date is 1/1/95. This is the also the date used for the under 20 Munster-Connacht leagues, division 1 and 2. However in Leinster the under 20 league is 1/7/94

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Cleary repeated 5th year once he moved to Clongowes afaik

Team named

15 – Billy Dardis (UCD/ Leinster)
    14 – Jack Owens (QUB/ Ulster)
    13 – Garry Ringrose (UCD/ Leinster)
    12 – Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
    11 – Steven Fitzgerald (Shannon/ Munster)
    10 – Ross Byrne (UCD / Leinster)
    9 – Nick McCarthy (UCD/ Leinster) (Capt)
    1 – Jeremy Loughman (UCD / Leinster)
    2 – Zack McCall (QUB/Ulster)
    3 – Oisin Heffernan (Terenure/Leinster)
    4 – David O’Connor (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
    5 – Alex Thompson (QUB/Ulster)
    6 – Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
    7 – Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    8 – Lorcan Dow (QUB/Ulster)
    Replacements
    16 – Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)
    17 – Michael Lagan (Ballymena/Ulster)
    18 – Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
    19 – Cian Romaine (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    20 – Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
    21 – Jack Cullen (Shannon/Munster)
    22 – Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
    23 – Fergal Cleary (Lansdowne / Leinster)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Probably asked already but is Adam Byrne no longer eligible?

.ak wrote: »
    Probably asked already but is Adam Byrne no longer eligible?
    Is a 94 so ineligible. 7/8 months overage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭typhoony

so 2 changes 1 enforced through injury. I was looking at the player stats for France last weekend and all players bar one are 20yrs old, but then i looked at their team from last year 6 nations and only 1 player has returned from last year which is at odds with the player profile.

So we have experince but I've no idea how talented this French outfit are, were scotland that bad last weekend. we'll see anyway early friday evening if wales put a big score on scotland in the earlier match then maybe we will get a clue.

I wonder has anyone found a video copy online of the weekend game?

I answered my last question, video link can be found here...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVl-HBS2gpM

big crowd there in France

Yeh they have very few returning faces, so we'll trump them in the experience department.

Some of the players will have played against one another before in the u19s games last season. The French XV that beat Scotland had 8 players who suffered defeat to Ireland 30-21 last season returning, with a further 3 on the bench. 9 of the Ireland team picked for this Friday played in that fixture as well.

Of Course France went on to win the second game 12-8 (with 13 of the French team that played Scotland playing that game), but the Irish team went through wholesale changes. The only Irish players in this week's XV who started in that defeat are Stephen Fitzgerald and Jack Owens. As opposed to the 8 in the XV who started in the 30-21 victory.

I think it's going to be a very tight affair, but I fancy us at home. Just.

Scotland completely out muscled in that game , France looked physical and had a good tempo but I think Ireland have more class and guile in the backs , if our forwards can put in a shift I can see us taking this one , hopefully it doesn't rain and our backs get a chance to show themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Any word on Brewer? He finished last years WC as first choice 12 and now isn't even in the 23?

just watched it there and this French team looks average to me, I don't think we need to worry about our scrum as the scots pushed them back a few times. Their No.6 looks useful as does their No.11. The scots were very poor defensively and let in some soft tries.

More confident now of us getting a win on Friday

• Registered Users Posts: 1 escrter

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Any word on Brewer? He finished last years WC as first choice 12 and now isn't even in the 23?

Well he has been injured for most of the season and only recently returned in the last few weeks.

Also did he really finish as 1st choice? During the JWC it was very much Goggin and Ringrose until Goggin got injured in the England game.

He wasn't really first choice last season. Peter Robb missed the JWC through injury. But still, you would think the experience of a) playing the JWC and b) playing in combo with Ringrose and Byrne would raise his stock.

But the competition is fierce this season. Arnold is a very talented you player and Cleary has always been rated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭dubal

Looking forward to see ringrose start at 13.

Dubal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

looking forward to the game tonight. First real test for them, but we beat France at U19 and this is a good team, I'm expecting a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Team named

15 – Billy Dardis (UCD/ Leinster)
    14 – Jack Owens (QUB/ Ulster)
    13 – Garry Ringrose (UCD/ Leinster)
    12 – Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
    11 – Steven Fitzgerald (Shannon/ Munster)
    10 – Ross Byrne (UCD / Leinster)
    9 – Nick McCarthy (UCD/ Leinster) (Capt)
    1 – Jeremy Loughman (UCD / Leinster)
    2 – Zack McCall (QUB/Ulster)
    3 – Oisin Heffernan (Terenure/Leinster)
    4 – David O’Connor (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
    5 – Alex Thompson (QUB/Ulster)
    6 – Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
    7 – Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    8 – Lorcan Dow (QUB/Ulster)
    Replacements
    16 – Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)
    17 – Michael Lagan (Ballymena/Ulster)
    18 – Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
    19 – Cian Romaine (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    20 – Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
    21 – Jack Cullen (Shannon/Munster)
    22 – Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
    23 – Fergal Cleary (Lansdowne / Leinster)

Just noticed that 10 of the starting line up come from just two clubs (or Universities in this case). I'm not sure what that tells us, but thought it was worth pointing out.

It's just a reflection of the fact that universities offer scholarships to the best young talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Forward pass surely? Got away with it but definitely a dodgy one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Zzippy wrote: »
    Forward pass surely? Got away with it but definitely a dodgy one...

Maybe but forward or not this Irish team look very good here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Kanrith

Really good start here.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

This looks like a very well rounded side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Jeez some pace from the no. 6. Some try!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

That's some score from that Machalou lad (sp?). Power and pace.

Lock robbing sh to start it
    Feck

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

That was terrifying, Dardis and Fitzgerald are both lightning and they couldn't get near him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Tom Croft pace there. Looked offside at the ruck before though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Fitzgerald didn't look in any rush to get across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

French blindside handed off 3 Irish players in midfield and then outran the full-back and wing to score.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

ssaye2 wrote:
    Lock robbing sh to start it Feck
    He was a mile in from the side. Awful non call.

Just need to manage territory even still ish

Ffs butchered

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Delicious pass from Byrne there. Good play. Murphy should have been more aware during his break to offload.

Cmon Ireland entertaining